We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the buffet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, Jct. 4
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I was booked in here as part of a new year's theatre break/tour package. If i had used the hotel just for airport transfer it would have been OK- comfortable room and bed (though with noisy plumbing, thin walls and a broken bedroom light bulb). Typical corporate, somewhat soulless big hotel- you pay for extras including internet and gym and if you so much as move an item from the minibar you will be charged. Bar prices were very high but that's normal unfortunately. Check in was mess- in our group none of the key cards worked though that was soon fixed.But these are minor gripes. My biggest complaint concerns the food. Our first morning breakfast featured lukewarm and overcooked bacon, greasy eggs and tasteless coffee in paper cups. Despite attempts to stagger start times for the numerous tour groups the queue for buffet-type food was liike a rugby scrum- or even Heathrow airport when there are flight delays.

Worse was to follow- we had booked into a new year's eve dinner. This was also buffet style. Here the staff just couldn't cope with the numbers- most tour groups appeared to have the same 7.30 start time. Starters were OK- reasonable seafood. But then we noticed a lengthening queue for main courses. We thought we would enjoy a glass of wine and let the queue settle down- but it didn't and one gentleman took 50 minutes from start of queue to getting to the serving hatch. So 1 hour passed and we eventually got to the main courses. What an unedifying spectacle! Overcooked and dry looking turkey (had it been left there since christmas?), paella with a strange rubbery texture and congealed beef strogonoff. I took a vegetable curry (I'm not vegetarian!)- this did contain spices but was also dried out, clearly the food had been left under hot lights for a very long time. By this stage, tempers were frayed and order in the queue became an issue.

I did draw attention of staff to the long delays and was told by the manager that he had been advised to have the same start time for all tour groups- surely he could have over-ridden this? The cramped buffet layout contributed to the problem. Absurdly, one serving person stated that the long delays were due to 'elderly ladies dithering over their food choices'! Dishes were not labelled and there was no menu.

We were offered a complimentary bottle of wine as some sort of compensation but this had the same cheap and nasty quality as the food. Poor ingredients, overcooked food, unacceptable service and lack of organisation spoilt our evening- certainly not a 'celebration dinner' and certainly not up to the standards that we expect from Holiday Inns that we have stayed in both in UK and around the world.

We won't be returning to this hotel for sure and I would have to think hard about using Holiday Inn again. It's worth noting that staff were working hard under difficult conditions and I had no particular problem with any individual hotel employee; my issues need to be directed towards more senior management who should take a good hard look at how they run this hotel.

Room Tip: 1st floor executive room had decent space. Avoid high floors due to slow lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robatleyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, Jct. 4, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you very much for posting a review of our hotel.

We were very disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay and please accept my sincere apologies for this.

It was good that you found your bedroom comfortable but please accept my apologies for a bulb not working.

We do currently charge for our internet service, it is complimentary for our Elite IHG Rewards Club Members and this will also be extended to all IHG Reward Members in 2014.

Our gym which has been upgraded recently with brand new fitness equipment is open 24 hours a day and is complimentary for all our residents.

I have passed on your comments to our Food & Beverage Team who would like to be associated with my apologies for your dining experiences. We have held a meeting to ensure that plans that were in place are followed to ensure this does not recur in the future.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies.

Kind regards


Fiona Mackenzie Andrew
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,191 - 1,197 of 2,160 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

The room was good with comfortable pillows.There were all facilities one would expect from a business hotel.

The only downside is that its very confusing to reach there as there is another Holiday Inn(Ariel) nearby and this one was far from the airport.

The breakfast started only at 7.30 which is late for those wanting to leave early.

At the price of 48GBP which included breakfast,internet and use of the fitness centre it was very good.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The hotel and bedroom was comfortable, it was quiet, no noise from the airport, the food was very good and the staff very helpful. The only problem as far as I was concerned was that the bathroom was a bit 'grubby' and in need of an upgrade.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetviolet_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, Jct. 4, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time and the trouble to post a review of our hotel.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that your bedroom was comfortable and the kitchen staff were delighted to hear you enjoyed the food.

However, I am very sorry to hear that the bathroom was not up to standard, we are currently undergoing upgrading our bathrooms and we appreciate your feedback.

Thank you again for your review and again, please accept my sincere apologies.

Kind regards

Fiona Mackenzie Andrew
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here when we had an early longhaul flight. Good price including 11 days parking. No airport noise ! And a convenient shuttle bus - be careful you get the correct bus as there is another holiday inn nearer the airport!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Comfortable and reasonably priced hotel near London Heathrow Airport. Choice of eating places to suit every taste. Shuttle bus to airport runs every 1/2 hour. Have been using it for many years. Recommended for both before and after holiday. Parking on site.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We had a very comfortable stay in this hotel which is located very near to the airport. However reaching it was quite difficult and we almost lost our way, thanks to the other Holiday Inn hotels within close proximity. The rooms were fairly big, clean, spacious with large windows. The staff were pretty helpful. The best part however was the continental food that was served during the dinner buffet. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely suggest this place to anyone traveling to London.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My last stay here was disappointing to say the least but what a difference a year makes!

Stayed for just one night over the weekend whilst visiting central London. Was given a fantastic, spacious room on the tenth floor with great views across West London and the Heathrow flight path. The temperature was perfect, there wasn't a sound heard from anywhere and I had a great night's sleep.

All the staff I dealt with were friendly and professional (special 'thank you' to Priyanka who checked me in).

The food was fantastic particularly the large selection for breakfast.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonp820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Drayton
0.2 mi away
Novotel London Heathrow
Novotel London Heathrow
#5 of 12 in West Drayton
2,543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel London-Heathrow
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre London Heathrow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
0.9 mi away
Leonardo Hotel London Heathrow Airport
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, Jct. 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, Jct. 4

Address: Sipson Road | Heathrow Airport, West Drayton UB7 9DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in West Drayton
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Drayton
#5 Luxury Hotel in West Drayton
Price Range: £47 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, Jct. 4 4*
Number of rooms: 615
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary and convenient, the Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4 Jct. 4 Hotel is just off the M4 motorway at Junction 4, minutes from Heathrow Airport, Terminal 5 and close to Stockley Business Park and Bedfont Lakes. Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4 Jct. 4 is an ideal base to explore Central London, Legoland Windsor, Wembley and Twickenham. Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4 Jct. 4 offers Park, Stay & Go packages including one night's accommodation and car parking for up to 15 days. All bedrooms are spacious and equipped with air conditioning and high speed internet and wireless access throughout public areas. Our airport hotel is an ideal location for your meetings and conferences at Heathrow. 14 state of the art Academy meeting rooms are self-contained with dedicated and professional support. HSIA and WIFI available with unlimited Starbucks coffee. Workout & unwind in our complimentary Spirit Gym or indulge at one of the best Chinese and Thai restaurants at Heathrow Airport. Try our traditional Irish Pub or our lounge where refreshments are available 24 hours a day. The airport shuttle is £4.50 p/p each way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, Jct. 4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London-Heathrow m4, Jct 4 Hotel West Drayton
Holiday Inn West Drayton
West Drayton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, Jct. 4 West Drayton, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing