We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterful hotel,staff on reception need some training.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
Reviewed 6 October 2012

First the good points,interesting characterful hotel with good spa,and helpful staff there. Good Breakfast with swift service lovely selection of fresh fruit,good quality Juice and yogurt and hot breakfast. Not so good points reception staff- we stayed for a wedding and when we arrived it was pouring with rain our room was across the rd from the hotel. Reception did not give good enough directions and we walked the wrong way, we could not open the door as these are not standard doors so another trip to reception again. luckily the wedding coordinator helped us out on both occasions but he shouldn't have too!. Your receptionists need to not assume people know their way around or can guess how to open non standard doors. If reception can't be bothered give customers a note on or with the key. On check out again we wasn't asked if everything was OK. I think retraining or some training is required. I am sure you must get some foreign tourists being in an historic area and they definitely would expect better than this. The room was dusty and no heating came on during our stay as it is October it was cold. But it was another thing late at night and only the night porter was on so I didn't bother him. One other thing that wasn't great was the bar service I had to leave the bar to go to reception to pay for drinks leaving said drinks on the bar. This was because I wanted to pay by credit card as your drinks are a little pricey. I was staying at the hotel so surely you could have put them on my room bill.

Room Tip: Rooms across the road in the annex can be noisy from the pub behind on the weekend and because you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Thank you for the comments, I have a meeting with the staff members this morning to better our hospitality. I am sorry for the difficulties not normal circumstances for us but I will rectify them immediately. The radiators thermostat needed to be turned, I have spoken to our housekeepers to ensure they are turned on a touch. All ours wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

We booked in for a 1 night 'A la Carte Frenzy' deal on Saturday night. We had previously stayed twice at the hotel over the last 10 years and loved it!

Our room was in the old building with a 4-poster bed and was excellent.

Things really only went down-hill when we went down for our evening meal. It really felt like the hotel had dispensed with it's chef and cost-cutting had swept through the kitchen / food.
We were presented with an all day menu, rather than a personalised chef-driven a la carte menu. When we asked if this was normal - we were told that the hotel had decided to offer the a la carte menu all day...........really!!.......afternoon tea, sandwiches, and 'in-betweeners' on the menu?? There were only 4 true starters and the same for the desserts.....and overall I think you would get a better and more interesting choice at a typical chain pub. I also wondered how often the menu changes?

We had some nibbles and a main course each and shared some cheese and biscuits. The mains were fine (although nothing special) and the cheese course was embarrassing...........no garnishes and a pile of branded water biscuits. I was glad that we had not been tempted to have any other courses. On previous visits the restaurant has been full, with a reasonable proportion of locals eating, they were noticeably absent this time.

Breakfast - my wife had the kipper with lemon, but had to ask for another piece of lemon from which you could feasibly get some juice. The full english came out luke-warm, the sausage did not taste of any quality and it felt like every ingredient had been counted out!

Please note that on our previous visits the food experience has been excellent and really added to the great assets that this hotel undoubtedly has. Our disappointment is therefore driven by our comparisons to previous stays and we felt the deal we had, was now poor value as a result.

We will hopefully come back one day, but not until we are certain that the food has been re-vamped. I also hope that what we encountered has not been replicated at the sister hotels?

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

I thank you for the kind comments of the room. I am so sorry you felt the need to publish this especially as we were corresponding about it together to get a resolution and understanding of what we are trying to accomplish. Our wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

On a Sunday night break we found this hotel ideal. It is located in the centre of a small Sussex town and is well appointed as regards room quality and a modest sized but good quality spa.
The staff were chirpy and there was a generally happy, relaxed atmosphere.

The restaurant was perhaps the highlight offering food of a high quality beyond that which I had expected: good ingredients and professional cooking although not cheap. the menu is a la carte only and so it is possible to select according to pocket as well as taste.

Overall our experience was really enjoyable and we will most definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room (Oak) was a good size, quiet and well equipped. Suggest you telephone to discuss any need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Any thanks for the kind words, they are really appreciated. We look forward to seeing you soon, shame about the weather but the fires are now all lit. Warm wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Having stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions we were very dissappointed with our visit this time and will not be going back. The food and restaurant were good but the room was tired and in need of redecoration. There was also a house keeping problem as biscuits had to be requested on both days of our stay. Also a mess up on the booking resulted in me having a rather large amount debited to my account without the apology from them for getting it wrong.

Room Tip: Difficult unless it has been redecorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

I am sorry about the issues thank you for the kind comments. I was saddened to read about the mess up and would be grateful if you could contact me directly. This is not a normal occurence. It is a shame it has taken a little while for this to filter through. Our warm wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We have been to the Spread Eagle a few times over the years; recently, we went and booked the Queens suite as a treat for the 2 of us; unfortunately childcare let us down and we ended up going with 3 of our children!

The hotel were great as ever, and accommodated them with z-beds with nothing being too much trouble (I would suggest at the price for the Queen Suite that it shouldn't be!). Notwithstanding that, it is a wonderful room with annexe/sitting area, and in a lovely part of the hotel.

My fiance had treatments at the spa, and the children and I occupied ourselves in the swimming pool.

All in all, the hotel is a lovely place to spend some relaxed time, lovely staff, lovely food and worth the occasional splurge!

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Queens Suite is special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antonioandgemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

We are so happy that you had a good time and the Queens Suite provided some rest bite. Great to see you again looking forward to the next. All our wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I treated our grand daughter to a stay and visit to the spa, she lives in London so it was a chance to catch up. We had a wonderful stay. A pretty twin bedded room at the top of the house. Our light lunch in the bar was well served, nothing was too much trouble. We relaxed in the spa. Dinner was delicious, vegetarian options really enjoyed by my grand daughter. We slept well and had a relaxing breakfast before we departed, we agreed we would be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Such pleasing comments - thank you do come back soon. Best wishes to you both

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

A family dinner was the occasion, the evening before a day at The Goodwood Revival meeting.

This was our first visit, but not that of our son who had raved about this restaurant before and who was treating us on this occasion. Could it be that good ? It certainly could and indeed it was.

Drinks were taken in a wonderfully atmospheric and comfortable beamed bar, served by exceptionally friendly and attentive staff and menus accompanied the drinks giving ample time to peruse the choices available.

On first appearances the menu appeared to be a little limited but after studying it for a while it was immediately apparent that there were adequate items on the menu to choose from. Also available at the time of our visit was a 'Revival Special' menu which added to the dishes available.

Drinks consumed, we were led to our table in the rather formal looking dining room and soon after taking our seats and having our serviettes place on our laps, always a service I believe is carrying the formality too far, the wine and then our food were brought to the table.

If the serviette placing was formality taken a little too far everything else about the evening was totally relaxed. The food arrived promptly, the service was efficiently watched over with military precision by the restaurant team and it was presented wonderfully and was also of exquisite taste.

No hesitation here, can we please go again and next time we'll even pay, just to repeat the experience.

Room Tip: Restaurant review only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Papabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Wonderful great to see new generations. Thank you for the kind and honest observations. Look forward to seeing you soon. Warm wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midhurst
2.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
20.7 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,688 reviews
14.7 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
287 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
1,578 reviews
10.2 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa

Address: South Street, Midhurst GU29 9NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
Price Range: £111 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SPREAD EAGLE HOTEL & SPA IN MIDHURST is one of England's oldest coaching inns in the heart of the South Downs. The 15th-century Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa welcomes you with a fine blend of traditional charm and contemporary comfort. Nestling in the historic town of Midhurst, it's the perfect setting to explore the beauty of West Sussex, swim, spa and experience fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spread Eagle Midhurst
Hotel Spread Eagle
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa Midhurst, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing