We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing night away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
South Coast England
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing night away”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

In an effort to escape our teenage children, we booked a night away at this lovely, quiet hotel. From the moment we arrived, to when we left, we were impressed by the warmth of the welcome and levels of service. This is a lovely place to escape to for a weekend. The spa is clean and relaxing. Although we didn't have any treatments, we spent time in the pool, sauna and steam rooms. We ate in the hotel in the evening - the food was very good. The steaks were tender and perfectly cooked and the deserts were also very good. Breakfast was a positive feast - with delicious locally sourced produce.
Our room was overlooking the road and I was a little concerned that it may have been noisy - but it wasn't an issue. The bed was a four poster and a little bit short but comfortable non the less. The best bit (in my opinion) was the huge bathroom with a freestanding bath. It seemed very luxurious. I agree with one of the other reviews - the floors are a bit creaky and un-even, but this is a 400 year old building and for me, it was part of the charm.
I definitely recommend escaping to this hotel for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaveDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for the comments and opinions I really appreciate them. We hope your teenagers will force you here again! We look forward to seeing you both soon our best and warmest wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    237
    85
    41
    36
See reviews for
137
486
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful overnight stay at the Spread Eagle. This was an early celebration of our wedding anniversary next month. The young lady on Reception was polite and helpful and made us feel welcome.

Although smallish our room was quaint and charming with all the facilities we needed. The bathroom clean and well equipped with fluffy towels and quality toiletries.

The temperature of the pool and Jacuzzi, water and air, was perfect - not an easy thing to achieve. The atmosphere was relaxing and the staff again very pleasant and helpful. One small point, a spinner in the changing rooms to dry off soggy swimwear would have been appreciated.

Our dinner in the restaurant was delicious and the service outstanding. The staff were courteous and helpful and considering the youth of our waitress well trained. She kindly brought with a smile extra cutlery for my husband who has Parkinson's although it was a busy moment. The timing of each course was well thought out and considerate. Who wants, as happens in some other less caring establishments, on a special night out, speedy service with the plate whisked away the minute cutlery is put down and the next course thrown in front of them? Being asked if we were ready for the next course was appreciated.

A special mention has to go to Horace who was the perfect gentleman and an great asset to the hotel. He came immediately to my husband's rescue during a brief moment of mobility malfunction in a discreet and caring manner. I understand he also helped my husband with some information for a special surprise - yet to be discovered.

We will definitely return, hopefully for a longer stay in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Some rooms in the eaves up steep staircase so check if location of room if you have any mobility pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
It was so good to hear that the two of you had such a relaxing time, thank you for the kind comments and on surroundings and service, we loved having you here and look forward to seeing you very soon. Warmest wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I booked a table here for my parents 80th birthdays, and from the moment we arrived in the car park I was impressed. As we were getting my father out of the car into a wheelchair the restaurant manager was bringing out the ramps to get up the steps and kindly waiting for us. I could not fault the service throughout the meal, very attentive without being overbearing, the menu offered a well balanced range of dishes all cooked to perfection. The big surprise was the bill of £220, which for 5 people having 3 course meals and coffee and wine I thought was very reasonable. If you are looking for a bit of perfect old world service in a fantastic setting then you can't go wrong with The Spread Eagle

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisT485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Excellent thank you. We are looking forward to welcoming you all soon. Our warmest wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here over the weekend of our wedding (which was at a different venue) and had a fabulous stay.

Prior to our stay I had quite a lot of contact with the hotel as we had a large group to organise and the customer service we received was excellent from the start. The hotel were able to make special arrangements for us with the rooms we required, save parking spaces for us and even set up a special dinner menu for us (at no extra cost) for the first night of our stay.

I stayed in the Queens suite (and got ready for my wedding in the morning there) which was a beautiful suite and worth splashing out on for a special occasion. The only complaint I would have about this room is that it is directly over the bar and you could hear noise from the bar clearly through the floor (but then the building is hundreds of years old so this should be expected I guess).

Our room and the hotel in general was clean, and we enjoyed using the spa facilities. We liked the olde-world charm of the hotel and would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotteamy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and kind words and observations. Looking for to seeing you soon our warm wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
climping
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Emma and Horace,


We write to you both to say a massive thankyou for making our day so special.To you emma for organising everything so very well in advance and ensuring everything went to plan and thinking of all those small things which would never have occurred to us.....like cutting the cake before we sat down!!!!!! And for the lovely flowers in the ceremony room, the menus and seating plan.

Horace...what a completely and utterly amazing guy...... the day was so totally made by you. Nothing was too much trouble, everything was done with a smile on your face and ALL our guests without exception commented. You calmed me before coming into the ceremony room and of course we both LOVED the special rum punch you made us.You are a true gentleman and we will never forget you. Thankyou.


Thanks must go too for all those behind the scenes..... Horace your wife I believe was working in the bar area which we did not realise immediately. Please pass on our thanks ( what a beautiful lady too). And of course big thanks to the chef...... whilst for him 28 might not have been a large number, cooking fo so many at once to the standard he produced was very good indeed.

The accomodation without exception was spotlessly clean and the breakfast to die for. We made us of the pool, jaccuzzi and steam room and treated ourselves to a treatment too....all excellent.

In all we had a terrific day and some special memories forever. We will be sure to book again with you either for lunch or perhaps one day our anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadesClimping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
What a great and happy day, thank you for your kind comment everyone really enjoyed helping you have a good send off. We look forward to seeing you all soon. Congratulations and our warmest wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

If thought of as a charming olde inn with quality dining thrown in The Spreadeagle certainly stacks up. However I would question its spa credentials. It's much better to think of the spa as a nice bonus rather than a reason to go to The Spreadeagle altogether - other establishments nearby would much better serve you.

Having said that, the room are charming, staff friendly the dining enjoyable and relaxed.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Squaremeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Many thanks for the kind comments, we are going through some changes shortly in the spa to better the appearances I think you will find these pleasantly surprising. We look forward to seeing you soon. Warm wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Took a two night break at this historic hotel, amazing history and parts of the building date back to 1430. From when we arrived until we left all the staff were attentive and went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one. We had dinner both nights in the restaurant and Damien and his team were brilliant. Suzie had the Cheese Souffle which was out of this world, best ever apparently. Marcos and Sherrie in the bar were great and the open fire and vintage port very enjoyable. We used the spa for treatments and again compliments to the team..we left feeling very relaxed. Reception were very efficient and sorted our taxi to the airport. All in all couldn't fault the hotel in any way. Try for the Queen's Room..Definitely worth it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rwarham-via
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3EDJ, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Many thanks for the kind and generous comments, wonderful to see you both and looking forward to seeing you soon. Warm wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midhurst
2.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
14.6 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,007 reviews
20.7 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
272 reviews
11.8 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
8.1 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa

Property: The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Address: South Street, Midhurst GU29 9NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SPREAD EAGLE HOTEL & SPA IN MIDHURST is one of England's oldest coaching inns in the heart of the South Downs. The 15th-century Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa welcomes you with a fine blend of traditional charm and contemporary comfort. Nestling in the historic town of Midhurst, it's the perfect setting to explore the beauty of West Sussex, swim, spa and experience fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spread Eagle Midhurst
Hotel Spread Eagle
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa Midhurst, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing