We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“£5 to open a gate - rip off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Reviewed 7 March 2014

OK, so it was cheap, so I can cope with the decor being very tired, the uncomfortable bed, the whine of a motor outside my room keeping me up. But charging £5 to give me the code to a gate. You need this code to use their much vaunted access to the Heathrow Pods. That's just taking the piss. Next time I'll pay a little extra and stay somewhere I can actually get a good nights sleep and that doesn't try and rip me off.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank DjLemsip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thanks you for your comments.

The access via the Pod to Heathrow Airport is a 5 minute ride without any waiting time. The £5 is collected by the hotel on behalf of Heathrow Pod and the fee is for the actual ride and not for the opening of the gate. The hotel has no financial gain in collecting the £5 per ride. There is also the Hoppa buses which is £4.50 each way and takes about 20 minutes to terminal 1,2,3 and 5 and 25 minutes to terminal 4. These buses leave every 30 minutes.

We are disappointed that Tripadvisor allowed your review to remain. We feel the profanity it contains breaches their family friendly guidelines. The hotel is constantly being re-decorated to ensure consistency.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,795 - 1,801 of 2,681 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

Usual early morning flight calls for a hotel at Heathrow. The requirements are cheapness and shuttle bus to the terminal and Thistle on this occasion came up trumps. Yes it is an airport hotel so not meant to be a holiday hotel but the room was clean and location quiet.
I had very pleasant fish and chips in the restaurant and the staff were efficient, no complaints.
Will I use the hotel again? Yes if flying from T5 and the price is the lowest.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for your review.

Value for money is important to us and we hope this demonstrates the value we have in our guests. Next time you stay consider using the POD to travel to the airport. These on demand eco friendly driverless vehicles go direct to Terminal five in minutes.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Excellent value, convenient location- I've stayed at many airport hotels and this was one of the better experiences. Rooms are smallish but clean, the beds were very comfortable, it was quiet, and above all very convenient for Heathrow. Staff very pleasant and helpful. What's not to like?

Room Tip: There's no lift so a ground floor room makes sense if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thanks for your great comments.

Next time you stay you will have to watch the planes land from the restaurant. The view is fantastic. If you book with us online you can take advantage of online check in and our best rate guarantee.

Thank you for choosing the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Great value for money! I stayed here for one night with 9 days parking included. The rooms are adequate and have everything you need and the restaurant that overlooks terminal 5 runway of heathrow was a great way to start my holiday! Using the Hopper Bus was very easy from the hotel, the bus stops right outside the hotel reception. Parking was great at the hotel I just had my ticket validated on return which was quick and easy and I do like the fact you don't have to leave your car keys. The only thing I will mention is my sat nav when I used the postcode took me in the wrong direction your better off navigating to Longford and it is so easy to find it from there which is what I ended up doing (maybe it was just my sat nav app)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thanks for you fantastic review.

I am pleased you like the car parking system. You keeping your own car keys and knowing your car will not be moved by anyone is a key part of our car parking strategy.

Next time you visit us you will have to try the POD, this eco friendly driverless vehicle is available on demand direct to Terminal 5.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The Price was right, the location was fine the Hotel was somewhat tired.
I had a good deal with parking included, the hotel was easy to find on the Bath Road, lots of parking available. Checked in staff were fine, reception area was nice, then to the room Quite small for a double but for one night it was fine.
Had a drink in the bar quite expensive, but a great view of the runway.
Top Tip turn left when you leave the hotel and a five min walk you will find The White Horse pub The food is excellent and the beer and drinks reasonably priced and a great welcome.
Another tip is rather than have breakfast in the hotel McDonalds is opposite the hotel.
If parking is not included its £10 per night !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for yesterday’s review of the hotel.

We are glad you found the location well placed and the staff friendly. The prices in the bar are regularly checked locally and found to be competitive, many items are cheaper than the pub you mention in your review.

We are pleased you had a chance to see the planes landing on the Northern runway the view is truly spectacular.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

ok the rooms are a little tired looking and quite small.., but the common areas are certainly ok.. i stayed here on fri 28 feb....for £60... the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, really comfortable bed...safe, iron, coffee, tea, tv, wifi, hot powerful shower, receptionists were smiley and efficient...had food in the bar...which was at a reasonable cost...and very nicely presented .piping hot...and very tasty... the guy behind the bar was from pakistan...dont know his name...but very entertaining and informative about things to see and do in the area...breakfast was excellent...big selection of cooked and uncooked...i travel a lot for work...and stay in hotels 3 nights a week...and i will definetley be coming back here...well done Thistle people

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you very much for your great review.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found it good value for money. Your mention of the outstanding staff is most welcome. All the teams work hard to ensure we provide the best level of service possible. I will make sure the teams receive the comments you have left especially the gentleman in the bar.

I hope to welcome you back soon to the Thistle London Heathrow, where if you have time you can watch the planes land from the restaurant on the Northern runway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I booked a family room for one night, car parking for four days and hopper bus to and from terminal one.
Great value.
Check in was quick and the staff friendly and helpful.
Room was clean, tidy well equiped but small.
Car parking at the hotel.
Would recommend and use again, no complaints.

Room Tip: As far down the corridors as you can get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wightrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you for your review of the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel.

I will pass your comments about the quick friendly check in experience on to the reception team they will be glad to hear your remarks. I am pleased you found your stay a good all experience and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Drayton
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
1.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel London Heathrow Airport
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre London Heathrow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Address: Bath Road, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Price Range: £48 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle London Heathrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all terminals, with direct access to Terminal 5 via the eco friendly Ultra POD network in 7 minutes. As well as boasting spectacular views of the northern runway and architectural splendor of terminal 5 from the hotel restaurant, terrace and bar. The Thistle London Heathrow is the ideal place to unwind whether you are flying off early or arriving late at night. Also because we're close to central London Thistle London Heathrow is a perfect venue for business meetings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle London Heathrow West Drayton
Thistle Heathrow
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing