We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as previous reviews suggest” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Angel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Angel Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
Fareham, Hampshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not as good as previous reviews suggest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We recently stayed at The Angel for my wife’s birthday weekend. The hotel is pleasant enough with very attentive staff who offer a good level of service.

The hotel itself is a little 'worn' around the edges and is in need of a good clean in some of the communal areas as well as the rooms, which on a superficial glance look very clean and tidy, but on closer inspection are somewhat grubby in places. The heating in the room we had on the second floor was non existent and the shower would not stay at a constant temperature.

The bar was comfortable and not over priced with a good selection of drinks including locally brewed ales. The restaurant where we ate on the first night was pleasant, with a nice atmosphere and attentive service. The food was of a reasonable quality and served hot to the table.

Breakfast on our first morning was excellent, we both had the muffin with scrambled egg and salmon which we enjoyed. We asked for the same on our second morning and were bitterly disappointed. The chef had had a late night due to a private function in the hotel (which stopped us eating in the restaurant or using the bar facilities that night). The breakfast that arrived at our table on the second morning consisted of a dried omelette (highly overcooked scrambled egg) and a small portion of salmon on a dried out muffin (dry as opposed to toasted).

All in all, our stay at The Angel was OK, but we will not be returning. Having reviewed the standard prices for the hotel, we feel it is overpriced for what it is, we were fortunate to be staying there on a 'deal' which made the lapses more bearable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Make_It_A_Large_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    86
    41
    9
    13
See reviews for
35
147
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Have just returned from the one night Groupon offer.
We were so pleasantly surprised at what a wonderful stay we enjoyed.
Staff were so attentive and friendly. Room clean and offers all facilities needed. The food was faultless. My husband ordered the belly pork which arrived with the biggest piece of meat plus a pork chop as well!
We will check the web site for future offers and will definitely return.
A lovely stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinaa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basingstoke
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed overnight at The Angel on a Groupon deal. The service, comfort and meals were brilliant, particularly the latter. Good choice of food for dinner, with great chef, we would say. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardBasingstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Just back from a night away, wish we stayed for 2 nights.
From when we arrived we were treated so well, all the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
We had lunch then went to our room, lunch was very good, fab chips, our room was so clean as was the whole hotel.
Bar area looked very good and extremely comfy. Rooms large and well decorated and dining room very cosy, lovely big fire.
They had a new chef and we were a bit concerned as all previous reviews raved about the food. No need to worry this chef's food was amazing, we both enjoyed our meals, both different, my husbands chocolate fondant was great, my creme brûlée was one of the best I have had with homemade shortbread which was so light. All in all a great night, great staff. Only negative I could have at all and this is personal, no music in dining room in evening or breakfast, so very quiet, everyone was
talking so quietly. Would definitely recommend and hope to go back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank caz226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

My partner and I visited The Angel for our anniversary. We saw a deal for 2 nights stay with breakfast and 3 course dinner on Groupon and snapped it up.
We felt welcome from the moment we walked through the door, the staff were all too happy to help and nothing was too much trouble! All the staff were cheery and chatty and we had a good banter with them in the bar one evening.

We booked a Village room, the most basic of the 3 room types available. The room was a decent size, modernly decorated and most importantly very clean! Unfortunately, when we got into bed that evening, we found the mattress on one side was sunken. On closer inspection, it appeared that a couple of slacks in the base were broken. Being 1am, we were concerned there'd be no-one to inform, however we easily found the night porter and after checking the bed he apologized profusely and offered us another room. We felt we'd completely lucked out as the room we moved to was a suite! Again modernly decoration and clean with a cosy lounge area and a four poster bed! The next day we half expected to be moved into another village room in the thought that the suite was booked. But instead, the staff again apologized and informed us we could stay in the suite for the remainder of our stay.

We dined in the hotel restaurant one evening and had breakfast there both mornings. The food was delicious, with good portions sizes and a good selection for both meat eaters and vegetarians. The hotel bar has a great selection of spirits and wines and is very reasonably priced! There's comfy sofas and even a piano which we're told is played by a local pianist most Friday evenings.

The only criticism we had is the amount of light let in by the curtains in the bedroom. We woke both mornings not long after sunrise and it was difficult to get back to sleep with the light in the room. However the beds were comfy and it was a pleasure to just lay in bed and snooze.

We loved the mix of old and new style, the friendly atmosphere and the fabulous food. The hotel is in the center of the village and has a free car park and wifi for guests. The village itself is small with beautiful architecture and countless quirky shops and cafes.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going to Midhurst or just looking for a nice lazy break away.

Room Tip: Go for a suite, it's definitely worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leml0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The room we had was very nice and by the look of it recently refurbished. The staff were very friendly and it had the proper feel of a traditional coaching inn. The food was excellent.

All in all a great stay and for a very reasonable price too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibiza Town, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Despite arriving late with my wife, we were given a lovely welcome and a room to match (great 4-poster). The hotel is excellently located as a base for exploring this beautiful part of England. We decided to eat in the hotel on one night and the food was excellent, the ambience up-market without being overly posh and the service excellent and attentive. We cannot fault this place and will hopefully return next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a 4-poster!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 275Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midhurst
0.3 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
10.2 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
14.8 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Property: The Angel Inn
Address: North Street, Midhurst GU29 9DN, England (Formerly The Angel Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Restaurant and Hotel, ideally located in the centre of the old market town of Midhurst, West Sussex. It offers a unique blend of fresh, contemporary design while paying respect to the heritage of over 400 years of history.The recently fully refurbished hotel now offers 15 stunning bedrooms, a fine restaurant, a more informal coffee house and bar and private function room. Ideal for Goodwood, Cowdray Park, Petworth, Uppark, Chichester and South Downs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Midhurst
The Angel Inn Midhurst, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing