We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
4
12
12
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
12
12
6
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed just one night as we travelled down to visit someone in hospital. The accommodation was basic but clean and acceptable. Everything was there for refreshments and a continental breakfast and the refrigerator was a boon in the hot weather. On the downside it was a problem to find and a sign up down the road would have been useful. There was no one about to check out. But we would use this hotel again as we often go down to Middlesex.

Room Tip: Many rooms are of a chalet type building on the ground floor, so no stairs to climb.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colombo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst attending a 40th wedding anniversary at the beginning of May. Set back from main road down a little country lane. No late evening reception. We had left our key in the room and there was no way of contacting anyone to let us in.

We managed to get in touch with a neighbour who was able to contact the proprietor who came to let us in, even though it was almost midnight, which was good of him. However, we could have ended up having to sleeping in the car, as there was no way of gaining access to our room otherwise.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millyanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the Riverside Hotel as it was close by to a Christening we were attending.
We checked it before 10pm as specified and were shown to our room.
The room was dated but it appeared clean. The mattress wasn't the most comfy and was a bit creaky but we slept fine.
Shower was clean but old and not very powerful.
There was tea and coffee in the rooms with biscuits. Long life milk only.
Breakfast was provided in the room and consisted of mediocre croissants, with sachets of butter and jam, cereal, yoghurts and cartons of orange juice.
We couldn't get wifi to work, but it was only one night so not too much of a problem.
Overall it was a functional hotel room, but not a 'treat' or a glamourous stay. I got the impression it was used by people who work in the area and need a relatively cheap place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a downstairs room which backed onto a canal. If you have young kids then maybe request a room further away from the water.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldfishimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I'm in agreement with all the other reviewers. A tired hotel that needs updating. The room was clean but shabby. Apart from the 'croissant' the rest of the continual breakfast was correct. Wouldn't stay there again if possible but for the price in that area, you wouldn't get much cheaper. I had the impression it was a pub with rooms. The landlord was pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my daughter have stayed here before. Very convenient for us. Yes the rd leading to the hotel is shocking but that's not the fault of this hotel.
Sometimes the guests in other rooms are loud in their rooms and outside but that's not the owners fault that's inconsiderate others stayers.

Rooms have always been clean. Nice continental breakfast. No car parking costs and very friendly owners. Will return soon.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews