We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is in dire need of a renovation. From the outside it looks like an industrial building and inside is not much better.
The rooms were basic but did have a hair dryer and safe. The bed was a double.
The on site restaurant was a let down. Rather rude staff and poor quality food. Avoid and go to the a McDonalds over the road.
If you are after somewhere really cheap and don't care much about quality Thistle is the one.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Thank you for you recent comments.

I am sorry you didn’t enjoy all of your stay. Next time you are considering staying the area, please look at the thistle website direct and take advantage of our best rate guarantee and free online check in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,704 - 1,710 of 2,719 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Have stayed here a couple of times as it is very convenient for Terminal 5 Heathrow. Check in was quick and efficient, and the food served in the bar was also very good, even if a little overpriced. BUT you can sit and watch the planes take off and land and enjoy refreshments.The rooms need some attention...bathroom looked tired and some black mould around the bath, but the beds were comfortable. The price was very reasonable as I parked at the hotel for a few nights, and the inclusive price could not be beaten. The Business Pod can be used to get to the airport..£5 per person each way...but quicker than the Hoppa service even if a little more expensive. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the runway if you are fascinated by planes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 758David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Thanks for your review.

I am really glad you enjoyed the view of planes from the terrace. If they are landing on the Northern runway the views are fantastic.

Next time you are considering staying the area, please look at the thistle website direct and take advantage of our best rate guarantee and free online check in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed for one night with my wife prior to an early morning departure from T5.

In our opinion the hotel is really good, food little expensive, but its an hotel in London. It was clean, the staff very helpful, beds were lovely and comfy, the view of the runway was great and they gave us 2 early morning calls as requested

It was great for what we needed it for!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesterlad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Many thanks for you comments.

I am pleased the hotel worked well for you, it’s really important that your stay represented value for money. Now we have increased our wifi speed so it’s superfast all over the hotel for free.

I hope you had the opportunity to watch the planes landing on the northern runway at breakfast; this is one of the hotels best features. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Had a wonderful overnight stop before our long flight back to NZ. Majority of staff extremely welcoming and friendly, only disappointment was the fact we had booked back in March, but found that our room was the furtherest away from reception. It would have been a lot easier if there was a small trolley to bring luggage from room on check out morning, but width of corridors hindered this as the service trolley required space. Was extremely clean and very quiet. Would like to see a hand rail in the bathroom to place hand towel on, as there was no place to hang this up after using.

Room Tip: Request a room close to reception if you have any problems with walking etc, and also assistance if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yzfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Thank you for your recent review.

Your mention of the service being welcoming and friendly is most welcome. I will make sure this is passed onto all the front line staff members.

Check out the thistle website direct and take advantage of out best rate guarantee and online check facility. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I read many not so favorable reviews about this place but since I had a very early flight (6.55am) from Terminal 5 and did not want to use the dreaded Hopper service or expensive taxi I figured this one fits the bill as it has almost direct access to the "pod" transport system.

I always travel with earplugs so any noise complaints others had - I can't agree with - if one is staying at an airport hotel - there will be planes going overhead - so really no need to complain about that!

Overall - friendly staff, clean but tired looking. Smallish rooms and a new for me - being asked at check in - two people - no just me - ok but it's a queen room - so? no problem with a bigger bed... but only one towel... go figure:-)

No bar fridge - so warm wine for me - small kettle and only two sachets of coffee... probably could have rang house keeping for that but rather odd. They have no lift - so people with large suit cases like me are lucky if they are put on the ground floor or will have to carry their bags upstairs.

I did not try the restaurant so can't comment on that.

The pod system delivered though - its a fiver and is very fast and on time.. so for that reason I would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: If you travel with loads of bags (or heavy ones) - get a downstairs room and always take some ear pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank R_G_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Thanks for your recent review.

I am pleased you found the hotels close location to Terminal five favourable. All POD ticket sales are collected on behalf of the operator. The hotel does not profit at all from these sales.

Next time your here you must check out the views of the Northern runway from the terrace next to the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow when you return to the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I had to find a hotel as my flight from T5 was cancelled. The hotel is not very from from T5 so that is good. The rooms are very small and extremely thin-walled you can hear every sound your neighbors are making. The hotel is not very fresh and it is really time for a major refurbishment. I tried room service and that was actually ok. One night in a case of emergency is ok but for any other reason I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Joakim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Many thanks for your comments

I am glad the hotel worked well as a stopover for you and you enjoyed room service.

Next time you stay speed up your journey to the airport by taking the POD. A recent guest timed their journey from reception to T5 at just 12 minutes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Its just in the flight path of the aeroplanes. Wouldn't have minded so much if I had been going on a plane but I wasn't. Fortunately we were only there for 1 night. The planes stop at 11 and my lighter sleeping colleagues couldn't sleep until then. The hotel is, otherwise, pretty bog standard. Dated. Tired. Probably a cheap option for those flying from Heathrow. Staff were friendly enough. Cant really say any more. Good or bad. I wouldn't stay here again if I could help it. It asks me about location - if you just want a quick transfer to Heathrow, its great. If you want pubs, shops, some sort of life. You wont get it.

Room Tip: I think they are all pretty much the same. I would try to avoid single rooms as I bet they are pokey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Thanks for your recent review.

I am pleased you thought the hotels close location to Terminal five favourable.

Next time your here you must check out the views of the Northern runway from the terrace next to the restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Drayton
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 5 Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
1.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel London Heathrow Airport
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Address: Bath Road, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Price Range: £44 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle London Heathrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all terminals, with direct access to Terminal 5 via the eco friendly Ultra POD network in 7 minutes. As well as boasting spectacular views of the northern runway and architectural splendor of terminal 5 from the hotel restaurant, terrace and bar. The Thistle London Heathrow is the ideal place to unwind whether you are flying off early or arriving late at night. Also because we're close to central London Thistle London Heathrow is a perfect venue for business meetings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thistle London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle London Heathrow West Drayton
Thistle Heathrow
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing