We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWEFUL!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caffe Verdi

Caffe Verdi
Ranked #34 of 41 Restaurants in Midhurst
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“AWEFUL!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

A coffee shop/delli without any cream!!!!

They NEVER have cream for the coffee!
A word to the wise...pop over to the supermarket to solve the problem.
I doubt though that this would alliviate the appalling service however, as invarably no matter what the time of day "'Kitctens closed, we don't have bread or anything hot etc etc"
What they DO have in abundanceis an indifferent ill mannered staff, who have yet to learn how to say "please & thank you".
One can stand there for an age waiting to be served feelong invisable.
This place is known for all of the WRONG reasons, & it can only get better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deeannrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    23
    7
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“a surprise find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We visited on Sunday only looking for a drnk and sanwich. The four of us ordered a variety of food and drinks. The drinks arrived quite quickly but we had to wait a little while for our food. But it was certainly well worth waiting for. Good sized portions and piping hot. We had every filling lunch for less than £30 for four. Great value. Will certainly call in again when we visit Midhurst.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank enjay3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food & prices but bad mannered staff!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

After a picturesque drive of the area we stumbled across Midhurst and got out for a walk around Cowdrey Hall. We walked into town and came across this cafe, choosing it over the chain cafe as we prefer to support local independent cafés and the customer service is usually more personable. We were stood at the counter for several minutes before being spoken to by a fairly sullen girl, and we choose 2 coffees and cakes which were very reasonably priced! It was fairly quiet with only 2 other tables being occupied and we found a table by the window. At 4.30pm, despite being quiet our table had dirty plates, glasses and cups, which we kindly took up to the counter. The woman in charge grunted "just put it on the side" - no please, thank you or sorry!

We overheard the same woman being audibly unpleasant to the staff which was awkward.. After 15 minutes of waiting for our items, the woman called across enquiring if we'd had our drinks yet. She brought them over and gave a sharp apology, which would've been enough but she continued to blame the staff, which again was awkward..

We finished up, not feeling in a relaxed mood sadly and I went off to use the bathroom. Whilst I was gone my husband said some other customers had come in and were talking to the woman, making enquiries about the items on sale and asking if there were any variations. He said her manner with them was abrupt and when they had left, she addressed my husband saying "My God they were just wasting my time!!" and continued to huff and puff at him and also to the other staff.. Yep, more 'awkward'!!

We got up to leave and there was no thank you or farewell, she just followed us out, collecting crockery, still moaning about this family!

Our experience was cringeworthy because of this woman's dreadful attitude and appalling manners. It might be that she was having a bad day, short staffed on a Bank Holiday, but manners costeth nothing!! We wished we'd gone to the chain cafe where they at least have good customer training! The decor in the place is tired and in places plain grubby. The furnishings are threadbare, but not in a cool retro way! Disappointing for such a quaint little town to be honest.

Having said this the coffee and cake were tasty and well priced! But it wouldn't tempt us back, not even for a takeaway....

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank beehunnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Coffee cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stopped in Midhurst recently and decided to try Café Verdi for morning coffee. What a find. The café was buzzing, but we were lucky enough to find a table quickly - although it took a while to get served because they were so busy. The coffee was OK, but the cake was fantastic. I had lemon drizzle and can honestly say it is the best I have ever had. Would definitely recommend this café, but make sure you have plenty of time as you will be waiting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Potteriesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Went out for an early morning drive on a Bank Holiday Monday. Ended up in Midhurst. Glad we did as the breakfast was fresh and made with lovely bacon. I had a stack with poached egg, plenty to eat. Nice bright interior. Seating areas outside to front and back. Also sells unusual teas and coffees.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moffit100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Verdi also viewed

Midhurst, West Sussex
Midhurst, West Sussex
 
Midhurst, West Sussex
Midhurst, West Sussex
 
Midhurst, West Sussex
Midhurst, West Sussex
 

Been to Caffe Verdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing