We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery but hotel staff absent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
WilloughVale Inn and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Westmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We would return to the Inn because the facilities and scenery are amazing. Oddly, however, during our stay in July 2014, there were long periods during the day and night when no staff were on site. They left a note taped to the front door instructing guests to use room keys to open the front door. The complimentary coffee bar ran out mid day and no one was around to notice. What if we had a toilet overflow or some more urgent need?
Also, our room "GardenView" was above the kitchen so we heard the radio playing when the staff was working in the kitchen. Even worse, the room trembled (like a helicopter was flying overhead) most of the evening -- perhaps while the dishwasher was running in the kitchen? It was weird.
Finally, I noticed the price of our backside room was the same as one with a lake view. Strange we didn't get any price break, considering the problems with our room.
We would have mentioned it when we checked out, but there was no one at the registration desk when we left (at about 11:00 am on a Friday...)

Room Tip: Avoid the "Garden View" and anything else above the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikrit, Guest Relations Manager at WilloughVale Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for your comments!

We do have management in residence at the inn and a phone available at the front door to reach the person on duty. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered.

Based on your description, I believe the noise you encountered in your room may have been the rotation from a fan over the cooking area in the kitchen. It is not normal for the Keurig coffee brewer to be out of water or the k-cups during the day, again we apologize!

Please mention these incidences to our manager should you visit with us again for accommodations or for a great meal at Gil’s Grill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Willoughvale overlooks a glacial fjord with spectacular cliffs soaring over a deep water crystal clear lake. We stayed in the Gov. Aiken suite with lake views from the windows and deck. The room was huge with a king size bed and jacuzzi and fireplace. It has a southwestern motif with a 35 inch TV with cable access and free wifi. There are DVDs to rent for $4. Kitchen area includes a small fridge, toaster, prep area, sink and Keurig. Bathroom area is spacious with shower.

There are also cottages to rent, some on the water, and free canoes and kayaks to use.

The only drawbacks are the staff was hard to find at times and the restaurant needs a lot of improvement before we would eat there again. But the surroundings offer branches, fishing, hiking, biking, skiing and quiet! An awesome place and it could be a 4 star with a good manager and a bit of TLC.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Glenntherestranteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikrit, Guest Relations Manager at WilloughVale Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words and suggestions! We appreciate your observations and comments about our restaurant and our staff. This is what we need to help us improve our services going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The room was OK, but nothing special. We stayed at the Inn, which is basically a small hotel. We didn't see what the cabins were like. The restaurant, however, was quite good, and since there wasn't anywhere else close by to eat, that's a good thing. The restaurant was only open Wed. - Sun. in June so be careful if you're staying there on a Mon. or Tues. ( It's open on Tues. in July & Aug.) There are kayaks and row boats to use on the lake, and there were a few brave souls in the water, although the water temp was quite cold in June. The staff is very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank picturegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikrit, Guest Relations Manager at WilloughVale Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments about our inn and our staff!

We also appreciate your advice for our future guests regarding our restaurant hours and added recreational facilities.

We hope to welcome you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent two nights/three days in the main part of the inn. Lake Willoughby is really spectacular, and WilloughVale has a gorgeous view down the length of the lake through the mountains on either side. We liked the restaurant and bar in terms of food, service, decor, and view.

One thing, which we've encountered in other somewhat upscale Vermont resorts: the price is not cheap (although not unreasonable), but once you get there you aren't nickle-and-dimed by other costs. For example, the kayaks and paddleboard are free, no additional fee. So at the end of the trip, you spend exactly what you expect and there are no surprises.

Room Tip: One side of the main inn faces the water. But for one night we had "garden view" and act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PSHTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikrit, Guest Relations Manager at WilloughVale Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Your tip is a good one for our future guests. We do hope you will stop in and dine with us or return for another few days some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked one night in the Conley, a lake view cottage, for a wedding. We hadn't expected too much given the reasonable price, but we're amazed by the accommodation. The view from the cathedral ceilinged living room was incredible, all lake and mountains. The kitchen was new with all necessities provided. The larger bedroom had a jacuzzi in-suite and a great view. The cottage was clean and well appointed.

The main building offered a continental breakfast which we felt was ok but overpriced. $7/piece for the basic setup you get included at a Courtyard Marriott or similar. I'd suggest having breakfast on the deck of your cottage instead.

There was a nice lakeside play area with swings, trampoline, and boats. Unfortunately our stay was too short to make use of this.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Gramma2Chance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rikrit, Guest Relations Manager at WilloughVale Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you so much for your comments about your stay with us.. We always appreciate such kind words of praise. Our staff does all possible to make our guests stay with us memorable.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We spent the night in a lakeside cottage, the view was stupendous, the cottage was well presented and equipped and the welcome was friendly, efficient and helpful. We only had one night but it would have been lovely to settle in for longer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura8222014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy C, Manager at WilloughVale Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

The view of Willoughby Lake is one to behold. Please consider a longer visit to the Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I stayed in the inn last week for two nights. Our room was on the main floor right behind the bar which closed at 9 PM. Noise was not a problem. We didn't hear other guest either. We had an outside entrance into our room with a ramp. Our room and bath were very clean. We saw 'Phil the Beaver' in the meadow behind the inn. The road and then Willoughby Lake were in the front of the inn. A computer is available as is a library ($4 for DVD rental) and bar. The game room in the basement charges for pool and air hockey. Ping Pong is free. I had no cell service while there. Phone is in the room. Meals are not served on Sunday, so you have to drive to Newport for food...about 20+ miles from the inn. The innkeepers were so warm and friendly! We rested well, enjoyed our stay, and would love to return. We recommend the WilloughVale Inn for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Only one room on main floor...handicap accessible. Very quiet location. Cottages are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayle065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy C, Manager at WilloughVale Inn and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for kind thoughts about the Willoughvale. While your first floor room does not have a lake view, it is quite popular because of room rate and easy access.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westmore
15.6 mi away
Burke Mountain Hotel & Conference Center
21.7 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
80 reviews
17.1 mi away
Highland Lodge
Highland Lodge
#1 of 2 in Greensboro
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 mi away
Wildflower Inn
Wildflower Inn
#1 of 5 in Lyndonville
165 reviews
6.8 mi away
Pine Crest Motel and Cabins
18.3 mi away
Colonnade Inn
Colonnade Inn
#1 of 1 in Lyndonville
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WilloughVale Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WilloughVale Inn and Cottages

Address: 793 Vt Route 5a, Westmore, VT 05860-9464
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Westmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Westmore
Price Range: £79 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WilloughVale Inn and Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality awaits you at the WilloughVale Inn, situated in an exquisite natural setting on the shores of Lake Willoughby. Lodging at the WilloughVale is gracious and informal, providing a perfectly relaxed atmosphere for vacationing in all four seasons. Accommodations and Vermont cottage rentals at our WilloughVale Inn include eleven unique guest rooms, four cozy lakefront cottages and four lakeview cottages with all the comforts of home with none of the distractions! Vermont's Northeast Kingdom is truly a wilderness jewel, offering outstanding recreational activities year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your WilloughVale Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willoughvale Inn And Cottages Hotel Westmore
WilloughVale Inn And Cottages Vermont/Westmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing