We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a Wedding”
Review of The Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swan Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Midhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had the pleasure recently of staying at the The Swan Inn to celebrate the wedding of 2 of our friends.
It was just perfect. Great rooms, great hosts, great service and AMAZING food. The best roast beef I have ever tasted cooked to perfection.
Would most definitely return there for a drink and a meal if we are ever in the area again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maddysmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is a fantastic pub with multi-screen TV showing different sports in different bar areas. Landlady Jan works really hard to ensure the pub is well equipped for every visitor alike. A great effort which is much appreciated by customers. If you find yourself in Midhurst, this is the place to relax, hassle free, and wind down. Love it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maudestan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed at the Swan Inn for a visit at the GoodWood Revival 2013.
Very friendly staff, rooms nice and clean.
Fantastic hand pumped Ale!
15 minutes drive to Goodwood.
No disturbing traffic noise in the room.
Extremely helpful land lady.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tomakarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Myself and my friends stayed at the swann inn for a wedding in west sussex. All the staff were very friendly and accomodating to all our needs, offering advice about the local area. The pub has a great atmosphere and Jan the landlady was brilliant making us all feel like we were staying in a home from home. The rooms were clean and had exposed beams which were a nice feature inline with the rural setting. A full english breakfast set us up for the wedding day and helped cure our hangovers the next day! the rooms were great value for money and we would recommend the swann to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ross u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We booked The Swan, so we could visit Goodwood. When we arrived we were made most welcome. We were recommended to eat at The Wheatsheaf, which was having a BBQ and was good food and excellent value.
The breakfast at The Swan was great and we didn't need to eat at all during the day.
It was a very friendly pub and one to which we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I think the other reviews on here must have been written by the establishment as we booked based on the reviews and were extremely disappointed.

Our kettle was black with dirt inside the likes of which I've never seen, I've added photos of the filthy shower curtain that was growing so much bacteria it was about to walk out the door on its own, not to mention the mould inside the shower which I've also added photo of!

When I booked we told them we needed the room early and were told we could have it at 12:30 we arrived to find the pub under scaffolding and a builder outside the bedroom window burning paint off the windows creating horrible fumes and peering in whilst we got changed for a wedding at 2pm, when we complained we were told that check in wasn't till 2pm... So we had to get changed with the curtains shut!! We were also not told at the time of booking that the whole pub was under scaffolding or about the lack of any parking space nearby which with a baby made it extremely difficult getting all our gear in.

Breakfast in the morning was definitely not first class! Cheap sausages but worse was not a word was said to us about what was for breakfast, a fry up was just plonked infront of us, one of our group was allergic to beans and the server asked if they could just scrape them off the plate! Another hated tomatoes which were just left. Egg was just bought fried , no scrambled or poached offered. I think it's extremely poor not to ask what people might want to see on their breakfast plate in the morning especially given the number of people with allergies or aversions these days

We all got a terrible nights sleep as it soon became apparent that the pub was the local Mecca for the towns young drinkers who shouted and drank till 1am
Outside And the pub toilets saniflow system that kept pumping the toilets was so loud it could be heard on the 3rd floor bedroom!

This place seriously needs to pull its socks up or needs a visit from the hotel inspector!!! £75 was a joke for what we got and definitely not worth the money!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eggster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian V, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014

I'm sorry you have had a bad experience at the Swan in the past.

We would like to advise that The Swan Inn is now under new management and this review relates to previous occupants. Regrettably, whilst we have successfully made great improvements to the establishment (as more recent reviews will attest), older reviews like this one remain visible. A sad reminder of how things once were. Our aim is to ensure that our rooms are clean, comfortable and good value for money. Our food and our award-winning real ales are delightful. Hopefully one day you may revisit to see for yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Spent 2 nights at the swann. All staff very friendly and helpful creating a nice family atmosphere. Would definitely recommend it. Best breakfast in a long time.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bunkernut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Midhurst hotels
0.4 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Barn at Roundhurst
The Barn at Roundhurst
#1 of 16 in Midhurst
240 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Elsted Inn
The Elsted Inn
#1 of 1 in Elsted
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Midhurst Town House
The Midhurst Town House
#5 of 16 in Midhurst
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Inn

Address: Red Lion Street, Midhurst GU29 9PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Midhurst
Price Range: £78 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A country Inn with superb bar and 6 en-suite bedrooms. We are near all the restaurants and bars in Midhurst and a short stroll from the ruins of Cowdray Park. We are also in a great position if you are attending Goodwood. A perfect base for visiting Arundel and the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Inn Midhurst, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing