We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect B&B”
Review of Hill House East

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishop Auckland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hill House East
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect B&B”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Proper Northern hospitality is alive and kicking in Upper Weardale! This is the best B&B I've stayed in for a long time and everything about the place is superb: location, food, comfort, fast WiFi and last - but certainly not least - John & Carol's friendly, good-humoured and down-to-earth approach. You can't fake good hospitality and it obviously comes naturally to these very nice people. I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
17
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here many times.the couple who run this B&B are the most friendly and welcoming people you could wish for.The food is excellent and the B&B is very clean and sitting in the summer house looking at the view is one of my favourite things I look forward to when I visit. Julie & Steve

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloonytoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Hill House East, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We are so glad you enjoy the views as much as we do and hope you will be able to come and enjoy them again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend and it was just perfect! A quaint B&B with beautiful rooms, and THE best breakfast - all locally sourced. A fab location for country walks with stunning views - just lovely. We even tried our hand at baking - Carol showed us the ropes and we left with a box of baked goodies - great fun! We would definitely return - a gem of a place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkCitybreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Hill House East, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed staying at Hill House East so much; you were great students to teach baking to - I hope you are keeping your scone making skills up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Our friends took us away to this wonderful B & B to celebrate our 25th anniversary. It is an ideal location and has beautiful country walks.
Breakfast was stunning with lots of choice and all sourced locally.
Carol and John made it a memorable trip with fresh baked scones and Johns yummy cake.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous, very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankxnxRoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Owner at Hill House East, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay so much - we hope we can help you celebrate many more anniversaries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have used Hill House for a few years after accidently coming across it whilst looking for accommodation in this area. From the moment we found it, we loved it. It is the most welcoming placed ever, spotlessly clean, amazing breakfast, from the choice to quality. Rooms are very comfortable, with everything you need and more for a nights stay (or more if you're lucky).The use of the lounge makes it home from home, with the fabulous log burning stove. And the hosts, Carol and John make you feel more like family than guests, nothing at all is a problem for this lovely couple. If you are lucky enough to sample Carol's culinary skills, well your in for a treat! The location is first class too, if you can drag yourself out the door, the views and surrounding countryside is beautiful, there is even a summer house which you can use at the bottom of the garden, which we have had many a lovely summers night in, just relaxing and enjoying country life. I would recommend Hill House to anyone I know, its a little diamond in the country, and I hope to be staying here for many years to follow. Kay and David.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Can you keep a secret if so I will tell you about a lovely guest house but you have to promise to keep it our secret. Between Stanhope and Killhope lies Westgate and in Westgate there is a B and B on the edge of a law (hill) called Hill House East run my Carol and John who spoil you the second you step through the door. You are greeted with a drink and a piece of cake, you have the run of the house and the garden and this includes the summer house. John is there in the morning to cook your breakfast to your requirements and has been known to see his ladies (chickens) first thing so you can have very fresh eggs. On a cold day/evening John will light the fire so you can sit in the lounge after you have been out either for an evening meal or you have come back from a long walk and need warming. Joan and Carol treat you like members of their family but never intrude.
Barbara and Ducan Linton Cambridgeshire

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhoose
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The Best ever B & B we have ever stayed in. This is our third time at Hill House East and will definitely stay again. Carol and John hospitality were second to none. Hill House is set in a beautiful location with lovely views. A very convenient spot to visit family in St Johns Chapel. Hilary & Tom,South Wales

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katykoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bishop Auckland hotels
3.8 mi away
Dales Farm Upper Weardale
Dales Farm Upper Weardale
#1 of 4 in Bishop Auckland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
20.7 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
19.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Hill Top - Killhope
Hill Top - Killhope
#2 of 4 in Bishop Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westgate Manor
Westgate Manor
#1 of 6 in Bishop Auckland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
14.2 mi away
No photo provided
Ladywell House B&B
#5 of 6 in Bishop Auckland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House East

Property: Hill House East
Address: Westgate in Weardale | County Duraham DL13 1NU, Bishop Auckland DL13 1NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Bishop Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Bishop Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and be spoilt at our unique Country Bed and Breakfast, which is set in an 'Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty' in Upper Weardale. Our aim is for you to enjoy staying in this venerable old stone house as much as we do; to feel 'at home' rather than 'in accommodation'. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food - we make our own bread, do lots of home baking and use eggs from our own hens. Guests are greeted on arrival with a tea/coffee tray and homemade cake or scones in the guest sitting room and, although there are tea/coffee making facilities in the bedrooms, we will happily serve tea and coffee at any time during the day at no extra cost. As we only accommodate a maximum of four guests the house is a tranquil haven if you just want to sit by the log stove and read or relax. Or you can go out and about in our beautiful countryside, which is perfect for walking and cycling. In summer, you can sit in the garden or comfortable summer house and watch the sun set behind the hills - feel free to bring your own wine!Guests have their own entrance and, when we have guests, we withdraw to our own quarters separate to the rest of the house. Effectively Hill House East is yours during your stay. We kindly request that guests do not smoke in the house and we regret we cannot accommodate very young children. Dogs are welcome if they sleep in your car and we have a good 'exercise field'. We Welcome Wainwright Walkers! We are very excited by this new long distance walk which passes literally by Hill House East and has one of its overnight 'stops' in Westgate. We are also right on a new alternate 'Coast to Coast' cycle route and we have safe, lockable cycle storage. At Hill House East a warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hill House East Bishop Auckland, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing