We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
£210
Fully refundable before Thu, 7 Mar
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
£210
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
£210
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,495)
Filter reviews
1,495 results
Traveller rating
870
376
137
64
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
870
376
137
64
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic hotel lounge bar four poster bed steam room and sauna jacobean hall relaxing break afternoon tea lovely hotel course dinner steeped in history cream tea cooked breakfast south downs a lovely stay lovely room full english overnight stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,495 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2023

Great hotel if you are traveling with your dog. Table set up in the lounge so we could dine with ours. Roaring fires, great breakfast and lovely warm swimming pool, perfect for a luxury break in chilly November! Staff can’t do enough for you and Meredith on reception was a star. One suggestion, a nice touch would be to include coffee on the set dinner menu.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lulu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2023

We had a wonderful stay for 2 nights. The service was amazing. Sarah and her team are welcoming, friendly and attentive, they work so hard to make guests feel nothing is too much trouble.the room was comfortable, great shower and Temple Spa products a plenty. We ate breakfast and evening meal which were both delicious. We also had tea with scones which were perfect.
This hotel is special and we will return.
Thank you Sarah and team.

Room tip: Enjoy a pre dinner drink by the fire and try the scones
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank griffiths96
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2023 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Spread Eagle and we were not disappointed. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and my birthday. We were upgraded to a 4 poster bedroom and given complimentary bubbles in the restaurant which is a nice touch and much appreciated. Customer service is excellent, all the staff are friendly, welcoming and keen to tell you about the history and quirks of this lovely old building. Had a lovely meal in the evening and breakfast, and used the spa. We had a good massage too and like the fact that you can continue to use the spa until early afternoon after checking out. Midhurst is also a lovely small town so we enjoyed checking it out and visiting the Cowdery Estate. Thank you to everyone at the Spread Eagle for such an enjoyable stay.

Room tip: Mention if it’s special occasion. Check out the bathroom / shower facilities as some have a roll top bath but no walk-in shower.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank srgdfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 November 2023 via mobile

Quiet, efficient, welcoming and friendly-a perfect pause in a busy world. This is a gem of a hotel in a great location. Good food and service by staff who know what they’re doing and do it so well make this a memorable place to relax, we just wish we had stayed longer and will definitely return.

Room tip: Plenty of parking and easy walking distance from the small and beautiful town
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nomad06332860045
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2023

A very calm relaxing place to stay very quirky and comfortable breakfast was just right would stay again beautiful location nice village and a few nice pubs shops and restaurants close by. Charming place to stay.

Room tip: Pos book direct for a better deal.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews