We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected”

Kemal at the Cambridge
Ranked #30 of 116 Restaurants in Horley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$24
Restaurant details
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

As this was a cheap hotel, I expected the food to be similar to that offered by the Travelodge/premier inn types. However, the small restaurant offered a good menu. We only had one course, as we needed to get our heads down for an early flight, but the exotic steak kulbasi (sirloin with oregano and mozzarella) and my wife's sea bass were perfect, and just over £30 for the two. I've eaten much worse for much more money.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bill186298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Lovely meal to start off our holiday. The food was very fresh and plentiful. Didn't need to book a table and we're able to eat shortly after arrival. Good service too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Excellent food well presented and cooked. Prices are very reasonable too for such quality. The restaurant has been moved to a smaller room near the bar and is much cosier than the large room before and also a lot warmer as it was February!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teeshhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine dining? Not with a flat screen TV!”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is just about the worst meal we have ever had! Particularly in the context that it describes itself as a fine dining experience. We went there for our anniversary. When we arrived (in our best togs expecting something posh), there were wet paint signs everywhere for a start. Then we entered the actual restaurant to find a large flat screen TV showing You've Been Framed! And most guests in shorts and T-shirts. My husband and I are not snobs and not foodies; we just wanted to treat ourselves to something a bit special but this was more like a Happy Eater (without the nice pancakes!). The food ( we both had a pasta dish) was a beige congealed lump in a dish with no attempt even to disguise it with a sprig of parsley as garnish or a slice of garlic bread on the side! I can't believe they honestly think a flat screen TV has any place in a fine dining experience; ironically Hell's Kitchen came on after You've Been Framed! A terrible experience. But we didn't let it ruin our anniversary... We laughed it off.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Can't comment on food as we didn't eat there”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

All very clean and tidy could have done with better tea bags in the room because that's all we needed after a long flight

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kemal at the Cambridge also viewed

 

Been to Kemal at the Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing