We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My friend and I stayed here for one night, very comfortable twin room on the first floor. Good size bathroom with bath and shower. Very clean. Staff when checking in were very friendly and helpful. Dinner in the evening in the Restaurant was included as part of the price that we had paid for the night.(£108.00 each) This was for Dinner, bed and breakfast and a bottle of champagne in the room. There was an allocation of £35 for dinner which was more than sufficient for us having two courses each. Service was again good and the food also. We both had a treatment in the Spa which was very enjoyable. The Spa area is not big, I think there were 3 treatment rooms, there was a pool and some seating around the pool Have to admit did not look to see if there was a Sauna or Steam Room. The only down side for us was that we had very noisy people in the room next door but this cannot be blamed on the hotel, who were very apologetic when we commented on it when checking out. Midhurst is a small town, very attractive and easy to walk round.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for the comments, it was a good and enjoyable weekend for all staying and dining. We look forward to seeing you soon. Warmest wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

600 - 606 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

I First came here 20 odd years ago when my children were small and we were looking to relocate. The children adored our stay there and lapped up the attention they received. Especially supper delivered in bed whilst watching a movie and mum and dad eating in the restaurant downstairs and it hasn't changed a bit. That's why I like it, - it's so English. I can do modern and I love it but there is nowhere like The Spread Eagle to unwind with a coffee or lunch, with or without friends and a newspaper. It has a lovely conservatory, it is relaxing and comfortable and serves excellent coffee and food, the staff are charming and a the location great. Took some friends from Paris recently for lunch predictably they had something with melted Brie, - they adored it. Bring back the lunch special prices.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Great to see you back, thank you and see you sooner this time, warmest wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stayed here a couple of years ago and find the hotel very relaxing and love the creaking floor boards and quirky ornaments around the hotel. The food is good and a plentiful breakfast. Some of the staff have been there years and the lady in the bar is very attentive.
My only negative comment is that the spa needs an overhaul. I mentioned this last time and they have since changed the products to Temple Spa,which is a shame as Elemis and other top brands were offered before. The treatment rooms are small and noisy as they are right nex tto the reception area, and the decor is burgundy with light turqoise towels which is outdated and not relaxing. The swimming pool area needs a bit of painiting in areas.
Overall, I love staying here as it is a hotel with spa facilites rather than a 'spa' hotel and it is unpretentious.and relaxing. Bring back Elemis & update your treatment rooms though!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for the comments we will look into this immediately, it is always of value to us comments such as these and we take them seriously. Our warm wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Our stay didn't start well as staff on reception were not attentive and felt like we were a distraction to them. Taken to the room which was cold, girl said that the only heater was a plug in one and was on full. Bar experience although pleasant i have never seen such a poorly stocked bar in a luxury hotel. Food very good and restaurant setting warm and cosy but let down by sad faced and unattentive staff.
Checking out was a farce as it took the receptionist three attempts to get the bill corect, would we come back? No not unless standards improve.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 77Dandelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your comments, I would be grateful if you could contact me directly as I wish to resolve the issues and understand more about your points. This is not our standard and I wish to correct it immediately. Our warm wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is a wonderful hotel in a picturesque british village.
The house is very nice.
Staff isn't very friendly, they are not helpfull and not very welcoming.
Rooms are expensive but small.
Food is very nice and the spa is perfect.
The smiling faces are missing - what sahme in such a perfect and wonderful place.
The owner / manager is sitting in his office not even saying hello or thank you.
We might be back one day...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COKandersteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for the comments, such a shame it has taken so long to come through. Our wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My friend and I booked a girly weekend at the hotel and had a simply wonderful time. We were in a gorgeous bedroom and we both just felt all our troubles melt away when we put our bags down and had a cuppa in the room. The decor was delightful, fresh and full of lovely little homely touches. There was a good range of beverages, some lovely biscuits, including some freshly baked gluten-free ones delivered especially. The complimentary toiletries are Temple Spa which are absolutely heavenly. The beds were so comfy that I, who normally struggles to sleep first night in a strange bed, just drifted off immediately. The bar and restaurant in the oldest part of the building have to be seen, and sampled at first hand, to fully appreciate them. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was delicious and perfectly cooked - we had seabass and it was moist and tender. We also used the spa which had a range of very nice treatments and again had the Temple Spa products. We also used the pool which was clean and clearly well-kept. When in the bar, we were chatting to others who come on a regular basis to unwind, and we could see exactly why. We loved it and will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileenrosem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Great to see you both and such fun with all the turbulence going on around us. Looking forward to seeing you soon for another tranquil night's sleep. Warm wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Although we live in Midhurst, just 5 minutes away, we had both said it would be a lovely thing to stay there at some stage as it is such an old and charming place set in the heart of Midhurst.

As a surprise for my husband as a thank you gift, I contacted the hotel who talked me through the various options available on their special deals. I settled on the RRR package which included breakfast and an allowance for dinner and also an allowance for a treatment for each of us in the spa. Nothing was too much trouble for the receptionist who made sure that I understood which package was the most suitable and gave me information on the type of room that I wanted.

We were welcomed on our arrival and shown to our room after checking that we had made a reservation for dinner that evening. As a special treat I had decided to book The White Room, but as the Queens suite was unoccupied ,we were upgraded to enjoy that room. It did not disappoint.

A big and comfortable 4 poster bed sat in the huge bedroom but we did have to laugh as walking from one side of the room to the other dips in the floor had to be negotiated. Yes, this hotel is old with a history and although parts have been upgraded over the years it has kept so much of the original features, which include very uneven floors. The bathroom was large and with character but also has the mod cons of a shower cubicle for which we were grateful.

Big roaring fires were lit in the lounge where we sat for drinks, so cosy and a lovely atmosphere despite being a quiet Monday. A great way to sit for an hour or so relaxing before we went to the spa for our treatments as it was cold and damp outside.

Both of us were more than happy with our therapists, and one thing that impressed us when we completed our questionnaire before the treatment was, that we were asked if we wanted an hour of total relaxation in peaceful silence, or if we wanted a friendly chatty hour, so impressed with that small, but important issue as many a time we have wanted just to drift with our own thoughts but have had chatty therapists that we had no wish to offend.

Dinner was a pleasure, a choice of local produce served with a smile . We decided to forego dessert to go back to the open fire to relax with a nightcap before bed, but the restaurant manager was quick to ask if everything was Ok as we had not ordered dessert, we had to reassure him that all was well, we were just too full from the lovely dinner to enjoy more. Happy with our reply he followed us to take our order.

Breakfast was served in the morning which again was enjoyed, except unfortunately for the coffee which was not to my taste, but I made up for that with delicious fresh tasting orange juice.

We had a lovely stay there and would recommend the place to anyone as especially it is so near to The South Downs and of course Chichester and Goodwood, there are many places to explore nearby. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures on the website, not sure if I would have been happy with just an ordinary room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hurstpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you, wonderful to have you here. A reminder for all that we are open to our local residents as well as Midhurst visitors. We look forward to seeing you soon our warmest wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midhurst
2.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
14.7 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,684 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
1,577 reviews
11.9 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa

Address: South Street, Midhurst GU29 9NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
Price Range: £113 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SPREAD EAGLE HOTEL & SPA IN MIDHURST is one of England's oldest coaching inns in the heart of the South Downs. The 15th-century Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa welcomes you with a fine blend of traditional charm and contemporary comfort. Nestling in the historic town of Midhurst, it's the perfect setting to explore the beauty of West Sussex, swim, spa and experience fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spread Eagle Midhurst
Hotel Spread Eagle
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa Midhurst, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing