We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel London-Heathrow
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Reviewed 13 December 2011

This is a good place to stay if you are visiting Windsor and Legoland, otherwise it is quite isolated. Nice family rooms and good restaurant.

Room Tip: Higher floors are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptMikeSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,476 - 2,482 of 3,105 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2011

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Hotel (CPH) from December 10 to 11, 2011 during a stopover in London on my return home. I decided to stay at the CPH because of its proximity to Heathrow not to mention the very convenient shuttle service that runs between Heathrow and the Hotel every 20 minutes.

The room I stayed in was really nice and very modern -- an ample work desk, a very good HD LG TV that was very quick to respond to commands on the remote control, a very nice couch and very comfortable bed. I also loved the light switches right by your head so that you didn't need to get out of bed to turn off all of the lights if you had been watching TV or reading. (If only Canadian hotels would take a lesson from their UK and European counterparts).

I ate in the lounge while there and that was a disappointment. I had 4 different waiters while I was there -- one guy took my order, one guy brought me my drinks, one girl brought me my meal while another girl brought me another drink and took my plate away. I had the soup and it was not bad, though slightly too salty and one of the pieces of "rustic" bread they serve tasted very stale. The worst part though was that I ordered a bowl of soup as my meal and it took over 30 minutes to get it to the table. 30 minutes! And the place was nearly empty! Needless to say I left irritated and still tasting the stale bread.

Checkout the next morning was an absolute gong-show. Four people manning the front desk and none of them seemed capable of moving at anything more than a glacial pace which was causing much irritation by the people who were waiting to checkout (not just me). I got there at about 9:45 and didn't get out to the shuttle until 10:17. Not sure how that type of service is conducive to people who are trying to get to the airport and not feel rushed. I was fuming by the time I got out to the sidewalk -- nobody should have to wait nearly 30 minutes to check out!

Another downer was that the hotel isn't really all that close to anything -- if you want to take a train in to London or to Windsor, you basically need to go back to Heathrow for your journey. I had 24 hours in London and was a bit disappointed to discover that the hotel had nothing by way of transportation close by that didn't involve a return trip to Heathrow. I wound up staying in and watching movies.

I liked the hotel but the crappy service at the front desk on checkout in particular, not to mention the sloth-like speed in the restaurant for an order as simple as soup would likely colour whether I stay there again. Great bed though, nice room... pity about all the rest.

Room Tip: Make sure you are a member of the Priority Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadianTraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickCambell, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel London-Heathrow, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2011

Dear Canadian Traveller30,

Thank you for completing a TripAdvisor review following your stay at the Crowne Plaza London-Heathrow.

I was very pleased to learn you found the bedrooms satisfactory, but sorry your stay was spoilt by some service issues.

I was of course disappointed to learn the service in the Lounge Bar was very slow and the length of time it took you to check out – there is no apparent reason why, in either case, this should have happened - I fully appreciate the annoyance and frustration that was clearly caused.

These points have been carefully noted and action will be taken to address the shortfalls in service you unfortunately experienced.

In regard to the hotel’s location and access to central London, taking the underground from the airport is the nearest and easiest option – the Hotel Hoppa bus leaves every 20 minutes and takes around 10 minutes to get to either Terminal 1 or 3, where the underground can be caught. Alternatively a taxi would take 5 minutes, but of course would cost more than the Hoppa bus option.

I hope you will give the hotel another chance and consider returning next time you are passing through Heathrow – I do assure you your experiences on this occasion were far from typical as demonstrated by the many very positive TripAdvisor reviews the hotel receives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

What a Shame about the Staff ; The Rooms here are big and spacious , but badly let down by poor
service and poor attitude .Well this is why :
I am a Plat memeber when checking in asked about an upgrade, ( most hotels in group offer this without asking ) At first the Clark was interested in finding me an upgrade, until she realised I wanted in complimentry - Then none was available ! Ok thats fine
if no upgrade club rooms are avaialable, but once in my room I did a quick look at the CP Website I could have booked 9 Club Rooms , maybe more but there system only allows you to book 9 rooms !
To be honest this did not really worry me to much as the Standard Rooms are Fine, but it was clearly obvious, that as I had got a cheap rate, there was no way she was going to give me an upgrade, my only comment to this is that I am very regular users of all the IHG Hotels , and there are many times when I pay the full rates ! anyway lets move on :
Ice Machine was only supplying a couple of cubes at a time - made a call to House Keeping , in Room Dinning to ask for a jug of ice -- It never came .. we are still waiting !!!
Asked the restuarant for 3 plates - they refused , told me to ring Room Service , on my earlier experiance, explained, I wanted them now not tomorrow ! Requested they call me a Manager :
like the Ice the Manager never arrived , Gave up and got the plates my self , only to shouted at rudly by some man in a white overall behind the food counter, not sure who he was, but again told him if they have a problem, I am in Room XXX and send the Manager up to see me - No one ever turned up.
Again stay at many IHG and never before had a problem getting some plates to eat our own food in Room ( Sorry but we have eaten the food before at this Hotel, and we was not impressed )
We Watched a Movie, which Kept starting and stopping, Called for Help, like the Ice, Manager, before no one came , gave up and fell asleep.
On Check out, Complained about the movie, was offered 50% discount, I think we should have not been charged at all, but after some discussions with the Manager, I gave up I have better things to do than keep on a £4.25, anyway this is the best bit They discounted my Movie by 50% then applied the charge twice, so no discount for me atall , Clever ! or may a geniune mistake, but as it will cost me money to call on the 0870/0845 number to go through it all with some one else , decided, well CP you beat me on this one ....
One last thing as Plat member normally I have always had a free newspaper, on check out was charged and was told the free newpaper is only the inderpendant, I chose the wrong one, and must pay ! - THere is a Choice of Hotels - I will use it in future ..

It is a shame as the Rooms are Great, But the staff need some customer service trainning ..

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j0llyjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickCambell, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel London-Heathrow, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2011

Dear Jollyjenks,

I appreciate the time you have taken to write a TripAdvisor review following your stay at the Crowne Plaza London-Heathrow - I am very sorry you did not have the best of experiences.

You are quite right in pointing out that being a Platinum Priority Club Rewards member you should have been offered an automatic upgrade to a superior (Club) room, should one be available at the time of your check in. Without knowing the time of your arrival, and in the absence of other information regarding your check in, it is highly probable that Club rooms were indeed available to book, however at the time you checked in these rooms may not have been serviced and you could not have been checked in to one of them straight away. If this was a case, which I believe it was, the receptionist who checked you in should have explained this to you and given you the option to wait for one of the rooms to be made ready. I am sure had this been explained to you at the time this would have alleviated your concerns - going forward I will ensure a full explanation is given to guests when a bedroom upgrade cannot be given.

I am sorry your disappointment was added to by the catalogue of problems you experienced with the floor ice machine, difficulty in obtaining plates and the pay movie in your bedroom - equally the lack of response from the Duty Manager. I shall not attempt to make any excuses for these issues, but do assure you I will take action to address these very valid points.

I have noted your comments regarding the charges made for the movie and newspaper – if you would like to contact me with your details I will of course refund both these charges.

Thank you for your review, I sincerely hope you will consider returning to the hotel in the future and thus give us the opportunity to show you we can “get it right”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Hotel was choosen because of price and availability. We were looking for a hotel to accomodate 3 adults with leisure facilities... we stumbled upon this hotel and found the bargain we were looking for. Yes we were an hour from central London but we found the travelling easy and passed quickly.

The check in was quick and easy, I had emailed the hotel to ask for an early check in and the hotel gladly helped with our request.

The room did have a smokey smell but as time was of a premium we decided we were only sleeping in the room and wouldnt complain. On our return to the hotel later in the evening we poked our noses around the door to a Christmas party that was taking place at the hotel. The disco sounded loud and fun, the manager very kindly said we could join the party if we wanted. We decided that we would have a night cap in the bar and then to bed!!

Overall our stay was enjoyable and would return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickster30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Rooms were huge and had the facilities of a 4 star hotel.
Breakfast was good and has some variety of food.
Had an indoor pool but did not utilise it.
WiFi is chargable.
Had a great night as the bed was comfortable.
There's this calming pillow spray by your bedside or on your bed which made my sleep more comfortable after arriving pretty jet-lagged. I suggest you try it as well.
Chocolates,tea etc placed out the minibar is complimentary.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BedaBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Stayed here night before travelling to Hamburg. Easy to find from M4 and plenty of parking at front and rear of hotel. Do not leave vaulables on show, but same can be said anywhere in UK. Quick check in and was upgrade to club floor as priority club member, which is free to join.
Spacious and comfortable room, heating had been put on before I arrived which was great as it was a cold day.
Free access to club lounge and free drinks including Champagne, with canapes. I ate at the in house Indian restaurant, great food and staff very freindly. I you drink beer try the KIng Cobra, but be warned it is very strong and not cheap.
You can park and ride to all terminals here, but if you have booked parking closer to th airport it is on 5-10 drive.
A good experience for me, oh and bathroom was spotless and shower worked perfectly plenty of hot water and clean towels.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JockLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Its about a year since we were last at the Crowne Plaza Heathrow. This time we booked a Club Room on the 4th Floor. Check-in was fine and very courteous, we were asked twice if we desired assistance with our bags but we were fine on our own. The room was good - I like those gentleman-club like rooms with a proper desk near the window and lots of nice wood. We popped into the lounge for a cup of tea - very nice although the receptionists could have been a little more welcoming. Back to the room for a wash and we found the towels!! - they were disgraceful - the edges tatty and falling apart - we would use them as rags at home. We mentioned it to the hosekeeping lady in the corridor and she sent someone along to replace them which was fine but I still stand by the principle that they (the towels) simply shoud not be in service, especially when you are paying this sort of money. A very pleasant lady at the desk at ground floor reception did take up the matter and unfortuanately I did not take her name - but she had a very positive attitude and attended to our disappointment.
The Club Lounge for canapes at 6:30 pm was pleasant but nowhere near the sort of standard of a certain hotel's Club Lounge at Gatwick South.
A snack in the pub was good for us in the evening. A really good night's sleep and a full breakfast in the restaurant completed our stay which predominantly was excellent. However, no notepad or writing paper in the room, only one chocolate drink sachet, only one bathrobe, minimal toiletries and those disgraceful towels I do wonder if Crowne Plaza are "penny pinchining" in their Club Rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAKTEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Drayton
0.2 mi away
Novotel London Heathrow
Novotel London Heathrow
#5 of 12 in West Drayton
2,598 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre London Heathrow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Heathrow M4, Jct. 4
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Skyline Hotel London Heathrow
2.4 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel London-Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel London-Heathrow

Address: Stockley Road, West Drayton UB7 9NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in West Drayton
#3 Business Hotel in West Drayton
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Drayton
#4 Family Hotel in West Drayton
Price Range: £68 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel London-Heathrow 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Crowne Plaza London Heathrow Hotel is conveniently located for all Heathrow airport terminals including the new Terminal 5. In addition, M4 & M40 are only minutes away. The Hotel is just 2 minutes from Stockley Park. Complimentary transfers offered to Stockley Park whilst Bedfont Lakes Business Park is only a short drive away. Crowne Plaza London Heathrow is an ideal base while on Business or to explore Central London, Legoland Windsor, Ascot Racecourse, Wembley, and Twickenham. All bedrooms are spacious, modern & equipped with air conditioning and high-speed internet. The Hotel offers family rooms & accessible rooms including one with hoist facilities. Why not upgrade to the Club floor with access to Crowne Plaza Club Lounge where you can enjoy complimentary Continental Breakfast, complimentary WiFi in the lounge, drinks & canapes. Crowne Plaza London Heathrow is the place to Meet with 23 meeting and conference rooms for up to 200 delegates. All conference rooms have natural daylight and WiFi. Crowne Plaza London Heathrow is the ideal Legoland hotel for exploring all the park has to offer with journey times to the park of only 20 minutes The Hotels Leisure Club Spirit boasts Heathrow's largest indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and fully equipped gym and treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel London-Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London Heathrow
Crowne Plaza West Drayton
Crowne Plaza Heathrow
Crowne Plaza Hotel London-Heathrow West Drayton, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing