We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Was here for my mums wedding and I must say it was excellent, I couldn't fault anything. The service was excellent, place is very clean, rooms were huge and room very clean. Breakfast was fab and was served with a smile.nly negative would be when we first entered the bar area it was very

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SigourneyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2012

Stayed here after a night shift.
Hotel staff are very friendly.
Breakfast was tasty with plenty available.
Rooms very clean and comfortable.
What more could you want.
Would stay here again lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed here for one night while attending a function at the hotel.First impressions of the hotel are of a lovely coaching inn with a nice courtyard of rooms.We stayed in one of the courtyard rooms which was a good size and spotlessly clean,however we found the decor of the room was tired and grubby looking which spoilt what could be a superb room.I always like to use a room safe if one is provided.There was a safe in the wardrobe ( combination type ) that was locked??When I asked the reception staff how to open it they said that the safes cannot be used as the hotel had changed hands 4 years ago and the safes had not been upgraded!!Come on,4 years is sufficient time to sort safes out and this would be a big PLUS for the hotel.
We found the check out time of 10am to be far too early,11 or even 12 am would be more practical.The hotel hosts lots of party nights so a later check out would be more suited to the guests I think.
Anyway,moan over,we would stay here again,the hot buffet wer had at the function we attended was superb,not the usual spud pie supper but full joints of tender roast beef,traditional meat pie etc,fantastic,can not fault the food including the breakfast.
Another plus point is that the car park is very secure and locked at midnight.The car park is spacious,not like some,far larger hotels i have stayed in where they have about 10 spaces for 300 rooms!!
All things considered,if these little points were inproved on the Park Head would be fantastic.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jax11ard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Overnight stay on a road trip. The room was a bit old looking but quite clean, comfortable and large in size. Kettle with some tea bags, coffee, milk and sugar were provided in the room. Shower and toilet of reasonable size and working well. Overall I was happy with the room for the price I paid.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shafeek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Had a one stay with family on a Saturday and overall was happy with stay.
Rooms were a good size, clean and comfortable. Shower was a bit limp, and I would say that the rooms could do with modernising a little. The furniture was somewhat dated.
We ate in the restaurant Saturday and it was fine, and reasonable value for money. Breakfast was more than adequate with a small selection of cereals, juices, and a full English if required.
There was a wedding reception at the hotel in the evening and the late night noise from the smokers congregating outside was the one main issue we had. This probably wouldn't be a problem any other day of the week I suppose.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Overall, a decent enough hotel, handy for Durham and surrounding area. It does need to think about how it can compete with the Premier Inns and Travelodges of this world though. They tend to be cheaper and have better quality rooms and are directly in competition. We paid £70 for a room for two for one night and I don't think the hotel was quite worth that.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewiston13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed here with family as part of coach party visiting Beamish and Whitby, as mentioned by others yes the decor and fittings were past their best! but was very clean and comfortable, staff were VERY friendly and helpful,we even had the finance director helping out in the restaurant because they were short staffed! the barman deserves a special mention for his hard work! The only critisism was a large wedding was taking place saturday and they took over the place and we ended up in the pub up the road!

Room Tip: As the rooms are situated around a courtyard, you cannot escape the noise when a wedding is on and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derek0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

this hotel needs to employ a chef that doesnt shout across the dinning room to guests to ask how their day went i found this very unprofesional , bath in room very unsafe it kept moving about when you where having a shower, very noisy drinkers at front entrance , not good advert for hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishop Auckland
4.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,342 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
1,055 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
812 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 13 Park View Terrace, Bishop Auckland DL14 8QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Bishop Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Price Range: £46 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightfully designed around a traditional courtyard setting, the Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant has all the facilities one would expect from a modern city centre hotel whilst enjoying a delightful rural setting with views over County Durham. With thirty-two spacious rooms, all en-suite and equipped with Freeview TV and a large restaurant and carvery the hotel has become a firm favourite with those seeking a venue for conferences, business meetings, weddings, birthday parties or just simply a leisure break. And now, with newly created Beer Garden and Children's Play areas it is set to become an even more favourable venue. The large car park is free, secure, well lit and covered by CCTV Free WIFI throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Head Country Hotel And Restaurant Bishop Auckland, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing