We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good views of the runway” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good views of the runway”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with a friend. The room was adequate and the beds were comfy. During the night the room became so hot it was difficult to sleep. It didn't help that the walls seemed to be quite thin and we could hear the very loud and inconsiderate people in the room next to us in the early hours of the morning. The bar and restaurant have fantastic views of the runway;we decided to get a drink and watch some of the planes take off. Drinks in the bar were very expensive...£7.25 for a glass of wine!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Many thanks for you comments.

I am pleased the hotel worked well for you, it’s really important that your stay represented value for money. Now we have increased our wifi speed so it’s superfast all over the hotel for free.

I am gald you had the opportunity to watch the planes landing on the northern runway at breakfast; this is one of the hotels best features. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    734
    713
    366
    316
See reviews for
281
881
344
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

We attended the ISBA convention in August along with several hundred other delegates. I have to say the way the hotel staff dealt with so many guest going to breakfast at the same time was amazing. the breakfast choice too was unbelievable. Everything you could with for and all help yourself to as much or little as you wanted. Room was clean and adequate, not luxury but for the price everything you would expect. Room came equipped with iron and board, hair dryer and tea/coffee facilities. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay and one i would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Stay at Thistle because breakfast is exceptional evening meal at Premier inn across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Many thanks for the great review.

The breakfast we have put a lot of work into getting right recently and increased the product offered quite considerably, I am pleased you liked everything. The viewing terrace is really a hidden gem and is taken advantage of by hotel residents and locals alike on a warm day with the views it’s great.

Check the thistle website directly to take advantage of our best available rates guarantee and online check in. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed at the Thistle hotel heathrow as I thought it would be a great hotel but sadly it wasn't !! The room was very tired mould in the bathroom ,huge crack on the ceiling and air conditioning not working properly , very noisey from 0230am and we asked for a quiet area of the hotel !! Breakfast was very good and the staff were very attentive but when we checked out we were almost overlooked by the male receptionist he didn't ask who was next and how our stay was. Was charged £10 for parking my car overnight and when we left all their barriers were open so not really very secure but a con for that charge .I wouldn't recommend this hotel go someone where else !!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry you had a poor experience, that’s never our intention. We have invested heavily in many areas of the hotel over the last year and will continue to do so.

We have a clear communication plan and all relevant feedback is passed onto the concerned department for their action.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed here before an early morning flight, catching the pods at 4am! We had been told there was "direct access to the pods" which is useful when travelling at this time with children - but found the pods are accessed by crossing the rear hotel car park, through an entry gate into the business car park, through the business car park and into the pod area (approx 7 minute walk with cases - but it was a cold 7 minutes!)

The hotel was functional. We had asked for a twin room with an extra bed on booking (plus a double) put despite reminding the staff at check in and being charged for the extra bed it wasn't in the room. It was then established that the third bed would not fit in the room allocated and the larger rooms were all out of service as the fire alarm wasn't working on that floor! The manager was very helpful and provided us with a second twin room at no extra cost.

The hotel was clean and the rooms small, but at the price paid with the convenience of the pods it was still the right choice for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T4Tinkerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Many thanks for you comments.

I am pleased the hotel worked well for you, it’s really important that your stay represented value for money. Now we have increased our wifi speed so it’s superfast all over the hotel for free.

I hope you had the opportunity to watch the planes landing on the northern runway at breakfast; this is one of the hotels best features. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle London Heathrow hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBAI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel from 5th July for 4 days. Its very convenient for people coming in from the Airport. Close to terminal 5. You can have some good views of the runway from the restaurant. The rooms are a bit congested, but clean. The city or central london is more than an hour. We had a coach which used to take us to the city, so i did not feel any difficulty. But even otherwise I know there is good connectivity by bus and the tube. We only had breakfast over here which was good. But the service of the restaurant staff was not upto the mark. Many of them could hardly speak English. But this did not bother us much. There is nothing close to the hotel. So incase you get back to the hotely a litter early, you can do nothing much. Ofcourse, you can go to the bar on the first floor, have a few drinks with a wonderful view of the runway.
overall a decent place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the reception as the restaurant and bar are just above it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHANKAR K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased you found the hotel represented value for money, being able to demonstrate integrity in our pricing model is important to us.

Next time you stay speed up your journey to the airport by taking the POD. A recent guest timed their journey from reception to T5 at just 12 minutes!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Booked this for the night I arrived in the UK after a long fight from Australia. When I got to the hotel, I could not get a coffee as the coffee bar had closed (9pm ish). Long long walk to my room which was very ordinary and small. Had breakfast the next morning, the food selection was good, but the service by the young girls was excellent. They were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissycb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Thanks for your review.

I am really glad you enjoyed the view of planes from the terrace. If they are landing on the Northern runway the views are fantastic.

Next time you are considering staying the area, please look at the thistle website direct and take advantage of our best rate guarantee and free online check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Good hotel we have been on our own and with a coach party here, better if you get one of the newer refurbished rooms, old ones not so good, the family rooms are nice , had a double bedroom then a corridor down to a another twin bedroom then a bathroom it was a bit like an apartment. The best thing about the hotel is the verandah where you can sit out and watch the planes as it's at the bottom of the runway you see them just as they leave the ground. Restaurant is nice as well.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, Manager at Thistle London Heathrow Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Thanks for your review.

I am really glad you enjoyed the view of planes from the terrace. If they are landing on the Northern runway the views are fantastic.

Next time you are considering staying the area, please look at the thistle website direct and take advantage of our best rate guarantee and free online check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Drayton
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport Terminal 5 Hotel
1.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle London Heathrow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle London Heathrow Hotel

Property: Thistle London Heathrow Hotel
Address: Bath Road, West Drayton UB7 0EQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > West Drayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in West Drayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thistle London Heathrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to all terminals, with direct access to Terminal 5 via the eco friendly Ultra POD network in 7 minutes. As well as boasting spectacular views of the northern runway and architectural splendor of terminal 5 from the hotel restaurant, terrace and bar. The Thistle London Heathrow is the ideal place to unwind whether you are flying off early or arriving late at night. Also because we're close to central London Thistle London Heathrow is a perfect venue for business meetings and other events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotelopia so you can book your Thistle London Heathrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle London Heathrow West Drayton
Thistle Heathrow
Thistle London Heathrow Hotel West Drayton, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing