We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good food and nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were given the "Stewart Suite" (room 6) in the main building which was extremely spacious and featured an ensuite bathroom with large corner bath. Tony and the rest of the staff were very friendly and attentive and the food was good too. Only downside was our room overlooked a very busy road and the traffic noise woke me about 5am, so I had to use ear plugs to get back to sleep! Otherwise we had a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the courtyard away from the road if you are a light sleeper!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Many thanks for leaving us this review

It’s always good to hear that our customer regularly comment on our ‘Friendly staff, good food and nice location’

We will happily provide you with a room in the courtyard and look forward to seeing you again

Thanks
Avril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
There are newer reviews for Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I had a really enjoyable stay, staff are really friendly the rooms are great very spacious I couldn't fault my stay here and I intend to come back in the future i like to try new places everytime I go somewhere and so glad I tried here thanks for a great stay

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Lisarichardson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your kind words

I am glad to read that you had a really enjoyable stay and that you couldn't fault anything during your time with us

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel

Regards
Avril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed 1 night only as a stop off en route elsewhere. Found all the staff friendly and welcoming. Family rooms lovely and spacious although bathrooms were a bit tired. All facilities very clean and the hotel currently being upgraded.
We ordered dinner expecting mediocre but were pleasantly surprised. good standard pub grub and beautifully presented at extremely reasonable prices.
Coming from Scotland I can't guarantee being back but have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others. Very good value for the money spent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments

Great to read that you had a good stay and that if you were in the area you would you would return.

We are renowned for our great food and very pleasant staff and its good to see you comment on the same

Thanks
Avril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a great weekend here again with an organised group of 30+ people. Simon made us really welcome and nothing was too much trouble for him or his staff. The food was excellent and plenty of it. The rooms were spotlessly clean and bed comfy (we did have the wedding suite) but have stayed here before in a standard room which was just as comfy just not as plush. A big thank you to all the staff and I'm sure we will be back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank BJT59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Apologies for the late response

It’s always great to read how happy our customers are and even better to hear that this was a return visit

Your kind comments about are excellent food and staff will be passed on
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Park Head

Thank you
Avril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Had a one night stop here. The hotel is a little tired but I will say was exceptionally clean. The staff were very friendly and I had a nice time there. I paid £45 for the room and that included breakfast (which was good). There was a wedding going on whilst I was there and that looked good. I have no real complaints and would use again

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Thank you for taking time to leave us feedback and commenting on how friendly our staff are, it’s a common theme that most of our customers mention

We are in the process of refurbishing certain parts of our hotel and hope that this did not spoil your stay in any way. We always try to ensure all areas including those under refurbishment are very clean

Thank you
Avril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Being a family that eats out a lot we were pleased with the park head which is only 2 mins from our house. We have been disappointed by carve ties before but not the case here. Okay the room is a bit nursing home style, but that aside the quality of the Sunday lunch was fantastic. Plenty of meat choices and veg was still fresh at 5.30pm. And if we needed any referee to the standard then our 6 yrs fussy boy speaks volumes because he ate the lot!!!! Spot on park head...

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Great to hear that you all enjoyed your vsiit to the Park Head for our carvery and even better to hear,

"if we needed any referee to the standard then our 6 yrs fussy boy speaks volumes because he ate the lot!!!!"

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Park Head

Thanks for taking the time to leave your kind works

Regards
Avril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed here for about a week or so, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, the best rooms all face onto a quiet courtyard, spacious rooms and a nice full English breakfast. I stayed again a few weeks later and was put above the restaurant which is alongside a busy road which was quite noisy.
Had a meal in the restaurant which was very good

Room Tip: Ask for a room around a courtyard
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigneilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review

Good to read to you had a enjoyable stay and that you liked the food, we note your preference for a courtyard room

We will keep an eye open for your next booking however we kindly ask that you contact us to request your room preference

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Park Head

Many Thanks
Avril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishop Auckland
4.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,260 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
801 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
7.1 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 13 Park View Terrace, Bishop Auckland DL14 8QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Bishop Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Price Range: £55 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightfully designed around a traditional courtyard setting, the Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant has all the facilities one would expect from a modern city centre hotel whilst enjoying a delightful rural setting with views over County Durham. With thirty-two spacious rooms, all en-suite and equipped with Freeview TV and a large restaurant and carvery the hotel has become a firm favourite with those seeking a venue for conferences, business meetings, weddings, birthday parties or just simply a leisure break. And now, with newly created Beer Garden and Children's Play areas it is set to become an even more favourable venue. The large car park is free, secure, well lit and covered by CCTV Free WIFI throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Head Country Hotel And Restaurant Bishop Auckland, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing