We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"I HAD A BRILLIANT STAY"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Masslink Guest House
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I stayed at Masslink Guest House for two nights the room was very clean and comfortable, the breakfast was very filling and the manager was very helpful .
The car was parked perfectly, and the location is brilliant. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JpM357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masslink, Owner at Masslink Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Masslink Guest House. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your short stay and hope we will see you again soon.
Alan Coombes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

We were lucky to find this place. Room was clean and beds very comfortable, owners were friendly and made us all feel welcome. Owners dropped us off at the airport early the next morning. Overall, good value for money and would recommend to friends travelling from Gatwick.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masslink, Owner at Masslink Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you for your review of Masslink Guest House we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Alan Coombes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We had an early morning flight from Gatwick and stayed at Masslink prior to our flight.
Nothing was to much trouble and the accomdation was very comfortable. They even took us to the airport when our taxi didnt show. We left our car at Masslink and when we arrived back a week later it was already to go. Would definetly stay here again. Ideal

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masslink, Owner at Masslink Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

It was very good of you to take the time to review Masslink Guest House and I am so please you enjoyed your stay and the service we provided.
Alan Coombes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Put up bed collapsed - luckily it was a healthy young person on it. Returned to find car damaged (bumper/spoiler hanging off on front passenger side) and glove box unlocked which was definitely locked on leaving as it was the last thing to be done. Money given for taxi to get to the airport did not cover the cost of the journey. When questioning owner regarding the car damage it was stated that he didn't examine the cars on arrival so wouldn't even come and look at the damage - please make sure you get him to look before you leave if you are planning on leaving your car there. We didn't complain about all the other things - they all seemed trivial, but in retrospect we should have. ot the best start/finish to an otherwise enjoyable holiday.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masslink, Owner at Masslink Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Thnak you for reviewing Masslink Guest House, althought most of your comments are about the alleged damage to your sons car. As you quite rightly state we did not check you car on arrival in the dark so were unable to confirm or deny your algation that it had been damaged. The other points you should have mentioned but chose not to.
Alan Coombes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The beds had springs sticking in your back. The mattress was about 2" thick. We didn't realize the bathroom was not a private one and was in the hall. There was presumably a blood stain on the bathroom floor rug. There was no air conditioning and that was a surprise. We checked in at about 8 pm and checked out about 10 pm the same night. I asked for a refund and was refused. At that point it didn't much matter, the nice folks at the Inn next door were kind enough to give us a ride to Gatwick where we secured accommodations for the night. This place can use some serious updating.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masslink, Owner at Masslink Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you for keeping your word and writing a bad review if I did not refund your money.You had been in the room from 17.00 to 22.10 the time you came down to complain. Not just a couple of hours. You admited that it was your own fault that you had not read the website correctly when you booked and only booked a shared bathroom and not a ensuite. We do not have rugs in our bathroom. Having just checked both mattrass are 7 inch deep. As for the air-conditioning I would be suprised to find air conditioning in a small 8 bedroom B & B in England as well.
Alan Coombes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed there one night. Got our room at arrival, no problems there. It is a guesthouse so we didn´t expect anything fancy but it was very homie and lovely. The owners were very nice and helpful. It is situated in a nice area about five minutes from the airport and they provide a complimentary drop of at the airport. The only thing that I could be better was one of the mattress in our room. The wire inside it had broken and the matress had like a bump. Nothing terrible but could have been replaced.
Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rakel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masslink, Owner at Masslink Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you for your review of our Guest House, I am please you enjoyed your stay apart from the mattress. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Alan Coombes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed one night since we had an early flight out of Gatwick. Check-in was simple enough and we were into the room quickly. Although the room appears fairly old it did appear to be fairly clean. The beds were not too bad however the pillows were very flat and did not provide much comfort. The bathroom was clean. During check-in we asked the landlord to arrange for a cab to pick us up early the next morning and sure enough it was waiting as promised. The ride from the guest house to the airport was about 5 minutes and cost us 5 British pounds (this was an arranged price between the guest house and the cab company). Although we did not go there to eat/drink it appeared as if there was a fairly nice looking pub right next door to the guest house. There is a gas (petrol) station approximately 1/4 mile down the road where we were able to puchase some milk, soft drinks and snacks for our evening in the room. Overall the guest house is/was satisfactory for our one night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Masslink Guest House. I am glad you enjoyed your short stay. If you had told us about the pillows we could have changed them for you. I do hope this little problem will not put you off using us in the future.
Alan Coombes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Horley hotels
0 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
0.3 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Oak Tree Lodge Gatwick Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.3 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masslink Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masslink Guest House

Address: 70 Massetts Road, Horley RH6 7ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Horley
Price Range: £42 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Masslink Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget holidaymakers and savvy backpackers find comfortable accommodations offering value for money in Surrey at Masslink Guest House Horley. This charming Victorian guesthouse makes for an ideal base to explore the historic South England area and visit estates like Ifield Watermill and Reigate Priory. Outdoor lovers can also enjoy recreational activities at Gatton Park and Southern Pursuits. Masslink Guest House Horley is a smoke-free and pet-friendly property. The bed and breakfast also provides Wi-Fi access, 24-hour transfers to Gatwick Airport and car parking (fees apply) for added convenience. During leisure, patrons can tee off at Burstow Golf Club or catch performances at Hawth Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Masslink Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masslink Guest House Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing