We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place of elegance and beauty upheld by the wonderful staff and ambience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place of elegance and beauty upheld by the wonderful staff and ambience.”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

My husband and I first stayed here before our marriage, and have subsequently spent many further glorious and tranquil visits. We are delighted to return in a couple of weeks for our 10th Wedding Anniversary.
Everytime we have stayed at the hotel, the staff have excelled in every way to personalise our stay to fit our needs and requirements. We have recommended the hotel to many friends and family members who all have concurred with our love for this hotel.
Many thanks to staff and hotel management for maintaining a quintessential english hotel

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and well presented but splash out on an occasion and go for the White Room or an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Many many thanks wonderful to have you back again. I am so pleased we are still up there with everyone else.
Looking forward to the next visit.
Our warmest wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    237
    85
    41
    36
See reviews for
137
486
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed here on a boiling hot May weekend and had a really good time. The hotel staff were all super and very accomodating. A couple of nights was enough for us, but we made the most of the facilities and its a good place if you fancy a break from London for the weekend. Its very old and traditional so if you like uber sleek and modern/minimalist hotels, then this may not be for you, but we found it charming and very relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonlabrador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for the comments and understanding the Spread Eagle experience. Looking forward to seeing you soon. Warm wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed two nights in July. Lovely older-style hotel, nice room, bed, bath etc. super indoor pool. Downside is willing but not well trained staff serving basic quality pub type food at inflated upmarket prices! Stay, enjoy, but eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask where the room is situated if stairs are a problem for you.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 185DavidL185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thank you for the kind comments. As I said to you I want to make amends and prove we are better than mentioned. I hope you have time soon to return and for us to regain your understanding in keeping with the rest of the hotel. Our warm wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felpham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I visited he hotel earlier this year and felt I should come back for another meal as it was so good earlier on in February.
My review was submitted to praise the hotel and food.
It was not the same place, there is severe shortage of staff and the menu was very poor, not even a hot soup on the menu.
I ordered a steak asked for it rare it came as a tough piece of shoe leather with no vegatables I asked to have the lamb instead which was also over cooked and deep fried.
My partner dinner was not much better and we had so looked forward to having a repeat dinner of the standard we had previously.
The menu needs to be sorted out very poor choice and get some more staff who are trained.
I will certainly not be returning for food here, the hotel itself yes.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna88402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Please contact me directly - had I known about this at the time I would have corrected immediately. I take a great deal of pride dealing with complaints personally.
We have our summer menu at present and have never served hot soup at this time of year. I agree the weather has been a little tricky of recent.
Our beef is supplied by a local farm and they are on their way to me now. to carry out a full investigation.
The lamb is three different cuts and cooked in three different ways, one slow cooked, one deep fried and one pan fried.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We recently stayed for two nights in this very old hotel with a very modern spa. The hotel itself is extremely characterful due to the age of the property and I can understand some of the comments regarding the bathroom, we did not have a shower as such, only a hand held one in the bath, which possibly should be advised before booking, but if you go for a swim the showers etc in there are great so not too much of a problem. All of the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and more than happy to help with anything required. I asked for an iron and it was delivered to my room absolutely immediately!
The only comment I would make was that there did not seem to be any system at breakfast for the staff knowing whether or not your order had been taken, Breakfast was busy as warned in the literature in your room so there was a bit of a wait, for some longer than others due to the ad hoc ordering. Not too much of a problem unless you are in a hurry.
Lovely cookies!

Room Tip: Ask what facilities are in the room as they all appear to be different i.e. bath, bath with fixed sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for the kind comments and the constructive amendment needed at breakfast. I know exactly what happened and I have spoken to all concerned, they must not leave it to one person! I hope the 'Italian man' did not sing too loudly.
Our warm wishes and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We only had one night here but would loved to have stayed longer. Its a beautiful hotel and the atmosphere was lovely. Our room was the garden room and we were very comfortable. The bathroom wasn't great but they rarely are in these old English hotels - they simply can't do showers! We had dinner with a group of friends and family and thought the food was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Point noted about the shower, we have some work to do. Thank you for the great comments we hope to see you soon, though it may be a bit far?
Sun is out warm weather on its way, thankfully. Our best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We recently spent a couple of nights at the Spread Eagle on a great dinner, bed and breakfast deal. The hotel is charming and our four poster room was very comfortable, despite the quirky floorboards. However the carpet was very shabby and stained which let it down a little. The dining ambience on the first night and morning were lovely, with a fabulous young waiter who was polite and attentive. However the food was only average and certainly not to the standard I’d expect for the prices. If we weren’t on a deal it certainly wouldn’t have been worth the money.

Additionally, it was only possible to get sandwiches on room service if the restaurant wasn’t open. For a hotel of this class I expected better.

On the second night and morning the dining room was considerably busier but not excessively so. However, we felt rushed through our evening meal, with wine glasses being overfilled, and wine slopped over the side as if the waiter couldn’t wait to get rid of us. The following morning my partner’s breakfast plate was whipped away whilst I was still eating - and mine was subsequently removed whilst I was still chewing my last mouthful!

For a relaxing break, I came away not as relaxed as I could have been, having stayed in less prestigious establishments but treated better. I must single out the bar manager lady as being absolutely WONDERFUL though, with a pleasant manner, lovely sense of humour and great customer service. She is an absolute gem. The spa facilities are adequate but changing rooms very small for more than 6 people at a time. All in all, the hotel is delightful but I would expect better food and less rushed service for the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to note down the inconsistencies, it is vey much appreciated and we have all sat down this morning and been through the drop off's in food service. Not normal and I will bring it back to standard.
The lady in the bar has already read this and is over the moon thank you. Thank you also for the other positve points they are appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midhurst
2.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
14.6 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,007 reviews
20.7 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
272 reviews
11.8 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
8.1 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa

Property: The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Address: South Street, Midhurst GU29 9NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SPREAD EAGLE HOTEL & SPA IN MIDHURST is one of England's oldest coaching inns in the heart of the South Downs. The 15th-century Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa welcomes you with a fine blend of traditional charm and contemporary comfort. Nestling in the historic town of Midhurst, it's the perfect setting to explore the beauty of West Sussex, swim, spa and experience fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spread Eagle Midhurst
Hotel Spread Eagle
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa Midhurst, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing