We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sue P”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Excellent food. Had 2 breakfasts and 2 envening meals. Everything you could want for on the self service breakfast. the carvery meal was very very good, good choices on the menu. Staff were very fiendly and helpful. room clean and comfortable. All in all would recommend a stay here. Very convenient for Beamish outdoor museum, Shildon locomotive museum and plenty other attractions near by.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a good all round review

Great to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Thanks from the Park Head team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    120
    45
    10
    18
See reviews for
93
153
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here few times the staff are all lovely and friendly the rooms are fab and the food is beautiful we got a laugh off the 2 lovely girls behind as well thank you for a lovely stay we will be returning soon with the children x

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Its always good to hear when our customers return!

Although our staff are regularly praised for being friendly its always great to hear it again......!

Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit with your children
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed over after a birthday do! Had evening meal in bar, excellent quality and beautifully cooked, very nice. Room clean with tea and coffee and toiletries, all v good. Bed comfortable with nice quality sheets. Breakfast self service with everything you would want. All in all, v pleasant stay and very good value for money. Would def recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spinosa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
As always great to read positive comments

Many thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed an excellent quality meal, had a very pleasant stay and commenting on how good value it was

Looking forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Having recently visited friends living in counden we were undecided as to where to eat one sunday, and decided on the Park Head Hotel and Restraunt, great decision. the Sunday Carvery was all you could want, four choices of main meat with unlimited vegetables and sources, The starters and dessert choices also looked very good. I would suggest you build up an appetite before you book, You will not be dissapointed, our group of four will return.

Room Tip: did not stay we were on a weekend visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Yes it is recommended to build up an appetite before dining with us, glad you enjoyed the carvery and we look forward to seeing you again

Many thanks for taking time to leave us feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed 7 Febuary. We have stayed here several times. Hotels is being refurbished and is definitely great for the price. Very friendly staff, room clean, neat and tidy. Room is a good size, airy and bright. Breakfast very good. Did not have evening meal but saw several being served and looked good. Bar area much improved, a pleasure to enjoy a drink. Would definitely stay again. Customer service excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thanks for returning to our hotel again and for taking the time to leave us a review

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed for two nights in January for my husbands birthday, & we had a lovely time, the staff were great the food was very good, the rooms spotless, we couldn't have asked for more. There was so much to do, you really do need more than two days to see all the sights .The Cathedral is beautiful,and I recommend a tour guide it's well worth £5. We shall, visit the Park Head Hotel again as it's great value for money,& of course the beautiful County Durham. We hope this review is helpful. ( Pat & Kevin Kelly. )

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but we stayed in a chalet in the grounds of the hotel. PS, great carvery/
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 375kelly375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
County Durham does indeed have many attractions to visit and a lot are on our doorstep

Next time you visit the Park Head let us know before hand and we will pull together a few suggestions for your itinerary

Glad that your and your husband had a great here at the Park head and we look forward to meeting you again

Thanks for taking the time to write these comments, if you are on Facebook please like us and then you will be kept up to date with offers...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I've just spent 2 full weeks at the Park Head on bussiness. I really enjoyed the the friendlyness of the staff and of this hotel. The room was very clean warm and comfortable. The food was brilliant for the price, even after 2 weeks we werent bored with menu, it was always hot with good portions, don't miss the carvery on Tuesday & Sunday!. Nothing was ever to much trouble for the staff. well done!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem quite large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Good to see you enjoyed your two weeks with us

As always we will pass your kind comments onto the staff

Thanks for taking time to write this review and we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishop Auckland
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bishop Auckland Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
4.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Brown Horse Hotel
The Brown Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tow Law
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 13 Park View Terrace, Bishop Auckland DL14 8QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Bishop Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightfully designed around a traditional courtyard setting, the Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant has all the facilities one would expect from a modern city centre hotel whilst enjoying a delightful rural setting with views over County Durham. With thirty-two spacious rooms, all en-suite and equipped with Freeview TV and a large restaurant and carvery the hotel has become a firm favourite with those seeking a venue for conferences, business meetings, weddings, birthday parties or just simply a leisure break. And now, with newly created Beer Garden and Children's Play areas it is set to become an even more favourable venue. The large car park is free, secure, well lit and covered by CCTV Free WIFI throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Head Country Hotel And Restaurant Bishop Auckland, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing