We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cumberland House Gatwick
Nearby Hotels
US$67
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$126
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$84
US$71
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$154
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Russ Hill Hotel(Charlwood)
US$52
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$93
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$96
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,140)
Filter reviews
1,140 results
Traveller rating
1,021
86
15
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,021
86
15
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarmel cliveb bhome made cakeson arrivaltea and cakesix bellsgreat hostshome from homeguest housefull english breakfastexcellent breakfastwouldn't stay anywhere elseexcellent staycomfortable roomsleave your carcooked breakfastlocal pub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
784 - 789 of 1,140 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was our fourth stay at Cumberland House and it certainly won't be our last. Carmel and Clive are extremely welcoming. The room has always been excellent and spotlessly clean. We have only had the full breakfast on one occasion which was very, very good, and the other three times the self service continenta, which could not be faulted, even at 2.30am! The Cumberland is only five minutes drive from the airport and either Clive or Carmel will drive you on request, this is included in the price. No waiting around for 45 mins - hourly transfers. All in all, thoroughly recommended. Roger and Geraldine

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweet353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We discovered Cumberland House by chance a few years ago after doing the rounds of several Gatwick B&Bs and hotels with some horrendous experiences and we now wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. We cannot recommend it highly enough.
We have stayed previously with our children and Grandchildren, plus sent family their way and have nothing but praise for the service provided. Always get a warm welcome from Clive and Carmel, always spotlessly clean and comfy and have when necessary been accommodated with an early book in time. It is on a busy road but have never had a problem with noise ( which coming from someone who has problems sleeping away from home is high praise indeed ).
Our latest stay was early October 2013. I had booked a room several months before our holiday, then cancelled as our flight was changed to Heathrow only to the find we would actually be flying out of Gatwick. When I rang and explained that we would want to stay with them after all Clive was perfectly charming despite us messing them about over our booking. There are plenty of good places to eat locally so dinner is not a problem. Unfortunately -as usual- our flight out was very early in the morning so have yet to experience Carmel's cooked breakfast but the continental option is excellent. Our return flight was in the early hours too so we had a taxi back but Carmel had knocked the cost off our bill and our car was waiting for us at the front of their car park so absolutely no problems.
If you are looking for a friendly, relaxed, comfortable start to your trip we would recommend booking here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellskent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

stayed at the Cumberland house on 11th oct 2013 for one night,this is the 6th time we have stayed at the Cumberland house since oct 2010,location is very good only takes about 5 mins to the airport

we was in room 3 very clean and bed was very comfortable.since the first time we have stayed, Cumberland house have renovated several rooms which we have stayed in and all have been very clean with very comfortable beds

we was taken to the airport at 0445 which was not a problem other guest houses would not take you at such an early time and you would have to pay for a taxi instead of getting free 24 hour transfers,the pick up from the airport was very quick from the time we phoned to say we have arrived

this is an excellent guest house and excellent valve for money,carmel and clive are friendly and are a very welcoming couple

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbymoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed at Cumberland House on the 9th October, after a late flight back from Egypt. The room was perfect: very clean and a very comfortable bed. The B&B is only down the road from the airport which is really handy. Breakfast was lovely. The owners are extremely friendly. My partner has stayed there several times in the past, and she wouldn't choose anywhere else. It soon feels like staying with friends!
Finaly, it's very good value for money. So overall, we highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I've written several reviews already on Cumberland House but each stay is as good as the last.

We haven't stayed at any other hotel or B&B local to Gatwick for several years now as everything we could want is at The Cumberland. Carmel & Clive are the most hospitable of people and it really is like staying with friends. They are genuinely interested in their guests and always ask after our family.

The room we have stayed in on our last two stays is a newly refurbished room with a great shower and fresh linen. The breakfast has improved, there is more choice, including smoked salmon & scrambled eggs, which is just lovely, on this stay though I had the full English, which is the best start to what is always a very long day.

Pick up from the airport on our return is always prompt and we feel our car is totally safe whilst left at the house.

As always, we had an excellent stay and we will be booking again for an overnight stay in May.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel f, Owner at Cumberland House Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear ericab,

Thank You! and also Thank You for your feedback on previous occasions too. 10/10 Wow. We are impressed!

It is always nice to see you and to catch up on the next instalment of what your family are doing. It is lovely to hear how your girls are.

Glad to know you liked your room. We hope to start work soon and complete all our rooms to the same standards and style as your room.

We have been thinking for a while on how we could make breakfast time a little more interesting, That's when we brought on the Smoked Salmon with Scrambled Eggs, and Crepe Pancakes straight from the pan; both are ever so popular. Although the improved menu was brought in for the benefit of our Guests, it does make my job in the kitchen a bit more enjoyable too!

Thank you also for recommending our Park, Sleep and Fly facilities.

Cumberland House currently have 284 Excellent Reviews. We are only 16 Excellent Reviews away from the BIG 300. A BIG Thank you to everyone out there for your contribution; it was you who earned Clive and I our TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013; an Award that we are very proud of.

Warm Regards
Carmel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews