We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful meal yet again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal yet again”
Reviewed 3 July 2011

This was our 4th visit to the restaurant at Langshott Manor in the last 2 years and we have come to expect really excellent service and outstanding food. Once again we were not disappointed.

The hotel is absolutely beautiful and, being a very pleasant evening, we sat out in the garden and had a leisurely glass of champagne whilst we chose from the menu.

The menu is not that extensive but, once again it was difficult to choose because everything sounds so good. Once seated in the small restaurant we were reminded of how this restaurant has just the right balance. The staff are very friendly and not at all stuffy. They are there when you need them and melt into the background when you don't.

The dishes, all innovative British dishes beautifully presented, are just the right size so that you leave the meal absolutely replete rather than full to the brim.

We took coffee in the lounge afterwards and then moved on to some very good single malts. Before we knew it we were the last people there and they just left us to it. They ordered us a taxi and the staff then retired for the night. It made it feel like our own private oak panelled lounge within a 17th Century house. When the taxi arrived we just let ourselves out. Wonderful.

I am sure that you have been to restaurants that are very good but make you feel slightly unsettled by the rarefied atmosphere. Langshott Manor provides outstanding food in a wonderful setting with non of the stuffiness. What a pleasure.

Room Tip: Book ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tree888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    235
    84
    40
    21
See reviews for
132
556
14
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Found the hotel on the internet - wanted something close to Gatwick - and very glad that I did - the hotel building was beautiful with delightful well kept gardens. Room in annex was large, nicely decorated and fully supplied (although no minibar). Bed very comfortable - above all the service was exemplary - just about the best I have received in any UK hotel - when sought to book an impromptu late lunch the dining room was full - never mind - five minutes later they had made alternative arrangements in a private room located near by - and again service remained excellent throughout lunch - food was also of a suitably high standard. Few hotels make me want to stay on longer than I need - this one did - many congratulations to the managment and to the staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timtraveller35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
226 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Our family returned to Langshott Manor this June to once again celebrate my husband's birthday in this lovely setting. We were very lucky with the weather and the hotel did not disappoint. Tea and scones on the terrace led on to drinks in a sun drenched bower in the garden, thence to an excellent dinner. We had four rooms in the main house - all delightful, although I could have done with a supportive pillow (all floppy and flat, so that needs seeing to in Scotney). This is a charming hotel that seems to manage to combine being an airport stop-over as well as a classy venue for weddings and family parties. It could do with service being a bit sharper and more polished but, as last year, we enjoyed Sandy's attentions at dinner. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highgateglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We had our wedding here 30/05/2011 and the best way to sum it up would be perfect! Everything we asked for was done to perfection, the staff were friendly and helpful to all the guests and nothing was too much trouble. The food was amazing (main meal and hog roast for evening) and the rooms were lovely and clean, we stayed in Arundel as it has the most amazing bath i have seen in a hotel. We had guests staying in all the rooms and breakfast the next morning and the staff was still as good as everything on the actual day. All of our guests loved it as well.
After reading the review a bit further down of someone having their camera stolen at a wedding i think that says more about the guests at the wedding and not the hotel, my husband left his I-Pod lying around and they found it and returned it to him.
We have also been for afternoon tea (last summer) and that again i could not fault, lovely food and amazing service.
As for people moaning about prices yes it is pricey but you have to remember it's a manor house in Surrey.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madroxounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stayed at Langshott Manor the night before we flew from Gatwick. What a find, a beautiful manor house minutes from the terminals. Despite being so close we were unaware of any airport noise. Our room was exquisite ( Anne Boleyn Suite) and had a sumptuous bathroom. We were disappointed that we had to be up early and could not luxuriate in the deep oversized bath. Instead we enjoyed the spa products in the walk in rain shower .

Dinner was fantastic, great service from knowledgeable staff and an interesting menu.
We would not normally have three courses but made an exception at Langshott as we had enjoyed our first two courses so much.
Would recommend as a perfect start to your holiday or business trip away, we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Beautiful olde world hotel in super grounds. Cream teas on the lawn, ducks and clipped privet, attentive staff who were polite and friendly made our stay fantastic.
Not cheap but worth spoiling yourself for a special occasion.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoneferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
724 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 573 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Our stay at Langshott Manor was entirely based on needing somewhere to stay near Gatwick that was comfortable and had good food. For those reasons, Langshott Manor ticks the boxes big time: it's a stunning, stunning location and building with very comfortable rooms. The grounds are a little small and it would be nice to have somewhere more interesting for a stroll, but as an airport hotel, it is a superb choice.

Transfers to/from Gatwick are a tenner and the parking package I chose included 8 days parking with a fee per-day for the additional days.

Food at dinner and breakfast was outstanding and this was one of the main reasons for us staying at Langshott Manor. We had cocktails before dinner and slowly moved on to excellent food that was well presented. The whole package was fairly pricey (£250 for 2 weeks parking, dinner and drinks (lots!) for two and one night stay in one of the lower-priced rooms). But given the food and how beautiful the place is, this really is the best airport hotel ever!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masaccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
6.1 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
23.7 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,041 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.8 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick

Property: Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Address: Langshott Manor Langshott | Gatwick, Horley RH6 9LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langshott Manor is an exquisite four red-star hotel in Surrey. This remarkable venue blends classic character with contemporary and well-thought design. Luxury is fragrant throughout the 16th Century Hotel with rooms and dining options designed to spoil you. Just minutes from Gatwick Airport, Langshott Manor is wonderfully convenient yet retains a tranquil and undisturbed setting. As one of the most distinctive and truly welcoming hotels outside of London, Langshott Manor is the perfect choice for a weekend break, relaxing escape or a refreshing stopover before or after your flight from Gatwick Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langshott Manor Horley
Langshott Manor Hotel Horley
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing