We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed here for one night as part of a tour. The tour operator was Newmarket, the coach was Cresta Coaches.

Plenty of parking around the hotel, would be a great place to stay if flying early from Heathrow. They have a pod running from the carparks to the terminals, £5. We were travelling with a group, went to see a theatre show, dinner and dance and trip to London the next day, travel included. The hotel is actually right next to Heathrow Airport and you can clearly see one of the runways from the restaraunt (there is a viewing platform/smokers area), however, remarkably, aircraft noise was minimal and did not bother us at all.

The room was compact for two, would not want to spend more than one or two nights maximum. Double bed was quite firm, but was on castors and would move easily if pushed. Room was reasonably well equipped, decent size flat screen non HD tv with normal freeview channels, tea and coffee facilities, good air con, iron and ironing board in the wardrobe but not much room to get it out. Good storage, plenty of drawers and cupboard space. The toilet/shower was small but adequate. The bath/shower was quite slippery though and would benefit from an anti slip mat. Plenty of towels available. I have to say that the room was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. We was very impressed on that score.

Unfortunately though, as we were part of a coach tour, we did not have food in the restaraunt which looked very good. We were put into a side room (conference room during the day) with several other coach parties. We were given a hot buffet but it was luke warm at best. The food was kept warm on 'samovar' type servers with hot water and what appeared to be a candle underneath! As soon as the food hit the plate it cooled to unnaceptable levels and was tepid by the time you sat down to eat it. Not a great choice of foods either, just soup, pasta, chicken, salad and potatoes/vegetables with cheescake or gataux for desert. My wife, who works in catering, refused to eat the cold food and complained but nothing was done.

We were also promised a drinks service which we did not get and had to make a very long walk down the corridor, through the restaraunt right to the back where the bar was situated and then back very carefully so as not to spill the overly expensive drinks.

It would not stop me staying there if I were flying from Heathrow though as we would then use the restaraunt. Nearly everybody complained to the tour manager the next morning about the cold food and lack of drinks service. She stated that it would all be reported. However, I got the impression she was just humouring us and that it's not the first time there had been complaints of this nature, and neither would it be the last. Until somebody get's food poisoning it will continue, as it improves the profit margins for the hotel and the tour operator.

I would have given this hotel a poor rating. However as the room and location were excellent and it is partly the fault of the tour operator for accepting the poor standard of the food, I have given it an average rating. Had we used the retaraunt for the food, the rating would probably have been higher than average.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Currymonster21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,998 - 2,004 of 2,817 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed here a couple of times. The reception etc area isnt too bad but the rooms are very run down. Bathrooms could use a good clean and maybe some repainting. The rooms and bathrooms are small. Breakfast is ok. Overall not the worst, but if you can find somewhere else for the same money, do it. A lot of airplane noise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elfriniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Booked this hotel for night as I had to pick up my step-daughter from an early flight. Compared to other hotels this one is definitely in the category of you get what you pay for. The reception/bar area is quite modern and fresh but the corridors could do with some updating, the floors are very creaky! The rooms are small but perhaps adequate for a one night stay. I wouldn't want to stay in my room during the depths of winter as the heater did not work and continually blew out cold air when switched on and it was a wee bit chilly. The kettle, tea/ coffee etc are hidden away in a drawer and I think they could make it more prominent to save on searching all the cupboards. The room itself was clean although the towels could do with renewing. The car park is secure but you do have to pay for this privilege £10 for parking overnight,

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I did not like much about this hotel other than its proximity to Terminal 5 at Heathrow. Check-in on two separate one day occasions about 10 days apart was slow and cumbersome. It seems that the owners have not upgraded their computer software this century. The halls are dark, the rooms are small, the bathrooms need renovation, and the linens need replacing. The restaurant was okay in the evening, but the lounge lunch during the daytime was only adequate. The second stay involved taking a day room during a stopover in London between flights. We ordered a 'wake up' call which never arrived. Thank goodness we had a backup alarm clock with us.
In the final analysis, this hotel has location, and not much else to recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordon49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

For the reason I gave the hotel two star instead of one is that it is located nearby to the airport and the room rates were pretty reasonably priced. Now, putting that aside, the cliche comes in that you get what you pay for. Quite ironically we had just stayed in the Thistle Hotel in Middlesbrough which was very clean and nice. We booked the Thistle Heathrow for an overnight stay before we caught a connecting flight the next morning.

The hotel is definitely not walking distance from the airport, but it is very close and a Shuttle transfer can be purchased for 4GBP. The shuttles run very regularly and the front desk and help you figure out which shuttle to take to get you to your terminal of choice.

As for the hotel itself, you could tell that the hotel has been around for some time by the style of the room, especially the bathroom. The smell of the room was a bit stuffy. The biggest complaint was the hot water in the shower. The water would either be extremely hot or extremely cold. When you finally got it to adjust to a right temperature not to freeze or scorch your skin, it would randomly revert back to being all cold or all hot again.

Seeing that we got in the hotel at 11pm in the night,and needed to be up by 3am the next morning to get ready for our flight, we did not have time to call the front desk so they could fiddle with shower because we needed to get some rest. I bared the extreme hot and cold water to shower that night and in the morning. Thistle, I hope not all of your rooms are like this!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Finding the hotel can be a problem using Tom Tom but google maps got me straight there
Car park looks safe and secure my car was fine no damage 11 days left on site.
The outside of the building is a little tired but inside is very pleasent the room I stayed in was clean comfortable not new but ok.
The food and bar is good a little expensive but you are only 10 minutes from terminal 5
All the staff are freindly and helpful, buses every 30 minutes and when you return to collect your car its the first stop on the route which is nice for a quick getaway

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly for the best price on rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbyb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Decent overnight stay. Friendly staff and good food at the restaurant. However , awkward arrangement of the rooms. Simple things like phone should be closer to bed and not enough space between chair and legroom under table make the hotel somewhat frustrating to spend more than a few hours in.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Drayton
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 5 Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel London Heathrow Airport
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre London Heathrow
1.7 mi away
Novotel London Heathrow
Novotel London Heathrow
#5 of 12 in West Drayton
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Address: Bath Road, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Price Range: £45 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle London Heathrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all terminals, with direct access to Terminal 5 via the eco friendly Ultra POD network in 7 minutes. As well as boasting spectacular views of the northern runway and architectural splendor of terminal 5 from the hotel restaurant, terrace and bar. The Thistle London Heathrow is the ideal place to unwind whether you are flying off early or arriving late at night. Also because we're close to central London Thistle London Heathrow is a perfect venue for business meetings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle London Heathrow West Drayton
Thistle Heathrow
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing