We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle uk
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed over at the park head after a family get together in the area. A very clean and comfortable room. Bed a little too hard for me but that's just my prefrence and not a need to give a negative review like some do. Staff were very friendly as always (we often have a run through for the Sunday carvery). Breakfast was very nice and cooked fresh to order. The hotel is in a prime location (built on the site of my Nanna's house) and well worth the money.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wennortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to note your kind comments

We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and will pass on your comments to our staff

We look forward to seeing you in the near future either at the Sunday carvery or as a hotel guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    121
    47
    13
    18
See reviews for
98
159
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My sister, brother-in-law and myself had a most enjoyable stay thanks to the wonderful owners and staff who made us more than welcome. We had lovely rooms complete with bath as well as shower, all very spacious, clean and comfortable. The food was great and the chef she is a treasure catering cheerfully for a gluten free member of our party . We felt very comfortable and a solo traveller would not feel out of place as everyone is considerate and friendly. We wouldn't stay anywhere else if we return to this area again which we hope to do one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseLover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Really glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

We always go out of our way to cater for various dietry requirements and are pleased that we satisfied your gluten free diet

We enjoyed your company and hope to see you soon

Thanks for taking the time to tell us how happy you were at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

It has been some 6 years since l last visited at the Park Head Hotel and wow what a different place it is now!
It is obvious that a lot of tlc has been going on in my long abscence the place is tastefully decorated spotlessly clean, my room was comfortable and peaceful which meant that l actually overslept (that's a compliment not a complaint).
The food in bar was excellent the staff professional, friendly and entertaining (the barmaid and her dad are a great double act )it's been a long long time since l have felt so at home eating alone and the while experience was fantastic.
The Park Head has to be the best in the area and l will certainly not be leaving it 6 years until my next visit!

Room Tip: My upper courtyard room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank china_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Many thanks for taking time to tell us what you thought...

We have spent a lot of time and money to refurbish the hotel and really good to read your kind comments

I have forwarded your comments on to all staff including the 'double act!'

Look forward to seeing you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

having decided to get married we looked at various venues and so glad we chose here.from the first meeting claire & her husband were nothing but helpful they helped us no end.when the day came we were naturally concerned that all would be allright but we need not have worried,the whole day was fantastic from start to finish the food was fab,the staff excellent a credit to the park head & would not hesitate to recommend them for a wedding function or any other.
our day was made perfect by you all once again THANKYOU!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markmatt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
We are delighted that you chose the Park Head Country Hotel for your wedding reception and that you enjoyed your time with us

I will pass your kind words onto Claire, Tony and all the staff involved

Thanks for taking time to leave us feedback and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bishop auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Had my reception here for our renewel of our vows and what a fabulous time we had nothing was no bother for Claire and the staff there.
The room was amazing our guest comments never stopped about the room and the buffet it was all lovely

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddunn4612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Glad to hear your special day with us was indeed special

Many thanks for you comments and custom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at the Park Head Country Hotel while visiting the Ashes test match at Chester Le Street, and were delighted with our choice.

From the friendly greeting from reception and bar staff to a perfectly clean room, the whole experience was exactly what we hoped for. A very appealing courtyard with the odd duck wandering around was an extra touch, and a peaceful bar area was perfect for relaxing after a day at the game - not to mention a very tasty curry !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Great to hear you had excellant time at our hotel and of course the cricket - what a good win!

Look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

In June 2013 we held a Christening party at the Park Head Hotel and it was excellent. The staff were very friendly and professional and Claire the events organiser was very accommodating and had lots of great ideas. The food was great (carvery) and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyE297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Many thanks for your feedback and great to hear the chritening went well, we look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishop Auckland
4.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,102 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
1,005 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
8.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 13 Park View Terrace, Bishop Auckland DL14 8QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Bishop Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightfully designed around a traditional courtyard setting, the Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant has all the facilities one would expect from a modern city centre hotel whilst enjoying a delightful rural setting with views over County Durham. With thirty-two spacious rooms, all en-suite and equipped with Freeview TV and a large restaurant and carvery the hotel has become a firm favourite with those seeking a venue for conferences, business meetings, weddings, birthday parties or just simply a leisure break. And now, with newly created Beer Garden and Children's Play areas it is set to become an even more favourable venue. The large car park is free, secure, well lit and covered by CCTV Free WIFI throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Head Country Hotel And Restaurant Bishop Auckland, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing