We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Unfriendly for disabled guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Giffnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Unfriendly for disabled guests”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Having got the Hotel booked for us as it was our honeymoon weekend this hotel was chosen as it has a very good name up in Scotland so as a present it was done.

On check in a room was give with only a shower yet i am mobility impaired, when reminded the reception staff about my legs i was then give a bridal room on the 1st floor, 4hrs later our cases arrived from reception (but was told that someone would follow in about 10minutes).

Breakfast was bad bacon you would need a "Jackhammer" to break, Told the staff i cant eat mushrooms for medical reasons but still mushrooms came then they just changed it. Restaurant is on the first floor so anyone in a wheelchair has to pay a room service fee so that they can eat breakfast in there room. ONLY GOOD THING about the hotels is the from the restaurant you have a very clear view of the runway and that McDonalds is less than 3-4minutes by foot from the hotel. Anyone who has mobility issues of any kind this hotel is not for you.

The time at the hotel was a killing of the honeymoon night we planned.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshscottish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your review,

I was disappointed to read your comments. All front facing staff have been trained in managing diversity and disability awareness. It seems from your comments our team could have utilized this better.

The hotel was built approximately 45 years ago and structurally has not changed in this time. There is however a platform star lift to get to the restaurant and I am currently in the planning phase of having a full lift installed as well as a bridge to link the two buildings. Hopefully these works will commence in September.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with your further, if you have time please contact me at the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    780
    752
    378
    323
See reviews for
295
943
357
562
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middle East
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Tricky to find...make sure you take the Bath Road route.

The hotel is older and slightly rundown but it's clean and well run. It is huge and difficult to navigate - there is no lift to the first floor. We ate dinner in the bar because it was late and the food was fine.

I was pleasantly surprised about the noise, that is, I didn't hear a single plane!

The shuttle bus service costs £4 per person one way and was efficient and clean. It does stop via the other hotels though and takes about 15 minutes. They come every 20 minutes. Wifi was free and very good connectivity.

There is a car park with 300 spaces (that you have to pay for. NB. could get pricey after a day or so).

This hotel is excellent for the price. It's basically somewhere to catch a few hours sleep.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you found the hotel represented value for money, being able to demonstrate integrity in our pricing model is important to us.

Next time you stay speed up your journey to the airport by taking the POD. A recent guest timed their journey from reception to T5 at just 12 minutes!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is one of very few negative reviews I've given.
As lots before me say, décor and general up keep is worn and tired. Stayed at numerous heathrow hotels over the years and this is the noisiest, could hear the planes easy enough in the morning that wasn't as much an issue as the other room doors been closed loudly. I thought it was inconsiderate people just letting go of the door rather than close it quietly. Tried hard myself to close the door without it banging and making a loud click as it locked, just not possible. Staff on the front desk seemed as others have mentioned, to be in a world of their own ie giving you half of their attention. Sorry management. Positive was the breakfast was bang on the money we thought despite what others have said. Bed was great, really comfy and huge. But too many negatives for us to use this hotel again or recommend it. Sorry

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RoyPartington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your comments.

I am pleased you found breakfast and the bed a good standard and comfortable. These are areas we have recently invested in so I am pleased that has had the desired affect. The noise is disappointing all rooms are triple glazed. These are checked regularly to ensure they are sound.

If you are in the area again, please contact one of our relationship managers direct. Or check the thistle website and take advantage of our best rate guarantee and online check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
246 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Pre booked a room for a night after a long haul flight. Used the hotel shuttle bus from the terminal, a quick cheap option and quickly checked in. Hotel room pretty small but comfortable and clean with good comfortable bed, clean shower and toilet. There is food available on site but also a McDonalds within walking distance. Ideal place for a rest before or after a long flight.

Room Tip: All room have double glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwisnowbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thanks for your great review.

I am pleased the location worked well for you. Your mention of breakfast is most welcome we have invested in this area recently and are pleased you like the results. The planes taking off and landing in the background is just a bonus.

Next time you book check the thistle website directly for our best rate guarantee and to take advantage of out new online check in and take the POD from the hotel to the airport.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I was only booked in for one night and arrive at around 11pm. By which point the restaurant had closed unfortunately. Although there is a snack counter where you can get a sandwich.
My room was a good distance away from the reception area, and I did wonder if I would get lost trying to find my room. But thankfully I did find it at the bottom of a corridor. The room was a bit small and starting to look a bit dated. But the bed was comfortable, and clean.
The following morning I was booked in for breakfast, and must admit it was well work the money, very nice meal to start the day, with a good selection of hot and cold food. The staff were very friendly, and quick to ask you if you wanted coffee or tea.
The other good thing about this hotel is the 'pod' you can catch to take you straight to terminal 5, very quick and you are inside the terminal within 15 mins.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thanks for your recent review.

I am pleased you found the hotels close location to Terminal five favourable. All POD ticket sales are collected on behalf of the operator. The hotel does not profit at all from these sales.

Next time your here you must check out the views of the Northern runway from the terrace next to the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow when you return to the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Booked through holiday extras we got an excellent deal on a night stay with breakfast and parking. The parking was approx 20 paces from the front door of the hotel, perfect!

Reception was busy but staff dealt with us quickly and efficiently. Room was as expected, decent bed and furniture. Paintwork in the bathroom and above kettle was struggling to cling to the ceiling and noticeably no extractor could be seen or heard. Usual facilities with the addition of biscuits with the drinks and soap shower shampoo etc.

We opted for dinner in the restaurant, fusion menu with some interesting dishes. I had the nasi goreng which was truly delicious.

Silence is indeed golden and I note the lack of slamming doors all through the night as a real plus! blackout curtains that actually did blackout the light all meant a great nights sleep.

Breakfast presented us with a vast choice of options from pink grapefruit to salami, and croissants to sausages.

Service was attentive and considerate.

Pod was the icing on the cake, it's worth the cost and the convenience. However! It would have been great to have been made aware that it wasn't 'just' through the door. And information regarding one's return to the hotel by pod would be helpful up front.

I'd certainly make this my go to hotel for T5 departures in the future.

Room Tip: It can be a long walk so if you have mobility issues do check do ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

I am glad the hotel worked how you anticipated for you holiday stop over. Tailoring the property around many different types of traveller is important to us.

It’s great you had a good nights sleep we have just invested heavily in new bed stock including Hypnos mattress and Mitre toppers which we are getting some great feedback for.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Hello,

The hotel is economically priced for the location and view of the planes landing. Terminal 5 this is the must place to stay, on your onward journey. The personal POD is a great way to get their total automation at its best, very convenient, ok there's a cost but try it and you'll see it was worth it. It's also useful for getting into Central London for shows and nightlife, hop on the POD, and then hop on the tube.

I say the people hotel, because you will be well looked after by the staff, the reception are very helpful with information and the bar and restaurant are fun and fabulous people, to name some great people I came across Nemal, Divari, Shival, Elena, Rasan, and yogav to tell you the truth their so many and they're all kind and helpful. The evening meal and bar experience is also a great, and to name some of the great staff that work there Dwayne, Eddy, Balaji,and Imitaz, there are some that I can't remember the names but found them equally helpful. Each of these guys have a unique character, their smart, quick witted and very friendly, I feel staff like this are a big asset to the hotel.

All the staff kitchen, bar, and restaurant are all extremely hard working and put in so much, even Halifax's people who deserve extra don't compare. These guys deserve the best in their jobs with all the benefits they can get. They make the hotel what it is. :)

Some things which I thought could be an improvement for me. Is music in the bar on non-match days, and resolve noise and reception on the TV's, it only happens occasionally but can be
annoying. I found the toilet is too close the wall in my room, can't say what other rooms were like.

The prices of the snack and drink at the cafe bar in the lounge I thought are expensive for my liking, the bar & restaurant prices are relative to the location.

The room itself is great for the price, has everything one needs. although there's a air conditioning in the room, I thought the window could open for fresh air in my room, just as a choice, some people may not mind the airplane noise.

The hotel management take the time to listen and are very understanding, they listen to the customer and staff needs alike.

For longer stays onsite Gym and Pool would be nice, but there's a nearby health club, literally down the road.

One is made to feel very welcome at the The Peoples Hotel (The Thistle London Heathrow)

Go check it out on your next trip out! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the toilet is not near the wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments.

Your mention of all the individual staff members is amazing, I will be speaking to them and passing on your comments myself. I am glad you managed to take advantage of all the hotels facilities the POD is a welcome addition and the runway views are one of our proudest assets.

Next time your here please ensure and check the superfast free wifi available throughout the hotel, one click to connect no registration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Drayton
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
1.6 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel London Heathrow Airport
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ibis London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Property: Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Address: Bath Road, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle London Heathrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all terminals, with direct access to Terminal 5 via the eco friendly Ultra POD network in 7 minutes. As well as boasting spectacular views of the northern runway and architectural splendor of terminal 5 from the hotel restaurant, terrace and bar. The Thistle London Heathrow is the ideal place to unwind whether you are flying off early or arriving late at night. Also because we're close to central London Thistle London Heathrow is a perfect venue for business meetings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle London Heathrow West Drayton
Thistle Heathrow
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing