We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay but some details disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
Sandhurst
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good stay but some details disappointing”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I had an overnight stay at this hotel with dinner and breakfast. We've been coming to the Spread Eagle since 1985, mainly for Sunday lunch and have always enjoyed a high standard of service and food. We had no reason to not expect the same this time, but we were disapointed with the standard of cleanliness of our room for which we paid £50 extra to have the Courtyard Room with the four poster bed and olde worlde charm. Having checked in, we had a swim in the spa pool which was excellent and of high standard. Back at our room we left our swimming costumes over the edge of the bath to dry (a mini spin dryer in the spa would have been a nice touch) and some water drips went on the laminate floor. I proceeded to wipe the floor with some tissues and was horrifed at the amount of dirt and black hairs that were present on the tissues. We then check the rest of the bedroom and thick films of dust were on all of the surfaces. Also the carpet was worn to the canvas in one place and the bed spread was also worn through at the end of the bed. I immediately went to reception to explain our concerns and was given the key to The White room (also a four poster) and the transformation was amazing. So top marks for the recptionist for providing an alternative without a quibble. The other item that was really disappointing was the lack of white tablecloths in the dining room. All our previous visits over the past 27 years experienced crisp white table cloths that made this hotel one better than the next. The hard wood table tops gave this first class restaurant a pub-like feel and definitely not in keeping with its history. The dinner menu was quite lmited on main courses, but food was very good. Breakfast was excellent (thanks Mario). On checking out, the bill was overcharged by £70 but was instantly put right. I think that the only way to entice us back is to bring back the steak and kidney puddings that disapeared about 15 years ago..........another great loss!!! We do love this hotel but things just aren't what they used to be, shame. Mr & Mrs Gibson.

Room Tip: View the room first and do a quick cleanliness check
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith Wallace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for taking time to note down the issues and I am please our receptionist was alert, I apologise again for the issues. I have put these on priority.
The steak and kidney pudding is still available but in the 'pudding' season, however with this wretched weather we are experiencing it should be expected to be on the menu! The fires are roaring as I write. Nathan normally puts it on the menu from October.
Finally we are 580 years old they did not have table cloths then so perhaps we are returning to the old days! The decision to move to solid oak table tops was not taken lightly and much soul searching occurred. But needless to say your point is gratefully recieved.
Many thanks for the comments
With warm wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    240
    90
    41
    36
See reviews for
139
495
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

My fiancée took me here for a surprise birthday treat. We had a lovely room with a large four poster bed and a huge bathroom. The room was beautifully decorated in period decor, with modern touches blended well into the room to maintain its charm. The bed was so high off the ground it was funny watching my other half get in and out of bed! There were nice touches in the room, such as Spa quality products in the bathroom, and cookies in the room. What was annoying was that Champagne had been ordered to be in the room for arrival, and this was not there and we had to ask for it.

We had a very pricey cream tea at £18 each, which was nice, but not spectacular. The evening menu was disappointing with not a great variety on the main courses, although the starters were top notch, and the food was presented well and tasted good.

The service was poor in the restaurant. We had booked a table for eight, and upon arrival we we placed on a table next to another couple, when there were tables available that were more secluded. The bread we were given contained olives which we wern't told, and my fiancée hurt her tooth on an olive stone that she wasn't expecting. When we mentioned to the waiter, he replied "oh", and walked off and didn't mention it again. There was also a couple who arrived after us, whom my fiancée recognised from daytime TV but I didn't. It was annoying to see them get fawned over, and us almost ignored when we had paid a not insignificant sum to stay and eat here.

The redeeming feature of the hotel was the Spa which was very good, bit not sure I would agree with the five bubble rating of the Good Spa Guide. The pool was filled to the brim which created a lovely sound when you swam and the tiles were dark blue giving the pool an elegant and luxury feel. It was also good that children have restricted access to the pool to certain times, so you can relax. The Sauna, Steam room and jacuzzi were compact, which was fine as it was quite quiet, but this also made it nicer as we could chat and be intimate without others listening to what we were saying.

I had an excellent massage and the taster facial was very good. Apparently my skin looked great, I'm not sure that I could see that much of a difference personally, although it did feel good for a few days after.

Overall price for the overnight stay with 2.5 treatments, and all food and drink was nearly £600. Whilst we enjoyed it, we didn't feel that we got value for money. We would come back for the Spa, but not the hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the older part of the hotel, and standard rooms as we heard the staff upgrading people to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you for such an excellent review, I am so pleased you managed to try everything. So often our guest do not get the time, thank you.
The off points have been noted and we will correct them, so for the shortfalls. We can now better ourselves.
Our best and warm wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel was a family favourite in my childhood, and though I had forgotten details, the feel of the place was familiar when we stayed last night en route to Gatwick. The building and its surrounds are very much olde-worlde, the service willing and attentive, the menu innovative without being pretentious, the wine list fairly comprehensive including several house wines at GBP 22 a bottle (I managed to demolish two-thirds of a bottle of very passable Rioja with a succulent lamb main course) and the bar has a selection of drinkable Scotch whiskies. When in the UK, I firmly intend to make this a regular overnight watering hole.

Room Tip: Our room (25) looked on to the inner garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisGoddardRiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
I am pleased we still live up to expectation and even with slight change the best can still be seen. Thank you and looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Our stay at the Spread Eagle Hotel in Midhurst was just perfect! The hotel is lovely. We enjoyed it all - from the terrace where we dined outside one evening, to the conservatory, to the beautiful restaurant and bar that dates to 1430...(I think that is right!) we loved everything about this special place. Our guest room was very nice and had superb facilities. Everything is so tastefully done. The hotel's staff were all helpful and friendly. Combined with the wonderful town of Midhurst and the beautiful surrounding countryside where there is so much to, this stay was truly a special one for us. HIghly recommend

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanMoring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Truely wonderful, thank you my team are over the moon. We hope to see you both soon. Warm wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed here for two nights from Friday through to Sunday and had a wonderful time. The Queen's Suite was gorgeous and is one of the oldest parts to the hotel. It was just as we expected it. We had our wedding at the Walled Garden in Midhurst and the staff at the hotel were incredibly helpful with all sorts of things. We will most certainly come back and would stay in the Queen's Suite again without hesitation. We had quite a few other guests staying at the hotel who loved their rooms as we did. We all loved the food too- absolutely delicious and spot on. The staff were extremely accommodating. They produced a level of service that went above and beyond. Thank you enormously- we shall be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonata19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
What a party you had, such fun to be involved with. We hope you are having a great break together, looking forward to welcoming you all back. All our wishes and congratulations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The Spread Eagle is a charming hotel in a beautiful setting. The higgledy-piggledy building has plenty of history and character, and our room (priced as standard) was simply lovely – tastefully decorated and furnished to suit the period of the building. The hotel has nooks and crannies to explore and hide away in whatever the weather – we were there on a beautiful sunny weekend, and the conservatory/terrace was an idyllic place to sit and sip a beer. The spa is relatively small – swimming pool, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi – but perfect for whiling away a few hours getting alternately hot, cold, wet and dry. My wife and I both had fabulous facials. Dinner in the restaurant is very good rather than outstanding, but we were so delighted by the hotel that very good was good enough for us. Breakfast the following morning was as good as I have ever had – a brilliant full English and a generous buffet. The best part of the overall stay was the friendliness of every single member of staff in the hotel, spa and restaurant. They really did go out of their way to make us feel welcome. This is the first TripAdvisor review I've ever written, and it's my way of saying thanks to everyone at the Spread Eagle. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
We are delighted that you had a great time, it will be wonderful to see you back soon. Warmest wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed here for two nights pre and post the Pink Ribbon Walk. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast freshly cooked and buffet/continental available too. Dinner limited menu, but there are other options for dinner in the town. Ample parking, lovely veranda and courtyards to sit and eat or just sit and be. Room was clean only comment we stayed in the Montague room and the shower and loo were in one part and the wash basin in another, both hidden behind wood panelling. Nice products in the shower room, so don't understand previous review. Probably one of the best massages I have had, very welcome after the walk the previous day. Spa comprises pool, jacuzzi, steam room seating indoors near the pool with lots of magazines to browse & limited outside seating area. Range of treatments. Robe, towel and towelling slippers provided as well as shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and boy lotion all Ren products - very nice. Friendly staff throughout our stay - Thank you

Room Tip: Avoid room 7 if you want a lie the double glazing was and it was very noisy on the street delivery v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firsttimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for your kind words - well done on raising so much money. It was a joy to be part of it with you. See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midhurst
2.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
14.7 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,018 reviews
20.7 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
277 reviews
11.9 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
12.4 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa

Property: The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Address: South Street, Midhurst GU29 9NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SPREAD EAGLE HOTEL & SPA IN MIDHURST is one of England's oldest coaching inns in the heart of the South Downs. The 15th-century Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa welcomes you with a fine blend of traditional charm and contemporary comfort. Nestling in the historic town of Midhurst, it's the perfect setting to explore the beauty of West Sussex, swim, spa and experience fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spread Eagle Midhurst
Hotel Spread Eagle
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa Midhurst, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing