We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning barn, but a few gripes” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Barn at Roundhurst

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Barn at Roundhurst
Ranked #1 of 20 Midhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stunning barn, but a few gripes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We had a weekend away at the barn and it is lovely when you walk in and sit by the fire as your tea/coffee and slice of cake are brought over to you. The room's themselves are also very nice, spacious and well equipped. Our only complaints were with the food at dinner (not awful, just particularly average home cooking) and that the rooms themselves, or our room at least didn't have very thick adjoining rooms so could hear guests in the next room talking into the small hours which led to a disturbed nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBarnAtRoundhurst, Owner at The Barn at Roundhurst, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Stuart

Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to write a review. We're delighted that you were pleased with most of our offering but disappointed that we weren't able to provide 100% satisfaction. We had an issue with some noise carrying through an interconnecting door which we blocked in order to solve the problem. This has obviously not been as effective as we would have liked and have spoken to the builder again. Our intention now is to build a further wall with additional soundproofing. Hopefully should you stay again your experience will be improved.

Kind regards
Moya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
140
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights stay at the Barn. The staff were very welcoming, genuine and easy going. The food was splendid and the whole decor and ambiance was lovely.

We caught the train with our bikes from London to Haslemere, which is a short distance to the Barn - located perfectly for great walks, cycle rides, village visits and pub lunches.

We'll definitely be planning another visit (in the summer when it's less rainy as we got soaked on the bikes!) and will highly recommend this wonderful getaway to friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

The barn at Roundhurst is an absolutely beautiful converted barn, with lovely bedrooms, stylishly but simply decked out to match. Having been to many a country house hotel in my time, I was charmed and delighted by the friendliness of the staff, the warmth with which they treated us, the beauty of the surroundings (the Barn itself and also the incredible National Trust land on its doorstep) and the quality of the service. My only watch out would be the food, which is absolutely fine, but not brilliant (though the lack of liquor license and BYOB is brilliant)- if you're staying two nights, I'd suggest at least one night at a local gastro pub instead.

Would heartily recommend for a romantic weekend away or a small celebration (you could rent out all 6 rooms).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBarnAtRoundhurst, Owner at The Barn at Roundhurst, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write and for your lovely comments; we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food which as far as possible is produced right here on the farm and have received excellent reviews so we were very disappointed to hear that we didn't meet your expectations. Our dinner is a set menu each evening and I'd be very grateful if you could contact us via email so we can discover the menu on the evening of your stay and work out what needs to be improved. We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Moya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

My partner and I stayed here on the 7th February, it was a surprise for my Partner as it was the Anniversary of us meeting, but she did not know I was going to propose!
I could not have booked a better place than the Barn, it was so idyllic and everyone was so friendly, we were greeted at the door with smiles and warmth, the whole evening was just such an experience never to be forgotten.

Thank you to everyone there at the Barn, we will be returning and you never know maybe as Mr and Mrs

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1050DaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

AN amazing B&B that is better than any 5 star hotel I have stayed in. Honestly. I couldn't believe the high standard of the decor and the warm and welcoming staff ensured that our stay was better than expected. It blends contemporary elegance with rustic charm, therefore providing beautiful surrounding with a homely feel. My partner and I are already planning our Easter beak there. Highly recommended if you are after a relaxing retreat in the countryside.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Tennysons superior room which is the middle sized of the range as the largest rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionheart-Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the barn for 2 nights this week, the welcome was first class, the room was fabulous, it was cosy, inviting and the bed was extremely comfortable, it had everything you could need for a restful few nights away, the food was first class, the evening meal would definitely take some beating from top chefs, and the breakfast had an excellent variety, I would highly recommend this little haven to family and friends and we will definitely be going back.
Well done to all involved.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Glenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a weekend at the Barn and feel relaxed, refreshed and very well looked after!

From the moment you walk in, the team look after you, not in an intrusive way, but in a calm relaxed way. From homemade cake and tea on arrival to giving us tips on walks and things to do, I can't fault them.

The room was great, huge comfy bed, great big bathroom and just v comfortable. We had a wonderful 4 course meal and loved being able to bring our own bottles which were chilled and opened for us. Breakfast was perfect too.

We had a few hiccups trying to make our weekend at there barn happen (on our part) but throughout they were so helpful and accommodating and our stay was well worth the wait.

The barn is a haven of calm and I can't recommend it enough. We'll be back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eb02twhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midhurst
6.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
8.4 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.0 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
18.2 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barn at Roundhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn at Roundhurst

Property: The Barn at Roundhurst
Address: Lower Roundhurst Farm | Jobson's Lane, Midhurst GU27 3BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Midhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Barn at Roundhurst 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B, 6 stylish bedrooms and stunning 17th Century Barn housing dining and sitting areas with open fire. 250 acres on the Surrey/Sussex border adjoining National Trust land within the Southdowns National Park,an hour from London and the coast. Original art work, crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, luxury toiletries, TV/DVD. Wifi, ipod dock and even a yoga mat in every room. Breakfasts and supper to order using organic ingredients straight from the farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Barn at Roundhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barn At Roundhurst Midhurst, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing