We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An ok Manor Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“An ok Manor Hotel Experience”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

First time to stay at Langshot Manor. It came highly recommended to me, primarily the person had dined at the restaurant. The first challenge is finding the place. We spent 30 minutes driving around and only when we saw a sign on the main road, directing us down this long lane way, did we find the hotel. The GPS had no idea. Overall, I was expecting something really special. The photographs on the websites present a very stylish, renovated and special hotel. In reality, its is a old Manor House, not as stylish as I expected. The staff are fantastic and could not be more accommodating and welcoming, so that is a huge plus. But the hotel itself is so so. One thing to bare in mind is that behind the hotel, is a huge residential development and the construction works start early in the morning, so expect an unwelcome, wake up call. The hotel is also miles from anywhere, so unless you are dining at the hotel, you need to travel to where you want to eat. Lastly, I am snot sure if it was just our room, but we only had a double bed. Although it was comfortable, I am used to a Queen at least, so it was a bit cosy for my liking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    232
    83
    39
    20
See reviews for
121
545
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Have to say from the moment we arrived to the time we departed the following morning we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at LM. The staff really went out of there way to help and assist us and greeted with a friendly warm welcome.
Our room was very very nice indeed, very clean and comfortable and overlooking the pond.
A lovely big bathroom with double wash basin and a huge bath and separate shower.
Evening meal and breakfast served in the Mulberry restaurant was a real joy, and the food was perfectly cooked and beautifully presented in every way.
Will return back to this hotel again in the future for sure. A lovely comfortable hotel with a touch of luxury with it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Focusonmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Just had a night at Langshott Manor in the Arundel Room - we fell in love with it and the bathroom has to be seen to be believed (although take another room if you are not good on your legs!).

It was just about perfect, the staff are lovely, the rooms are all individual and quaint, the grounds are delightful and the food - well, the food is some of the best we have had recently.

We did a nearby 5 mile walk which surprised us with its beauty.

The only downside - there is a lot of building work at the moment with the accompanying noise. This didn't worry us but perhaps could be a bother in the summer if it is still close by.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliatk168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I am sitting in hospital with my girlfriend who has just had her appendix out. I tried to cancel the hotel reservation but was told by the apparatchik on reception that I would be charged the full cost of the weekend since I had not given seven days notice. Funny thing appendicitis: you don't get seven days' notice. I cannot think of a single halfway decent hotel that would treat anyone that way. Since it's reasonable to assume that this is indicative of an extraordinarily money-grabbing attitude to guests, I think I can safely say people should avoid this place like the plague.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
15 Thank Cookymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

First visit to this Hotel - Stayed in a Luxury Room with a Patio Garden. Beautifully decorated - huge room and a massive bathroom - bath, shower and two sinks !! Our room was not in the main mansion house - which was perfect for us. The Mansion House is stunning with oak beams and log fires. We had the five course tasting menu ! It was different but worth a try ! Food beautifully presented and the service fab! Breakfast was perfect - so much choice.
The only thing there was NO bar ! So drinks take a long time to come!
I would recommend the Hotel - Perfect Stay - we will be back.

Room Tip: Luxury Room with Patio Garden area and had a massive bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessmegz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie S, General Manager at Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Jessmegz

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Langshott Manor. Both myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This was the second time we stayed at this hotel. The first time we arrived very late and so were not able to take advantage of the restaurant, and so had just booked a standard double room. However, the second time we upgraded to a suite, and had the Anne Boleyn Room. The hotel is an Elizabethan Manor house, and a listed building, so it is maintained in that style and is absolutely to our taste. The Anne Boleyn room is out of the main hotel building and is not huge; but large enough to be very comfortable. The great selling point of this room is the open log fire - which one of the chaps came and laid for us, and left a supply of logs - and we had the most relaxing evening ever in a hotel room with a bottle of wine in front of it! The bed is extremely comfortable; and the bathroom very large with a double bath, twin sinks and separate shower. We booked a second room for our 15 year old daughter, which was the Hever room - a standard double in the main house, which was very well appointed and perfect for her. We ordered breakfast in our rooms; my husband and I had the full English which was lovely, and our daughter a continental breakfast which again she said was very good. With respect to the restaurant for our evening meal - good choice on the menu, and obviously a very good chef - the food was well cooked, presented beautifully, and portion sizes were good. The maitre d' was slightly over attentive - we thought "Manuel"?? - but his heart in the right place, and he did leave us alone when he realised we actually knew what we were talking about. Good wine list, and prices although not cheap are perfectly in line with the standard of the food and the presentation and so thus VFM. So we had a comfortable and very pleasant stay. The staff recognised that our daughter was in a room alone and so looked after her especially well which was much appreciated. This hotel is not modern; it is maintained as its status as a listed building, but the interior finishing is very good - for example, the windows are leaded and so to eliminate drafts the curtains are extremely thick and well lined. However this adds so much character to this wonderful old building and it is well worth a visit. Overall, we liked this hotel - we stay in hotels on a regular basis, some good some bad - but this one is good, and we will return if we get the opportunity.

Room Tip: The Anne Boleyn room is beautiful - not exactly a suite as described, but a beautifully well appoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbit69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie S, General Manager at Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Hobbit69

Thank you for taking the time to add your kind comments following your recent stays at Langshott Manor. The Anne Boleyn Master Room is defiantly a perfect choice for those cold winter days and nights with the log fire burning.

We hope to see you and your family again soon

Kind Regards
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Great service and a lovely house but due to the age of the building, too many creeks for my liking.
Lovely breakfast but expensive at £250/night for a standard room and no spa facilities.

4 x 4 needed for the back roads taken to the hotel!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAS454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie S, General Manager at Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear LAS454

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. If following a Sat Nav we do advise you use the postcode of RH6 8PB as this will route down the main road to the hotel as opposed to the bridal path leading from Smallfield.

Please do visit our website on www.alexanderhotels.co.uk for the best available room rates, we have some fantastic Dinner, Bed and Breakfast packages at present which offer great value for money.

The main manor house is steeped in history with the original parts dating as far back as 1580. We have managed to stay true to its original features by blending its character with contemporary designs.

We hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind Regards
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
6.1 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
23.7 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,002 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick

Property: Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Address: Langshott Manor Langshott | Gatwick, Horley RH6 9LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langshott Manor is an exquisite four red-star hotel in Surrey. This remarkable venue blends classic character with contemporary and well-thought design. Luxury is fragrant throughout the 16th Century Hotel with rooms and dining options designed to spoil you. Just minutes from Gatwick Airport, Langshott Manor is wonderfully convenient yet retains a tranquil and undisturbed setting. As one of the most distinctive and truly welcoming hotels outside of London, Langshott Manor is the perfect choice for a weekend break, relaxing escape or a refreshing stopover before or after your flight from Gatwick Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langshott Manor Horley
Langshott Manor Hotel Horley
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing