We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Great Goodbye”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Great Goodbye”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Visiting NMR Shildon for "The Great Goodbye" - convenient location.
Reception quick, pleasant and helpful.
Good food, ample choice, generous portions and very good service from again pleasant staff. Steak pudding is Desperate Dan size!
Room 27 a good size, warm comfortable and clean.
Free Wifi in both hotel and room - worked well.
Ample car parking well secured.
Excellent value for money.
Suggest an improvement to signposting for entrance as not easily spotted on an admittedly gloomy winter evening in fast moving traffic.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your review

Glad you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the 'Desperate Dan' Steak Pudding

Thanks for your comment about signposting we will see what we can do
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    121
    47
    13
    18
See reviews for
99
159
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed for two nights so we could visit the trains at Shildon . We took our chocolate Labrador along too and the receptionist gave us a large room opening to the courtyard to make it easier for us and the dog. The room was spacious and the beds were very comfortable .The food in the bar was really good and the staff friendly. The self service breakfast was excellent and constantly replenished. The cost was so reasonable we can hardly wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Good to read that you 'all' enjoyed your stay with us and the visit to the National Railway Museum

Even better to read that you will be returning and that you commented, 'The cost was so reasonable we can hardly wait to return'.

We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

While on a visit to "The Great Goodbye" at the Railway Museum in Shildon I spent a comfortable night at the Park Head. Was warmly welcomed at Reception by Simon and shown to my room which was well appointed and clean. After freshening up, was well looked after by Sophie in the Bar where I was also served an excellent meal chosen from a comprehensive menu. It was quite busy but the service from the serving and kitchen staff was excellent.
After a good nights sleep, a hearty breakfast from a wide choice of alternatives, I was ready for another visit to the Museum.
Have no reservations in giving an 'Excellent' rating for Service and Value for Money.
Ray Stirling.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review

Glad you had an 'excellent meal' from our 'comprehensive menu' and that you enjoyed a 'good nights sleep'

As with all reviews they will be shown to our staff.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

The beds were a bit firm and it is a bit difficult to find in the dark, but don't let that put you off. An oasis in the North East. The place was clean, tidy and in good repair. The staff were superb, friendly and helpful, and the food was excellent. I can recommend the steak pie and the sticky toffee pudding. The hotel is only 30 minutes away from NRM at Shildon, ideal for the railway enthusiast. Well done the Park Head!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank willy7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
'An oasis in the north east' - thank you

Glad you did find us and that you had a great stay.

Many of our reviews complement our staff for their friendliness and we always feed this back to them

Let us know when you are back in the area and we will show you a short cut to the National Railway Museum - our route is only 15 minutes!

Many thanks from all at The Park Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Excellent food. Had 2 breakfasts and 2 envening meals. Everything you could want for on the self service breakfast. the carvery meal was very very good, good choices on the menu. Staff were very fiendly and helpful. room clean and comfortable. All in all would recommend a stay here. Very convenient for Beamish outdoor museum, Shildon locomotive museum and plenty other attractions near by.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a good all round review

Great to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Thanks from the Park Head team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here few times the staff are all lovely and friendly the rooms are fab and the food is beautiful we got a laugh off the 2 lovely girls behind as well thank you for a lovely stay we will be returning soon with the children x

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Its always good to hear when our customers return!

Although our staff are regularly praised for being friendly its always great to hear it again......!

Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit with your children
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed over after a birthday do! Had evening meal in bar, excellent quality and beautifully cooked, very nice. Room clean with tea and coffee and toiletries, all v good. Bed comfortable with nice quality sheets. Breakfast self service with everything you would want. All in all, v pleasant stay and very good value for money. Would def recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spinosa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
As always great to read positive comments

Many thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed an excellent quality meal, had a very pleasant stay and commenting on how good value it was

Looking forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishop Auckland
4.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,104 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
1,006 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 13 Park View Terrace, Bishop Auckland DL14 8QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Bishop Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightfully designed around a traditional courtyard setting, the Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant has all the facilities one would expect from a modern city centre hotel whilst enjoying a delightful rural setting with views over County Durham. With thirty-two spacious rooms, all en-suite and equipped with Freeview TV and a large restaurant and carvery the hotel has become a firm favourite with those seeking a venue for conferences, business meetings, weddings, birthday parties or just simply a leisure break. And now, with newly created Beer Garden and Children's Play areas it is set to become an even more favourable venue. The large car park is free, secure, well lit and covered by CCTV Free WIFI throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Head Country Hotel And Restaurant Bishop Auckland, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing