We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok and very close to T5”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I read many not so favorable reviews about this place but since I had a very early flight (6.55am) from Terminal 5 and did not want to use the dreaded Hopper service or expensive taxi I figured this one fits the bill as it has almost direct access to the "pod" transport system.

I always travel with earplugs so any noise complaints others had - I can't agree with - if one is staying at an airport hotel - there will be planes going overhead - so really no need to complain about that!

Overall - friendly staff, clean but tired looking. Smallish rooms and a new for me - being asked at check in - two people - no just me - ok but it's a queen room - so? no problem with a bigger bed... but only one towel... go figure:-)

No bar fridge - so warm wine for me - small kettle and only two sachets of coffee... probably could have rang house keeping for that but rather odd. They have no lift - so people with large suit cases like me are lucky if they are put on the ground floor or will have to carry their bags upstairs.

I did not try the restaurant so can't comment on that.

The pod system delivered though - its a fiver and is very fast and on time.. so for that reason I would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: If you travel with loads of bags (or heavy ones) - get a downstairs room and always take some ear pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank R_G_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Thanks for your recent review.

I am pleased you found the hotels close location to Terminal five favourable. All POD ticket sales are collected on behalf of the operator. The hotel does not profit at all from these sales.

Next time your here you must check out the views of the Northern runway from the terrace next to the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow when you return to the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,812 - 1,818 of 2,824 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

I had to find a hotel as my flight from T5 was cancelled. The hotel is not very from from T5 so that is good. The rooms are very small and extremely thin-walled you can hear every sound your neighbors are making. The hotel is not very fresh and it is really time for a major refurbishment. I tried room service and that was actually ok. One night in a case of emergency is ok but for any other reason I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Joakim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Many thanks for your comments

I am glad the hotel worked well as a stopover for you and you enjoyed room service.

Next time you stay speed up your journey to the airport by taking the POD. A recent guest timed their journey from reception to T5 at just 12 minutes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Its just in the flight path of the aeroplanes. Wouldn't have minded so much if I had been going on a plane but I wasn't. Fortunately we were only there for 1 night. The planes stop at 11 and my lighter sleeping colleagues couldn't sleep until then. The hotel is, otherwise, pretty bog standard. Dated. Tired. Probably a cheap option for those flying from Heathrow. Staff were friendly enough. Cant really say any more. Good or bad. I wouldn't stay here again if I could help it. It asks me about location - if you just want a quick transfer to Heathrow, its great. If you want pubs, shops, some sort of life. You wont get it.

Room Tip: I think they are all pretty much the same. I would try to avoid single rooms as I bet they are pokey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Thanks for your recent review.

I am pleased you thought the hotels close location to Terminal five favourable.

Next time your here you must check out the views of the Northern runway from the terrace next to the restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for one night after a long flight back from Las Vegas. We arrived late- approx 11.30pm. We booked this hotel as it stated that the hotel was directly in terminal 5- don't be fooled! It cost us £25 in a taxi from terminal 5 to the Thistle! It could be argued you could get the bus but with it being so late, no buses were running so our only option was a taxi.

Reception staff seemed tired with a 'can't be bothered attitude' and with our room being located 3 floors up with no lifts, we had to ask for help with our luggage but the staff member seemed 'put out' by this. The room was basic & quite small but was fine for us to just freshen up and get our head down after a long flight. The air con in the room was a god send as it had been a really hot day that day so that was good.

Hotel claims to have 24 hr room service but we were told it finished at 11pm. However, there is a Mcdonalds just a 2 min walk away which was open 24 hrs, so we just went there for a bite to eat. At a large international airport such as Heathrow, this hotel should offer 24 hr room service for its guests.

However, on a positive note, this hotel offers great transport links to the rest of Heathrow airport with a shuttle bus picking you up directly outside the hotel reception doors.

Just a tip to other guests travelling to terminal 5 and wanting a hotel directly outside, I would recommend the Sofitel hotel which is literally a walk across the road from the Terminal 5 doors.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaMarie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Thank you for you recent comments.

Terminal 5 to the hotel in a taxi should cost no more than £15.00 - £20.00 even at 11.00pm. You can come by bus for free or direct on the POD for £5.00 per person. The hotel only has a ground and first floor but we are working towards fitting a lift into the hotel and part of this project is a bridge to connect all parts of the building.

We have recently upgraded our free wifi so it’s now superfast and accessible with just one click anywhere in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great spot for stopping over when flying in or out of Heathrow terminal 5. Corridors and rooms are pretty tired looking but perfectly clean. The view from the restaurant makes up for the poor quality overpriced food which is all too common when you have a captive audience. The pod that takes you too and from the airport is fantastic, really easy trip to the airport I the morning for an early flight.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Many thanks for the great review.

I am glad the hotel worked well as a stopover for you. We have not been working with the POD operator too long but the partnership seems to be working well.

We have recently upgraded our free wifi so it’s now superfast and accessible with just one click anywhere in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stopped here with a amazon deal nobody understood what was going on. In the end I got charged twice this has now been rectified. Rooms tired plumbing needs sorting . Evening meal good breakfast excellent ok for one night. Pod from hotel great to get to the airport. Would stop here again but only for one night.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mikesue376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Many thanks for you comments.

I am pleased the hotel worked well for you, it’s really important that your stay represented value for money. I will pass your comments of the evening meal and breakfast to the chef and his team, thank you.

I hope you had the opportunity to watch the planes landing on the northern runway at breakfast; this is one of the hotels best features. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Hotel was excellent we had a twin room on the ground floor, didnt hear planes at all.

Had meal in the reastaraunt that was very good, it was after 7pm on a sunday night but the staff were attentive and very pleasant, watching the planes take off every minute I thought our room might have been noisy but it wasnt.

The best thing about the hotel for me was the location and the ease of the PODS for transfer to terminal 5. Its only a fiver and quite fun and very easy to use, just get the ticket from reception, I was travelling with my elderly mother and it was very easy for us!!

Room Tip: we had room on the ground floor didn't request it but was brilliant for my mum, quiet too! (twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Many thanks for the great review.

I am glad the hotel worked well as a stopover for you and I am pleased you found the reception team friendly. We have not been working with the POD operator too long but the partnership seems to be working well.

We have recently upgraded our free wifi so it’s now superfast and accessible with just one click anywhere in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Drayton
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 5 Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
1.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre London Heathrow
1.7 mi away
Novotel London Heathrow
Novotel London Heathrow
#5 of 12 in West Drayton
2,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Address: Bath Road, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Price Range: £45 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle London Heathrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all terminals, with direct access to Terminal 5 via the eco friendly Ultra POD network in 7 minutes. As well as boasting spectacular views of the northern runway and architectural splendor of terminal 5 from the hotel restaurant, terrace and bar. The Thistle London Heathrow is the ideal place to unwind whether you are flying off early or arriving late at night. Also because we're close to central London Thistle London Heathrow is a perfect venue for business meetings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle London Heathrow West Drayton
Thistle Heathrow
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing