We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed 7 Febuary. We have stayed here several times. Hotels is being refurbished and is definitely great for the price. Very friendly staff, room clean, neat and tidy. Room is a good size, airy and bright. Breakfast very good. Did not have evening meal but saw several being served and looked good. Bar area much improved, a pleasure to enjoy a drink. Would definitely stay again. Customer service excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thanks for returning to our hotel again and for taking the time to leave us a review

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    120
    46
    11
    18
See reviews for
94
154
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed for two nights in January for my husbands birthday, & we had a lovely time, the staff were great the food was very good, the rooms spotless, we couldn't have asked for more. There was so much to do, you really do need more than two days to see all the sights .The Cathedral is beautiful,and I recommend a tour guide it's well worth £5. We shall, visit the Park Head Hotel again as it's great value for money,& of course the beautiful County Durham. We hope this review is helpful. ( Pat & Kevin Kelly. )

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but we stayed in a chalet in the grounds of the hotel. PS, great carvery/
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 375kelly375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
County Durham does indeed have many attractions to visit and a lot are on our doorstep

Next time you visit the Park Head let us know before hand and we will pull together a few suggestions for your itinerary

Glad that your and your husband had a great here at the Park head and we look forward to meeting you again

Thanks for taking the time to write these comments, if you are on Facebook please like us and then you will be kept up to date with offers...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I've just spent 2 full weeks at the Park Head on bussiness. I really enjoyed the the friendlyness of the staff and of this hotel. The room was very clean warm and comfortable. The food was brilliant for the price, even after 2 weeks we werent bored with menu, it was always hot with good portions, don't miss the carvery on Tuesday & Sunday!. Nothing was ever to much trouble for the staff. well done!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem quite large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Good to see you enjoyed your two weeks with us

As always we will pass your kind comments onto the staff

Thanks for taking time to write this review and we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Warm welcome, staff very friendly and helpful all the stay. Rooms clean and comfortable with nice bed. Free Wifi. Shower and bath small; but I am tall. Children's playground available but thankfully for us it was winter and not used. Bar meal five pound specials very nice. Nice beer behind bar. Plenty of safe parking. Relaxing atmosphere in a nice friendly place.

Room Tip: Our room 29 looked south overlooking the play area which may be noisy in summer. It was not noisy fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diddums M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Always good to hear that our guests had a great time and yes it is rather cold outside for the children's play area!!!!

Thanks for taking the time to write these comments - Look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Words can not describe this haven in paradise. We booked it and there was a special offer for £39.99 for the night and we literally we're last minute. We made a mistake with our booking and booked two nights instead of one and they happily refunded the second night even though it was our error.

The room (12) was beautiful. If you ever want a perfect night sleep then these are the beds for you - words can not describe.

All the staff we're lovely. The receptionist people

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us

I have printed your comments off and stuck it on the notice board so all the staff can read them

Hopefully we will see you again in the not too distant future

Thanks for taking the time to post these comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spennymoor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

On Saturday 16th November 2013 I had my 40th birthday party at the Park Head County Hotel at Coundon, Bishop Auckland.

The night was amazing and all of the guests commented on how lovely the hotel was, the food was outstanding and best of all was the staff. Every member of staff from Claire the Manageress to Tony the handyman were all friendly and couldn't do enough for us all.

I would recommend the Park Head for any celebration.

Room Tip: I believe from my family who all stayed on the night of my party that all of the rooms were clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Really good to hear you had an amazing night at the Park Head

Thanks for taking the time to leave these kind comments - looking forward to seeing you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were welcomed at check in by very friendly staff and our room was in the courtyard. The room was comfortable and although there were quite a few people celebrating there we had a decent nights sleep. The breakfast was cooked freshly and the room rate was very reasonable. The hotel ordered a taxi for us to get into Bishop Auckland which was a short distance away. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavPet_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thanks for taking the time to let us know what you thought about our hotel

We are glad to hear you had a good stay with us and will make sure our staff are mad aware of your comments

We look forward to seeing you again

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishop Auckland
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
4.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Brown Horse Hotel
The Brown Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tow Law
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 13 Park View Terrace, Bishop Auckland DL14 8QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Bishop Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightfully designed around a traditional courtyard setting, the Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant has all the facilities one would expect from a modern city centre hotel whilst enjoying a delightful rural setting with views over County Durham. With thirty-two spacious rooms, all en-suite and equipped with Freeview TV and a large restaurant and carvery the hotel has become a firm favourite with those seeking a venue for conferences, business meetings, weddings, birthday parties or just simply a leisure break. And now, with newly created Beer Garden and Children's Play areas it is set to become an even more favourable venue. The large car park is free, secure, well lit and covered by CCTV Free WIFI throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Head Country Hotel And Restaurant Bishop Auckland, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing