We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Peoples Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Peoples Hotel!!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Hello,

The hotel is economically priced for the location and view of the planes landing. Terminal 5 this is the must place to stay, on your onward journey. The personal POD is a great way to get their total automation at its best, very convenient, ok there's a cost but try it and you'll see it was worth it. It's also useful for getting into Central London for shows and nightlife, hop on the POD, and then hop on the tube.

I say the people hotel, because you will be well looked after by the staff, the reception are very helpful with information and the bar and restaurant are fun and fabulous people, to name some great people I came across Nemal, Divari, Shival, Elena, Rasan, and yogav to tell you the truth their so many and they're all kind and helpful. The evening meal and bar experience is also a great, and to name some of the great staff that work there Dwayne, Eddy, Balaji,and Imitaz, there are some that I can't remember the names but found them equally helpful. Each of these guys have a unique character, their smart, quick witted and very friendly, I feel staff like this are a big asset to the hotel.

All the staff kitchen, bar, and restaurant are all extremely hard working and put in so much, even Halifax's people who deserve extra don't compare. These guys deserve the best in their jobs with all the benefits they can get. They make the hotel what it is. :)

Some things which I thought could be an improvement for me. Is music in the bar on non-match days, and resolve noise and reception on the TV's, it only happens occasionally but can be
annoying. I found the toilet is too close the wall in my room, can't say what other rooms were like.

The prices of the snack and drink at the cafe bar in the lounge I thought are expensive for my liking, the bar & restaurant prices are relative to the location.

The room itself is great for the price, has everything one needs. although there's a air conditioning in the room, I thought the window could open for fresh air in my room, just as a choice, some people may not mind the airplane noise.

The hotel management take the time to listen and are very understanding, they listen to the customer and staff needs alike.

For longer stays onsite Gym and Pool would be nice, but there's a nearby health club, literally down the road.

One is made to feel very welcome at the The Peoples Hotel (The Thistle London Heathrow)

Go check it out on your next trip out! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the toilet is not near the wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments.

Your mention of all the individual staff members is amazing, I will be speaking to them and passing on your comments myself. I am glad you managed to take advantage of all the hotels facilities the POD is a welcome addition and the runway views are one of our proudest assets.

Next time your here please ensure and check the superfast free wifi available throughout the hotel, one click to connect no registration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    768
    739
    375
    322
See reviews for
294
927
352
557
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We booked this hotel through Lastminute.com as a Mystery Hotel but we had worked out which hotel we were getting. The cost was much less by choosing the Mystery option. We travelled from Leeds to Heathrow via East Coast trains and then got the shuttle bus to the hotel - all very easy. Checkin was trouble free, the reception staff were pleasant and we booked a table for dinner under our tastecard (two meals for one) and enjoyed a pleasant meal in the First Edition restaurant. Our room was good, well decorated, good ensuite facilities. We found the bed to be comfortable and the free Wifi was a welcome facility. One point - we could have purchased breakfast at the time of booking but didn't ..... this proved to be a good move as it would have cost £15 per person but when we were checking in we were offered breakfast at £10 per person which we booked. We were leaving the hotel early but they serve breakfast from 6:30 am. Breakfast was an acceptable standard as normal for an airport hotel, not necessarily worth the £10 fee but from our experience that is also quite normal for many hotel chains. We would definitely stay there next time and we used the Heathrow Pod to get to the Terminal on the morning of our flight and thoroughly enjoyed the experience, yes as others have stated it was £5 per person but we did not feel it was too costly and it was part of our overall holiday experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodyemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks for the great review.

Thank you for your kind comments,

I am glad you found hotel represented value for money, being able to demonstrate integrity in our pricing model is really important to us.

The POD is a wonderful addition to the hotel facilities and I’m glad you found it makes your life a little bit easier. For your information we do not profit from any ticket sales these revenues are collected on behalf of the operator only.

Check out the thistle website next time your booking and take advantage of our best rate guarantee and online check in. We look forward to see you the next time you’re flying out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prudhoe
Level Contributor
160 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I was flying out in the morning so the quick POD journey was ideal. The staff seem to have something else on their mind and not the guests, I think they need supervision. Room was ok if small and tired. The bathroom was just functional, the toilet was so close to the wall I had to sit on sideways, the sealant was mouldy and peeling off around the bath and the shower hardly worked.
I needed a map to find the bar and then it was expensive. On the plus point I had a good sleep and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimm_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Many thanks for your comments.

It’s great that you found the POD a useful addition to your travel plans. A recent guest timed their journey from the main reception to departures at just 12 minutes! We do have a rolling re-decoration cycle that runs year round through all bedrooms.

We have invested in the product and equipment at breakfast recently so i am glad you enjoyed everything.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have used this hotel several times in the past. It’s an excellent location if flying from Terminal 5. The deals available for inclusive car parking are very competitive and the free bus service to the terminal (423) stops just outside the grounds.

I fail to understand why other contributors keep on about the cost of travelling on the pods. All bus services around Heathrow are free and run frequently from very early in the morning. The stop to T5 is just outside the hotel, opposite the Premier Inn. It takes about five minutes, and the drop off is within T5. They run about every 20 minutes. For bus times search: Transport for London website. For routes search: Heathrow Free Travel Zone network. Heathrow Express is also free to other terminals within Heathrow.

So to the hotel. The rooms are small, but the one we had this time was in a good decorative state.  The free wifi has been added since we last stayed and it's a welcomed addition. A very comfortable bed with good quality bed linen, it had a deep mattress topper, with a proper mattress cover, not the plastic backed type you find in some hotels these days. What more could you want for an overnight stay before an early flight. We don't usually have breakfast in the hotel. "The Crown Rivers" is a Wetherspoon pub, airside at T5. They do very acceptable breakfasts, it's reasonable value and more relaxed, as you've gone through check-in, security and passport control by then..

A minus point was the broken catches on the secondary glazing, meaning a bit more noise from the aircraft. Also, as mentioned by another contributor, the cold water from basin and bath, comes out warm.

A favourite hotel for us. We'll be using it again.

A tip: Try some of the hotel booking sites. It seems that you can sometimes get a better deal than booking with the hotel direct.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayare14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

I hope your mention of the free bus(TFL bus no: 423) is helpful to other less than an minute walk from the hotel reception and a short trip to terminal 5 offers the most economical solution of all transfer methods.

I am sorry about the window latches I will look into this. Have you been to the restaurant and seen the views of the northern runway from there? If you buy breakfast from reception on arrival its just £10 per person.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Let's start with the good. Check in was friendly.
I stay in hotels each week some 5 Star some 3 star but one thing I can tell you is whatever star the hotel tells you they are and that can always be debated when guests are at the front desk arguing with the staff about this and that it's never a good sign AND THEY WERE.
Took 15 min to check but his command of English terrible. I'm from he UK and work internationally in an international company and his command of English would be unacceptable in most companies. He had to ask his colleague to help!!
Corridors so narrow which is fine but cleaning staff with vacuum just walked right thru me so rude. Room small which is fine but shabby needs updating. Bed was comfy although you here every door open so noisy. Breakfast was poor all food was just canteen food seemed to be catering for the bus/coach patrons touring UK. Hate to say it but Prem Inn is much better.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LyonPaddy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

We have a full corridor refurbishment program that begins at the end of May and should address the tiredness you mention. Our reception team is one that we are currently focusing on and I am sure we can deliver the prerequisite service following some corrective training.

It’s a shame you didn’t enjoy breakfast we have invested in this area recently and are receiving some great feedback. In addition this provides the opportunity to experience the views of the planes landing on the Northern runway.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Only 5 minutes by POD from LHR Terminal 5. No line,No jam, but 5 pounds per person one way ! We want some discount ticket for multiple use....
This is not 5 star hotel so you would find no more than a moderate room and facility but Room are clean and well maintained, hotel staffs are all kind and helpful.
If you save your budget for accommodation at LHR, it should be one of your option.
Only point I would like to improve is "Please don't disturb" tag. On the other side of it, it is "Please make up the room"tag. Sometimes it causes unfortunate result by mistake...

Room Tip: This is not 5 star hotel so you better not expect luxury room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poofyAsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Many thanks for your review.

Firstly please let me assure you that the hotel does not profit from POD journey sales. All of this is recorded and paid to the operator. Of course we have the benefit of the POD as a key selling point.I am pleased your stay represented value for money, this is really important to me.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow the next time your away. Check out the Thistle website and take advantage of our best rate guarantee and free online check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
472 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Lets face it, you're not gong to have an annual holiday at the Thistle Hotel Terminal 5! You have an early or late flight from the terminal and want to park your car for a few nights. This hotel is ideal but also has its disadvantages as you will not be pampered. It is a drab two storey building that looks like 1970's construction with depressingly long corridors. It is easy to find (with SatNav) and the parking seems secure with barrier control. Reception staff gave us all the appropriate information and there was no wait - but no friendly welcome either. A smile at the end of a long journey is very useful but perhaps they feel the same at the end of a long day. The room was clean, small and appropriately (minimally) furnished. It looked like it had been refurbished. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. The bathroom was tiny and only one bath towel was provided for two of us. I am sure this oversight would have been sorted out on request. There was only lukewarm water in the shower. The wifi worked well and there was no aircraft noise. We did not try the food but adjacent to reception were coffee facilities. The overwhelming benefit of using this hotel is the pod access to Terminal 5. It seems that the free access to the pods are included on booking the Terminal 5 Business Carpark (not owned by the Thistle Hotel). As the Thistle Hotel is next to the carpark it has access to the pods. There has to be a charge for using the pods and this is £5 per person for each journey with a code to gain access to the carpark/pods having to be purchased. Clearly this also depends on your honesty as it would be possible for you to allow 100 people though the carpark gate with only one access code! It does mean that a family of 4 would be charged £40 for a return journey to Terminal 5. The direction to the pods is clearly signed but does mean pulling your luggage outside over a flat surface for about 100 yards. However it is possible to travel from your room, checkout (assuming you have prepaid) and reach Terminal 5 in 15 minutes. This means that you don't have to risk paying a high taxi fare, rely on the infrequent Hoppa bus, wait for ages for the airport long-stay parking bus or tie yourself down to a booked time for Meet and Greet. You can leave for the airport when it suits you. You will have to make your own calculations as to cost but we paid £95 for a double room and 4 nights parking with a total of £20 for pod journeys on top. The Premier Inn with airport Meet and Greet would have cost £125 but was fully booked.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room but not on the carpark side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebellplasnewydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind review.

I am glad the hotel worked how you anticipated for you holiday stop over. Tailoring the property around many different types of traveller is important to us.

It’s great you had a good nights sleep we have just invested heavily in new bed stock including Hypnos mattress and Mitre toppers which we are getting some great feedback for.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Drayton
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 5 Hotel
1.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
1.6 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Property: Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Address: Bath Road, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle London Heathrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all terminals, with direct access to Terminal 5 via the eco friendly Ultra POD network in 7 minutes. As well as boasting spectacular views of the northern runway and architectural splendor of terminal 5 from the hotel restaurant, terrace and bar. The Thistle London Heathrow is the ideal place to unwind whether you are flying off early or arriving late at night. Also because we're close to central London Thistle London Heathrow is a perfect venue for business meetings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle London Heathrow West Drayton
Thistle Heathrow
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing