We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome & Lovely Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cumberland House Gatwick
Ranked #2 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

As soon as we walked through the door at Cumberland House we were given a friendly welcome by Carmel who runs the Cumberland with her husband Clive. We were shown to our newly refurbished room which inlcluded a king size double bed, nice comfortable furniture, flat screen tv and in fact everything you could ask for including free wifi. The bathroom was also brand new and immaculate with a great shower and fluffy big towels and a very good range of toiletries. That evening we were all set to book a taxi to attend a nearby wedding reception but Carmel so kindly said that Clive would drop us there which we thought was such a kind gesture.

We slept really well and enjoyed an excellent full English breakfast which was cooked to perfection and we were left wanting for nothing by our hosts.

Thanks again and all the best to such hardworking and friendly hosts Carmel & Clive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treefrog68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

We are regular guests at Cumberland House, and have become quite friendly with Clive and Carmel, who always make us feel welcome whenever we stay.
On arrival we are always welcomed with a nice cup of tea, with a slice of cake, and a nice catch up chat.
We are then asked if we will be eating at the local pub, and within minutes Carmel has booked a table for us, so that we can have a nice meal once we're ready, and all within easy walking distance.
We then go and relax in our room which is always immaculately clean and comfortable, in fact all the rooms are to an exceptional standard.
On the morning of our flight we will have a nice cooked breakfast or a continental breakfast if leaving really early for the airport, before Clive then takes us and our bags to whichever departure airport we are going from.
On our return, we are picked up within a short time once we've phoned to let them know we have landed.
As a nice touch on this last occasion, Carmel bought us a nice bottle of bubbles as she knew it was our 25th Wedding Anniversary........thank you Clive and Carmel :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

A happy welcome as soon as you walk through the door. The room was light and clean and a hot powerful shower a rare thing in b&bs and excellent breakfast in the morning. Also with in walking distance of a nice country pub. The only quib I have is that the wifi was not strong enough my mobile keep losing the signal. Apart from that a lovely stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here for one night. Wonderful welcome. Offered freshly made tea and coffee, even though there were the usual facilities in the room. We had a twin room with very comfortable beds. Free wi-fi. Large bathroom with a shower. 2 comfortable chairs in the room. A great breakfast. A perfect stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 765Paul_S765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic B&B.

I stayed here for 20 nights throughout January whilst working at the airport. Clive and Carmel run a fantastic establishment with a wonderful personal touch.

Room:
I stayed in room 6 on the first floor. Nice, cosy double room with a very comfortable bed and up to date decor. Rooms are provided with tea and coffee making facilities, and chilled water is available on request. Beds have memory foam mattresses and pillows which are extremely comfortable. Fully adjustable heating in room as well as a warm, thick duvet for the winter. Rooms have a TV with freeview. The bathroom as modern with toilet, sink, shower and the expected toiletries. In each room there is a little folder that details tried and tested local restaurants and pubs, along with local attractions. Wi-Fi is available at the hotel and reaches the rooms.

Breakfast:
Definitely the only place I have ever been offered a starter for breakfast! Carmel is a feeder and she hates to see anyone with a long day ahead (whether flying, working or exploring the area) leave without plenty of fuel for the day. Carmel asks that hot options are ordered the evening before as everything is cooked fresh to order. Cereals, fruit salad, porridge, scrambled eggs or beans on toast, salmon on toast, full English are all available. Fresh brewed filter coffee and a selection of teas, as well as water and orange juice in constant supply.

Parking:
Ample parking for overnight stays and they also offer a sleep park and fly service for those away on holiday.

In General:
Clive and Carmel have a stated aim in their information booklets in the rooms to exceed the expectations of every customer. In my opinion they certainly achieved this! The little things like asking if you want a coffee on your way in from a long day at work, to Clive offering to de-frost my car for me while running late one morning, if they can help in any way they will. I wish I could rate the place 6/5, cannot praise enough!

Thank you guys, Phil from NATS

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Cumberland House surprised me. I had not read about the transfers and the good breakfast, I just wanted a comfy bed with en suite while on a business trip. From considering it as a cheaper option than London and as convenient a location for my visit the next day, I quickly realised that this place is more. Beakfast was lovely, Clive was happy to take me to my desired location (and shook his head at my having arrived in a taxi the night before). Powerful shower.

If you are looking for a personal approach and good breakfast near Gatwick, look no further.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FBT-Ams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel f, Owner at Cumberland House Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear FBT-Ams,

Thank you for you feedback.

We are delighted to know that we have exceeded your expectations and we look forward to having you stay@cumberlandhousegatwick.com next time you are travelling either on Business or Pleasure.

Warm regards
Carmel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were warmly welcomed by Carmel who couldn't do enough to make our stay pleasant. We were soon provided with the wifi code and suggestions for restaurants for our evening meal. The room was clean and comfortable. I am only sorry we had to leave to early to sample the breakfast, but everything was ready for us to have a swift meal before our departure at 5.45am. When we returned the car met us within minutes of our arrival at the Gatwick meeting place and it was so nice to have help to load up our car on departure. I would certainly stay there another time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaP_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel f, Owner at Cumberland House Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear LisaP_7

Thank you for your feedback.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay@cumberlandhousegatwick.com and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you fly from Gatwick.

Warm Regards
Carmel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Trumbles Guest Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Springwood Guest House Gatwick
0.2 mi away
Gatwick Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland House Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland House Gatwick

Address: Cumberland House 39 Brighton Road, Horley RH6 7HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range: £73 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland House Gatwick 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of "The UK's Best B&B Breakfast 2015" and Catering Exclusively for Adults. Cumberland House runs a FREE 24 hour Airport Transfer Service and is recognised for Excellent levels of Service and Attention to Detail. You can be sure of a peaceful stay in this premium Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cumberland House Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland House Gatwick Hotel Horley
Cumberland House Gatwick Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing