We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful afternoon tea!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Certificate of Excellence
South London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful afternoon tea!”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Three of us enjoyed a really pleasant afternoon tea at this lovely hotel this afternoon. Beautiful setting and excellent service along with quality food - sandwiches, scones with jam and clotted cream and a delightful selection of cakes which included carrot cake, a lovely chewy meringue with fruit, a very rich coffee cake and a wonderful lemon posset with berries............I wont be eating for the rest of the day!

Room Tip: It looked a great place to stay - we just visited for afternoon tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJA60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    234
    84
    40
    20
See reviews for
130
552
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Fantastic stay. Had the Henry VIII suite, afternoon tea, and dinner, and breakfast. Best breakfast I've ever had in a hotel, superb quality!

Everything was flawless, fantastic service, lovely comfortable suite with balcony on the moat, working fireplace, roll-top bath etc. Great for a splurge for a special occasion, which this was :-) Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Worth the very reasonable £30 upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missndc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2013

A beautiful building with lovely rooms and the food in the restaurant was a gastronomic delight. Unfortunately the room we stayed in was over the kitchen and very noisy through the night and so making sleep difficult. A service charge was put on our drinks bill covering food included in the room price when queried it was removed but proves you need to check. Sadly there is a new build taking place very close by and I feel this will spoil the charm of the Manor and also increase the noise factor.

Room Tip: Try to get in the main part of the manor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We came here for our 1st wedding anniversary with a deal from Secret Escapes and we had a wonderful time and I would highly recommend it. I agree with other reviewers that the approach is not promising, and the development going up nearby is likely to spoil the getaway charm of this place but once you get to the end of the drive you do feel secluded away in a little idyll.

Langshott Manor is a charming building and we stayed in the Arundel room, which was at the top of it's own stairway and was kept private by drawing a curtain at the bottom of the stairs. The bedroom is on the left at the top and there is a separate bathroom on the right, both overlook different parts of the gardens. The bathroom has a 'king size' bath tub sunk into a raised platform, his and hers sinks and as much space as the bedroom; the bathtub is so large that eventually I ran out the water when filling it but after a short while there was enough hot water again to top up and keep it warm. The bed in this room is not soft (as mentioned in other reviews/rooms) and very nice to sleep on. The wifi/phone signal is a bit hit and miss in the old building which was only a problem when we were trying to find something to do during the day nearby! You can occasionally hear the planes from Gatwick but they were not loud enough to spoil it for us.

As part of our deal we had a 5 course tasting meal included and upgraded this to the 7 courses and enjoyed all of the food, particularly the superb dessert. Very nice wine as well, although my husband had matching wines with his meal and didn't always think the wines matched the food very well. The Maitre d' seemed to be doing all jobs at once and created a bit of a frantic atmosphere around him wherever he went so it was a relief to have tea and petit fours in the lounge after the meal. The breakfast was great and we also came back for the afternoon tea after a visit to Chartwell and all the food was good quality.

Another perk of staying here is that the hotel has two national trust passes that they lend out to guests and we used these to visit Chartwell, you just need to check with Reception.

Room Tip: The Arundel room is at the top of it's own private staircase and is split into two rooms: the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelseahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed at the hotel for one night - April 2013. From check in to check out the hotel was superb. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming, the wine choices excellent, food perfect, knowledgeable Head Waiter & Maitre d', and our room (Windsor) eclectic and comfortable. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a suite, for that little bit more luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LawrenceLogic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home Counties
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Lovely historic hotel with only 22 rooms so quite different from some of the large chains. Food is superb - we had a deal with 5 course tasting menu which was excellent food. Service in the restaurant is patchy however. Nothing bad as such but needing to ask for wine we had ordered, bread never arriving etc. Highly recommended for a one night romantic break though the rooms are a touch noisy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tree27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Langshott Manor for one night with my partner, as we were booked for a spa day at a sister hotel the following morning. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly and attentive staff, I cannot fault them in any way throughout our short stay.
We stayed in a classic double room with good tea and coffee making facilities. We were also supplied with a bath robe and slippers, which I thought was a nice touch. The room itself was lovely with a lovely cove by the window to sit and look out at the garden. The only problem we had with the room was the bed, it was too soft. Now, I am a great sleeper but I just kept waking up through the night and could not get comfy. However, others may prefer a softer matress but I have never come across one so soft before!
The hotel grounds are maintained well and the hotel is located in a peaceful location, it was so quiet!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natwitthilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
6.1 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
23.7 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
24.5 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick

Property: Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Address: Langshott Manor Langshott | Gatwick, Horley RH6 9LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langshott Manor is an exquisite four red-star hotel in Surrey. This remarkable venue blends classic character with contemporary and well-thought design. Luxury is fragrant throughout the 16th Century Hotel with rooms and dining options designed to spoil you. Just minutes from Gatwick Airport, Langshott Manor is wonderfully convenient yet retains a tranquil and undisturbed setting. As one of the most distinctive and truly welcoming hotels outside of London, Langshott Manor is the perfect choice for a weekend break, relaxing escape or a refreshing stopover before or after your flight from Gatwick Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langshott Manor Horley
Langshott Manor Hotel Horley
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing