We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning B&B in gorgeous locatoin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Barn at Roundhurst
Ranked #1 of 17 Midhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning B&B in gorgeous locatoin”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

What an amazing find! When you first walk in to the Barn it takes your breath away, it's simply stunning. The bedrooms are gorgeous, extremely spacious with beautiful decorative touches and fully kitted out with all the mod cons you could possibly need. We hired the Barn for a weekend over my sister's wedding and Moya and Ellie who were running the Barn that weekend could not have been nicer or more accommodating. They went out of their way to make us feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble, it was like staying with family. Adam the resident chef was absolutely charming and cooked a sensational 4-course meal for 12 of us on the Friday night which went down a storm. The breakfasts were also out of this world - freshly baked muffins, fruit platters and a full English fry up all made with fresh organic ingredients. Such a treat! I just wish we could have stayed longer. So much so I'm already planning our next stay ...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenc269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
152
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This B&B feels more like an intimate hotel. The Barn itself is stunning, as is the surrounding South Downs National Park. This B&B has its own housekeeper and chef so you don't actually meet the owners. The service was great and the food well exceeded all my expectations. It is definitely worth having supper in the Barn (at the moment they don't have an alcohol licence, but you can take your own). Breakfast was outstanding, with homemade bread, freshly baked muffins, cereals, organic Roundhurst Farm eggs,meat and more. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWLondonTraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed at the Barn last weekend for a family wedding at the nearby Cowdray Park Walled Garden and were fortunately able to have exclusive use of the facilities. Nothing was too much trouble from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The place is stunning, the facilities first class and the food, excellent although this is not a restaurant and we had to order in advance. Not unreasonable as it is only 6 rooms so don't expect a la carte. Moya seemed to do everything and was always around in the background. The breakfasts were what you would expect in a 5* hotel but cooked to order from organic produce from the farm. It was not 100% perfect but 99% is pretty good. It wouldn't be an honest review if I didn't mention a few things that could be improved. Tissues in the bathroom would be nice and clarity in the corkage. As the Barn doesn't have a licence you are welcome to bring your own wine etc. which we did expecting a £2 corkage charge which was very reasonable considering we were using their glasses and someone has to wash up and we were notified in advance but the literature in the room stated no corkage. Its a very minor thing but when you get 5* its important to get the little things right. Other than that everything was perfect and I would recommend the Barn to anyone.

Room Tip: Our room 5 was spacious and the bathroom was fabulous. All rooms are very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norm8139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

Everything about the place is unique, clean, relaxing and luxurious.

Each room is like your own little barn, that has character. The room is spotless, and the bathroom is very modern and stylish. You have all the essentials including a tv and an ipod dock. The biscuits are special too! We even bought a piece of artwork, which is all done by the owners sister.

The main barn is a very impressive building with lovely wooden beams, and impressive furniture. When you arrive you get a nice but of cake and a warm welcome from the hosts.

It would be great if they had a license to serve alcohol, but we stayed a few months ago, so this may be in place now. Either way, they allowed us to take our own alcohol to dinner.

Both dinner and breakfast were first class, and all their own produce!

I will definately be returning soon, and I think you all should too!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We are just back for a fabulous two nights at the Barn. It was recommended to us by a friend and what a recommendation! The Barn is beautiful, the welcome warm, friendly and relaxed , the rooms gorgeous and comfy (with thoughtful detail) and the food absolutely delicious! The whole place feels cosy and intimate – and it was lovely to chat to the other people staying as well and Adam and Ellie. We would thoroughly recommend a stay to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cnb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Hello
stayed here for the 1st time for a wedding( nearby) last October and had such a wonderful stay wanted to return. So glad I did return. Stayed for 3 nights over Easter and had a fantastic break. We arrived about 4pm and were warmly greeted by Moya and Adam and Ellie and sat by the fire and had freshly baked muffins with tea and coffee which was delicious. The huge lounge area is really stunning and at one end this is where you take your breakfasts and evening meals. Upstairs there is a large library and you can also borrow DVD'S to watch and there is plenty of info on local area too. All rooms are set around a lovely courtyard which have lovely gardens and most rooms, if not all, have their own little patio with table and chairs to enjoy this in warmer weather. We were then shown to our room which was perfect in every way. Huge bed which was very comfy and sitting area with plenty of space and a huge bathroom with a large walk in shower and also a bath. The underfloor heating kept us cosy and all furnishings and linen was top quality. The room had a flat screen TV with DVD player and alarm clock with IPOD dock and tea and coffee facilities and biscuits and glasses and bottle opener. The wardrobe was large with tonnes of hanging space. There was also a hair dryer, umbrella and a yoga mat( which I used 2 mornings for working out on). The room was a very cosy and comfy and quiet and we slept soundly every night. Little touches like fresh milk and water every day was most welcome. The comp toiletries were very nice too.
We decided to book a light supper for our first night which was very good indeed. We had sausages and mash and took our own bottle of wine( £2 corkage fee as The Barn does not have an Alcohol Licence) and we then had cheesecake for dessert. The food was delicious. Adam is a fantastic cook. The presentation of the food is like a work of art too. You can see the time and love put into the dishes. The food is top quality and the best I have ever eaten. Another night we had a light supper of shepherds pie followed by an Easter themed dessert which was lovely. I love that you can take your own wine in for just £2 as you can pick your own fav and take it to The Barn with you

Breakfasts were equally amazing. First you get a stunning fruit platter on a large slate plate with a tasty selection of fresh fruits and freshly baked muffins. You can help yourself to fruit juices and bread and cereals and jams. You can then pick from the daily breakfast special or have a full English breakfast and or toast and eggs etc. I had a special on my first day which was pancakes with plums and it was amazingly good. Hubby had the same and agreed with me. The bread is really tasty too. Breakfast was wonderful. Another day I had another breakfast special which was salmon and hollandaise sauce and egg and muffin. It was superb. All the flavours worked so well together. Hubby had full English and said it was equally as nice. On our last day we saw the daily special was Churros( Spanish donuts) which is a fav of ours and had that. Again it was superb, it tasted so nice I could of almost cried, lol. All the food was fantastic quality and the best ever I have eaten. I cannot eat orange and Ellie and Adam were wonderful working round this. Nothing seemed too much trouble .
Ellie is an amazing host and makes sure your stay is perfect and you have eveything you need. Adam is a very talented chef and clearly loves cooking and making guests happy. Moya the owner talked with us every day and was interested in where we were going and had great advice on places to go and see etc. Everyone at The Barn made our 2nd stay perfect. I felt calm and relaxed and very welcome . There are also so many nice things to do in the area. Loads of lovely walks and Historical things ranging from Castles and Country Halls and Museums . Pubs nearby are also very nice and the forests all around are mesmerising. One place we went to called Arundel Castle was really worth going to. About 35 minutes away at Arundel, the town there is really nice too. The barn at Roundhurst is an amazing place and such amazing value too. When we booked we got the 3rd night at 50% off as we stayed Friday and Sat night, weekend special offer. Fantastic value. Food is superb value too and it is all feshly cooked and some ingredients are from the farm and organic etc. We bought some free range eggs when we left too.
I am going to rebook again, would like to see the place in the summertime. Thanks Adam,Ellie and Moya for your kind hospitality and a lovely Easter break.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing. Stayed in dearer and cheaper rooms and all are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RachNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We've just returned from The Barn at Roundhurst where we spent a couple of nights to mark our 1st year anniversary and it was perfect. The owners Moya and Richard have got the art of making guests feel special nailed!

Ellie was fantastic from looking after our booking, through to anything and everything we needed during our stay. Adam made the most fantastic breads / muffins / porridge / coffee and walnut cake / braised shoulder of lamb / English breakfast / white cheese cake...basically everything that came out of their kitchen was amazing. All of the meat and eggs are from the farm.

Everything about the room, the food, the staff and the location was ideal and just what we wanted from the weekend. The bed was massive and comfy, the underfloor heating cosy, the water hot, the fresh milk in a flask a nice touch, the food excellent and the countryside provided a silent backdrop. The surrounding area is outstanding and there are lovely walking routes all around The Barn over the Black Downs. All the staff made great recommendations of walks and pubs to visit and we spent one night eating at the Noah's Ark which was excellent. Basically I'd live there at The Barn happily.

The only thing that was disappointing was that there was no cat....but they did have pygmy goats so we'll let them off.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midhurst
5.4 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
7.7 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
272 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
495 reviews
17.2 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barn at Roundhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn at Roundhurst

Property: The Barn at Roundhurst
Address: Lower Roundhurst Farm | Jobson's Lane, Midhurst GU27 3BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Midhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Barn at Roundhurst 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B, 6 stylish bedrooms and stunning 17th Century Barn housing dining and sitting areas with open fire. 250 acres on the Surrey/Sussex border adjoining National Trust land within the Southdowns National Park,an hour from London and the coast. Original art work, crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, luxury toiletries, TV/DVD. Wifi, ipod dock and even a yoga mat in every room. Breakfasts and supper to order using organic ingredients straight from the farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Barn at Roundhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barn At Roundhurst Midhurst, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing