We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our daughter got married at the hotel on May 10th, the staff at the hotel were fabulous, nothing was too much trouble, they looked after all of our guests exceptionally well. The food was second to none, and the day went better than anybody could have expected. Thank you to all of the brilliant staff. A lot of us stayed overnight, and the rooms were really clean and well furnished, and the breakfast lovely. Since the wedding we often call in for a bar meal, and the food is excellent quality, portions and prices, and always fresh. Our family would recommend the Park Head to anybody. Thank you all so very much.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tshield51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments – its much appreciated

Its good to read that your daughters wedding went very well in all areas and to hear that our staff once again receive top marks

As always I will share your kind comments with all of our staff and very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel

Thank you
Avril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had a wedding reception here didn't stop over but the bar was a bit pricey then we had the meal can't comment if this was the set meal but the beef seemed out of a packet and the Yorkshire puddings seemed frozen ,and the toilets broke so that didn't help the situation .

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hyperkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

It is disappointing to hear that you were not satisfied with your meal whilst visiting us as a guest at a wedding reception

All of our food is fresh and most of it of local origin resulting in many positive comments about the standard and quality of our meals

On the day of this wedding reception we also received many positive reviews about the food

If you had mentioned something to us on the day we could have investigated your complaints and tried to rectify them

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Had our wedding here 2 August 2014. Not enough words to describe the excellent customer service atmosphere and food . Claire and Tony and every member of staff especially Avril went above and beyond our expectations . Everyone of our guests commented on how fantastic the hotel was . Would highly recommend to everyone and we will definately be back . Thankyou so much for making our wedding day such a success x

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorri21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Wow, some really nice comments – thank you

It is great to read that you had such a good day and that you found our staff, service and food excellent

We pride ourselves in going the extra mile and its always good to read to we have achieved it

Thanks for leaving these comments and we very much look forward to seeing you in the Park Head again

Regards
Avril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Married on 2nd August 2014 the whole day was perfect venue spot on,staff unbelievable how helpful the were,the food from the main meal to the buffet food everybody complemented on how good it was ,we would highly recommend this place thanks again craig & Lorri

Stayed: August 2014
Thank simpa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor

Glad to read that your day went well and that we were the perfect venue with helpful staff and good food

We look forward to seeing you again

Regards
Avril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

When we arrived the first thing that struck us was that the gardens were overgrown and needed some work. However, forget about that because we couldn't fault the place at all.
Our room was a good size and located at the rear of a very attractive court yard. Spotlessly clean. A notice in the room said that the rooms were in the process of being upgraded, and although ours didn't appear to have been done it was perfectly satisfactory for what we needed.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and couldn't do too much for us. We had our dog with us and so we decided to eat in our room. Having had a substantial lunch we settled on a Beef Sandwich each and a bottle of Rosé. Both were delivered to our room in within 10 minutes and were delicious. The sandwiches came with chips and salad.
Breakfast on both days was a full good English and more than enough to start the day. When we got back to the hotel in the evening we again decided to eat in our room. My wife had Cajun Chicken and I had the Steak Suet Pudding which was also served with vegetables. Both came with chips - oh yes and we had another bottle of the Rosé. Again the service was quick and friendly.
The location (on the north side of Bishop Aukland) meant access to Durham and the A1 to Newcastle was quick, or driving the other way we were quickly into the beautiful Weardale and beyond.
We both said we would be very happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: The hotel does sit on the A688 which is quite a busy road. I had "picked that up" from an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stansted767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

We are glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the Park Head and that you found the room to be a good size and located in a ‘very attractive court yard’

We are renowned in the area for our excellent food and it is good to see that you too have made very good comments about our food

We look forward to welcoming the ‘three’ of you back to the Park Head

Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor

Regards
Avril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were given the "Stewart Suite" (room 6) in the main building which was extremely spacious and featured an ensuite bathroom with large corner bath. Tony and the rest of the staff were very friendly and attentive and the food was good too. Only downside was our room overlooked a very busy road and the traffic noise woke me about 5am, so I had to use ear plugs to get back to sleep! Otherwise we had a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the courtyard away from the road if you are a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Many thanks for leaving us this review

It’s always good to hear that our customer regularly comment on our ‘Friendly staff, good food and nice location’

We will happily provide you with a room in the courtyard and look forward to seeing you again

Thanks
Avril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I had a really enjoyable stay, staff are really friendly the rooms are great very spacious I couldn't fault my stay here and I intend to come back in the future i like to try new places everytime I go somewhere and so glad I tried here thanks for a great stay

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Lisarichardson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkheadleisure, Manager at Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your kind words

I am glad to read that you had a really enjoyable stay and that you couldn't fault anything during your time with us

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel

Regards
Avril

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishop Auckland
4.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,344 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
1,055 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
812 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 13 Park View Terrace, Bishop Auckland DL14 8QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Bishop Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bishop Auckland
Price Range: £46 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightfully designed around a traditional courtyard setting, the Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant has all the facilities one would expect from a modern city centre hotel whilst enjoying a delightful rural setting with views over County Durham. With thirty-two spacious rooms, all en-suite and equipped with Freeview TV and a large restaurant and carvery the hotel has become a firm favourite with those seeking a venue for conferences, business meetings, weddings, birthday parties or just simply a leisure break. And now, with newly created Beer Garden and Children's Play areas it is set to become an even more favourable venue. The large car park is free, secure, well lit and covered by CCTV Free WIFI throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Head Country Hotel And Restaurant Bishop Auckland, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing