We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of November for three nights. Location was great for us. Breakfast excellent variety and good quality. Rooms were small but this was not a problem as we were not at the hotel to enjoy its facilities, our purpose of choosing the hotel was merely a clean comfortable place to stay close to heathrow airport. Yes the hotel is old style and possibly in need of refurbishment, but this cost will be passed onto the traveller and Iwould imagine most people book the hotel based on price! I loved the traditional bar and comfortable couches. We knew exactly what we were booking and paying for and our expectations were therefore met.....We had a lovely trip into Windsor by the local bus (changed in Slough) just in front of the hotel (costa coffee available opposite)....Thank you.....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,573)
There are newer reviews for Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,746 - 1,752 of 2,574 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

Take the free bus (423) from Heathrow T5 to Longford where the bus stops directly outside the hotel, in less than 5 minutes. The hotel from the outside, is not the most nicest looking of buildings, but inside the reception is large and full staffed, being served without a wait. I had asked for an airport runway room, but was not allocated one, so when I mentioned this at the reception they adjusted accordingly, which unfortunately when entering the room was not made up. However after a few minutes and apologies I was allocated another and had no qualms about the standard. Good sized room, runway view but no noise at all, bathroom good with shower in bath (expected at 3*) tea / coffee facilities, although limited TV channel choice. Novel way to get to the airport if not taking free bus is the new ecological pods (£5 one way), expensive but fun. Don't use the £4.50 one way Hoppa, not worth it

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We only spent 1 evening at this hotel as part of a theatre weekend. Arrived around 7ish and keys were waiting for us. Staff were very friendly on arrival. Dinner was around 8oclock and was a buffet style meal with soup or salad starter, a chicken dish, a pasta dish and a vegetarian burger option, roast potato's veg or salad and a couple of cheesecakes for suite. Only complaint was that the food was luke warm as it stands on warming plates and soon cools but over all not bad. Room was very adequate, very clean and everything you need for a short break. Breakfast was also buffet style but was a bit of a free for all with three coachloads all trying to eat at the same time. Viewing area overlooking Heathrow was nice watching aircraft take off so close. Would stop again if travelling from heathrow at any time.

Room Tip: Odd number room if you want to see runway from room
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Having stayed here for one night on three separate occasions, I have some experience of the place.
The reception staff are great, friendly, helpful and good at their work, whether it is 10pm or booking out at 4am.
The rooms are a different matter, one stunk of damp and generally are worn out, although generally clean, if you don't mind the mould in the bathrooms.
The restaurant tries to be better than the rest of the hotel, however it would be better off serving decent food and with larger portions, rather than trying to serve top restaurant food with their prices.
For food, suggest walking 100 metres to the Premier Inn where they have a decent café and decent food at reasonable prices, also go another 50 metres and there is a petrol station which has a deli.
The hotel needs a good makeover.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, first or ground floor, furthest away from the reception.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I'm guessing this was once a grand hotel but that would have been some time ago. It's passable but could easily be great once again.
The good things first - easy to get to from Heathrow, Hoppa Bus 4 leaves from all Heathrow terminals every 20 minuites. If you want to do quixck shopping the 81 Bus leaves rightout side the front of the hotel street and goes to Slough where there is a big shopping centre. The rooms have everything you'd expect of 3*** plus extra pillows and a blanket. The restuarant has an outdoor patio and lovely view of Heathrow and the staff in the restaurant were very friendly.
The not so good things - the room I was assigned had a strong aroma of air freshner and I got a headache within 5 minutes. I complained and they moved me to a much better room but it still had a funny smell. The hotel is "design challenged". Rooms on ground floor have 300, 400 and 700 numbers -not sure why(??). The interior is very tired and a little grubby. There are no lifts in this hotel. Restaurant and bar are upstairs but you walk through a row of rooms to get to them. Breakfast is mediocre.
It isn't that this place is terrible - if you are staying for one night it is basic and passable. But given that the Premier Inn is just acrosss the road I'm surprised they aren't more competitive. I ended up eating dinner at the Premier Inn as I just got so put off the Thistle Inn. considering how close this is to the airport, I didn;t hear any planes overnight. I had a good sleep.
The Reception staff looked really tired. Same people on the desk when I checked in 7pm were there at 7am.
As I said, it is passable but next time I'll stay at the Premier Inn across the road. Newer, cleaner and more welcoming.

Room Tip: Room 406 was decent.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArohaCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed one night before a flight from Heathrow. The staff, every one we met were excellent ,efficient and friendly. The room however was freezing as was the corridor which led from reception. Breakfast like the room was cold and looking very tiered even at 0730 in the morning!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

It is a very poor hotel and I would not recommend it at all!
When I checked-in - the room smelled of cigarettes(!) and a women bra was around... the room I was moved to - had a bad air conditioning system so they moved me to another room once again... This time it was o.k. , but shabby and not pleasant at all. The food at breakfast - very bad.
Stay away.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 600909_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review.

We take all comments very seriously and share information across all the hotel departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Drayton
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 4
1.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Address: Bath Road, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Price Range: £50 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle London Heathrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all terminals, with direct access to Terminal 5 via the eco friendly Ultra POD network in 7 minutes. As well as boasting spectacular views of the northern runway and architectural splendor of terminal 5 from the hotel restaurant, terrace and bar. The Thistle London Heathrow is the ideal place to unwind whether you are flying off early or arriving late at night. Also because we're close to central London Thistle London Heathrow is a perfect venue for business meetings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle London Heathrow West Drayton
Thistle Heathrow
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing