We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Angel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Angel Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Very enjoyable venue to celebrate our eldest Grandson reaching 18. Wonderful meal, very pleasant restaurant and exceptional service. A lively hotel with lots of character. Well worth a visit. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laketravellersSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    92
    42
    9
    13
See reviews for
38
149
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

d a great experience. The hotel is very Olde Worlde providing a good atmosphere, there are two good local ales behind the bar, the food was absolutely excellent, the rooms very comfortable and the staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

A very comfortable peaceful weekend with well prepared tasty British food locally sourced fish and an excellent Roast Beef lunch on Sunday, good local ales. The Hotel is located in the very center of Midhurst town....and the coffee...expertly brewed strong and delicious! if you only stop for a cup of coffee (in the comfortable leather couched lounge) you wont regret it! Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Angel Hotel at Midhurst is one of those lovely traditional Coaching Inns that are to be found in market towns across the country. At the time of my visit a grand array of pink petunias decorated the front of the hotel and drew the eye to the building, making the hotel stand out in the high street, and on entering it was pleasing to see that the bar interior has been agreeably decorated in restful but cooling shades of green which serves as a pleasant contrast for an eclectic choice of mirrors and prints and models of bicycles.

I visited at lunchtime, and there was a good selection of food on offer, with a choice from the ‘Summer Menu’, a Specials board and also a standard menu. With fresh oysters, crab, lobster, scallops, and mussels on the menus it is clear that the hotel has a good fishmonger and a chef confident with shellfish. So my party decided to start with seafood, and we weren’t disappointed. The fresh scallops served with crisp bacon pieces were perfectly cooked ‘a point’, and the steamed mussels were served accompanied by a delicious and subtly flavoured cream sauce.

For our main course we chose the fresh crab, served with a side salad, mayonnaise on the side and big fat juicy olives, the crispy duck salad served with a dipping bowl of hoisin sauce, and a generous bowl of vegetarian moussaka accompanied by really chunky crisp chips and a rocket and parmesan salad. We retired to the bar to take coffee, too replete to try the tempting dessert menu.

Any criticisms? Well there were a couple of mixed messages - with beautifully starched white tablecloths and good cutlery, the table settings reflect quality, but why was our order taken by an individual wearing scruffy black jeans and a top whereas all the other staff were well turned out? Also, once again relating to standard conventions, why not clear away any excess place settings when there are fewer diners than a table is laid for, rather than just leave a clutter on the table?

However, despite these points, altogether a pleasing lunch served in delightful surroundings. I look forward to my return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GastroSage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We very much enjoyed our Travelzoo night at the Angel. We invited some friends to join us for dinner, and had a very convivial evening - excellent food, and no pressure to leave our table until we were ready. There was a bit of a heat-wave while we were there, and our bedroom at the south end of the building was like sleeping in a storage radiator. However, that must be expected in such an old building. Our breakfast was fresh-cooked for us, and overall we were very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: In hot weather, keep clear of the south end of the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin_and_Kathy_Winc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked a stay at the Angel through Travelzoo. There were last minute changes to the restaurant menu which we were not happy about! When we arrived at the hotel we received a very warm welcome and were very pleased with the facilities. The room was a delight and the summer menu turned out to be excellent. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and attentive.

The hotel is in the centre of Midhurst which is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 5 at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johna2355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

If you need time out to be thoroughly spoiled, to sleep well in the softest bed linin and to dine well, your on worry being what to close from the dinner menu. I drank ate and slept like an empress. Was sorry to check out but will be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth Davidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midhurst
0.2 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
7.1 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
10.2 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pulborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
14.8 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Property: The Angel Inn
Address: North Street, Midhurst GU29 9DN, England (Formerly The Angel Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Restaurant and Hotel, ideally located in the centre of the old market town of Midhurst, West Sussex. It offers a unique blend of fresh, contemporary design while paying respect to the heritage of over 400 years of history.The recently fully refurbished hotel now offers 15 stunning bedrooms, a fine restaurant, a more informal coffee house and bar and private function room. Ideal for Goodwood, Cowdray Park, Petworth, Uppark, Chichester and South Downs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Midhurst
The Angel Inn Midhurst, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing