We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings...”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed for a night on the indulge package. A luxury room, three course dinner and breakfast included (£258) When we initially rang up the reception staff said it would be £358 but we mentioned we had seen the rate on their website and they relented. A bit of difference there. Not sure if this was just a genuine mistake or an attempt relieve me of another £100. Anyhow, we arrived. The local area isn't really a rural retreat as therer is a new housing estate very close by which spoils it a bit. On entering our room the initial impressions were excellent. Lovely decor and facilities. However, we noted that the bathroom smelt very bad. This was because some lovely person had recently used the toilet and not cleaned up after themselves. So we informed reception who promptly sent up housekeeping. Sorted! I then discovered a collection of dried insects on the window. Nice.

There isn't bar to speak of and everything is lounge based service. The house itself is very old and an absolute treat to look around including the gardens. Our meal was absolutely fantastic, I would recommend the restaurant. The service is painfully slow and whilst the staff are pleasant and attentive when they actually appear! they need to work on their confidence and customer focus. We sat in the dining room earlier in the day and waited twenty minutes for a drinks menu. Followed by another wait for the actual drinks.

Wine list was expensive. The mark up on some alcohol is absurd. We expect to pay more when dining out but £12.50 for 50ml of lagavulin is day light robbery.

Overall, I enjoyed the stay but found myself annoyed by the waiting, dirty bathroom and expensive drinks. Would I stay there again....probably....for the food.

Management.....you could have a perfect establishment if you improved the speed of service, lowered drinks prices and cleaned up a little better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GRBUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    235
    85
    40
    22
See reviews for
133
560
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Went there for afternoon tea. The building was really charming and rooms were cosy. Food was very average. Choice of teas was not great, and Assam tea came in teabags. Sandwiches were overall tasty but the scones were very dry. We also struggled to find staff to pay our bill. There wasn't anyone in any of the dining rooms. We had to get up and find them ourselves. The guy at the front desk said someone should be in the dining room but nobody was there. It took us over 20 minutes to find somebody. I certainly wasn't impressed by the overall experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed for a weekend birthday treat with a voucher deal online. The price was certainly right and although the room we were given looked a bit tired, it was clean, bright, had period features and absolutely amazing bathroom with a large jacuzzi tub.

Unfortunately, there was a funny noise from some pipes running above the room's ceiling. Probably just temporary issue resolvable easily with maintenance. We mentioned this to reception, and they immediately moved us to a much better room with a four poster bed, private patio on lake, and a fireplace!

Dinner was delicious, and breakfast also impressively large and tasty.

Overall, an excellent weekend away and we felt well looked after.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at Langshott Manor on Sunday 19 January. We had a special offer which was a 5 course dinner, bed and breakfast - we paid extra to upgrade to the Wisley Suite (worth every penny). Langshott Manor is a gorgeous hotel. Our room wasn't in the main building, it was a short stroll through the gardens. The room was lovely, spacious lounge with patio doors to private patio and garden, decent sized bedroom and lovely bathroom with Temple Spa toiletries. There isn't a bar in the hotel but there are a couple of lounges with open fireplaces where you can have drinks which is really nice - service in the lounge could have been better but it was ok. Dinner in the Mulberry restaurant was devine. Unfortunately we didn't have a great nights sleep - the bedroom isn't very well soundproofed so we could hear people in the room next door and also in the room upstairs. Also - the room is right on the hotel entrance so traffic is heard all through the night (people leaving to catch flights I suspect). We were also woken around 7am to the noise and orange flashing lights of the dustcart parked right outside the bedroom window - not ideal. I noticed that the dustcart was from a private firm rather than from the council so surely this should be agreed to be done after at least 8am? Anyway - we had a lovely breakfast in our room (although no salt, pepper, jams etc were provided). Apart from the lack of sleep we had a really lovely time at Langshott Manor.

Room Tip: I suspect a room in the main building would be preferable in order to have a good nights sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights as we celebrated our wedding and my birthday, and were not disappointed in our choice of hotel. We were upgraded to the Leeds suite, an upstairs room in the historic and charming main house, quiet with garden views. The room was not large, but looked well presented with a (not huge) four poster bed. The bathroom was a good size, with a four poster bath, twin sinks and shower. The service in the hotel was excellent, there seemed to be plenty of staff in the hotel and restaurant, and they were attentive but discreet. The food in the restaurant was exceptional, room service was efficient. The afternoon tea we had on arrival was disappointing (scones overcooked & no sandwiches or cake, but we did get champagne which we were not expecting) The hotel is currently an oasis in the middle of a building site; but the gardens are pretty, even in January, and once inside the grounds, the proximity to either the builders or the airport was totally forgotten. I hope we will return.

Room Tip: We were pleased with Leeds- upstairs in main house. It is a victorian bedroom with 4 poster bed &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8clopton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We took advantage of the Just for January offer which included bubbly cream tea, dinner, bed and breakfast. We stayed in a Classic room which was in the annex building overlooking the moat (and the huge new housing estate currently under construction, although this will be obscured when the trees are in full leaf!) Our room was a good size, decently furnished with a large bathroom which had a large shower cubicle, good sized bath and twin washbasins.

Our cream tea, dinner and breakast were all very good and service was excellent although we thought the main course options at dinner were rather limited with just two game dishes, two fish dishes and a vegetarian dish on offer.

Like some other reviewers we too felt drinks, wine etc were on the expensive side. Also once the "optional" 12.5% service charge was automatically added to our bill at checkout it didn't really feel like much of a bargain!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharrie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

My family comprising of 4 sets of couples (including our parents with our mother celebrating her 90th birthday at the hotel on 12 Jan 2014) stayed at this wonderful hotel last weekend. First appearances were brilliant and it certainly impressed our parents. We were welcomed by Travis ('Restaurant Manager') who kindly checked us all in.

We were all allocated our rooms and I stayed in the 'Goodwood Suite' our parents were given the, 'Scotney Suite' which was in the main building and very suitable for a disabled person of which my father is! So thank you Langshott for this arrangement.

All suites that our family were allocated were excellent and everyone was very pleased. However, upon using the shower of our Goodwood Suite, I found that whilst in the shower there was a very strong aroma of unclean drains.

Being aware from previous reviewers of the same hotel, there seemed little point in bringing this to the hotel's attention as clearly they have NOT done anything about it since it was reported. It would also have been pointless as the hotel to my knowledge was fully occupied.

Overall though, the hotel was very pleasant and all the staff were both very friendly and efficient. I would recommend the hotel BUT before booking check to see if they have done anything about the drains!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
6.1 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
23.7 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,058 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
6.3 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.8 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick

Property: Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Address: Langshott Manor Langshott | Gatwick, Horley RH6 9LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langshott Manor is an exquisite four red-star hotel in Surrey. This remarkable venue blends classic character with contemporary and well-thought design. Luxury is fragrant throughout the 16th Century Hotel with rooms and dining options designed to spoil you. Just minutes from Gatwick Airport, Langshott Manor is wonderfully convenient yet retains a tranquil and undisturbed setting. As one of the most distinctive and truly welcoming hotels outside of London, Langshott Manor is the perfect choice for a weekend break, relaxing escape or a refreshing stopover before or after your flight from Gatwick Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langshott Manor Horley
Langshott Manor Hotel Horley
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing