We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class comfortable & friendly B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cumberland House Gatwick
Ranked #2 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First class comfortable & friendly B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our first stay at Cumberland House was the perfect start to our holiday. Carmel and Clive are very friendly and accommodating. The room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was excellent. Transfers to/from the airport was very efficient and stress free. Very safe and secure parking during our holiday with the car positioned ready for us to transfer our luggage for a quick departure when we returned. All in all an excellent service which we will definitely use again next time we fly from Gatwick. Also, the homemade muffins given to us on our return for our trip home were delicious!Thank you both.
Gladys & John

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    67
    14
    8
    9
See reviews for
147
449
73
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our first stay at Cumberland House and what good service we received. The rooms are lovely and the bed one of the most comfortable I've slept in and the breakfast is really good too. The drop off and pick up at Gatwick went very smoothly and many thanks for the advice about leaving Horley as we missed all the delays on the M25 and drove back to Gloucester without any hold ups. Cumberland House is especially good for anyone wanting to park their car there when flying out of Gatwick so could happily recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dirtyknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The holiday begins with a stay at Cumberland House. Superb up to date accommodation that has recently been tastefully refurbished. Carmel and Clive never fail to greet with a warm welcome and and will go the 'extra mile' to ensure that a stay at Cumberland house is never less than perfect. An excellent breakfast is a great start to any holiday and you won't be let down at CH.

Room Tip: ask on booking and I'm sure your needs will be accommodated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We recently stayed for 5 days in June with Carmel & Clive, they are such warm and lovely people.

They were so very helpful to us, and the accommodations are exceptional.

Very clean, comfortable and the breakfasts were very good! Pictures are true and everthing
is as advertised.

Great location for getting to and from LONDON without too much fuss. We found our way around
very quickly and had a lovely time in this area. Great service, warm people, and a good nights sleep for a very reasonable price with pickup and delivery to the airport included
what more can you want?

Will be back...see you soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janftica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayalonga, Andalucia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This time we arrived at Portsmouth by ferry from Bilbao, in northern Spain, too late to travel further north that day. Nor did we need an excuse to stay with Clive & Carmel again. We had not approached the House by car from the south before, but found that access was very straightforward.
They have continued the up-grading of the whole house & we stayed in the last room to be refurbished. Large Queen bed, comfortable upholstery, properly appointed bathroom. Facing away from the busier, main road the night was quiet. Next morning, Carmel's usual gargantuan breakfast was right up to the mark including, for the first time, both black- & white-puddings! Pigs, or what?
Car parking was, of course, on the premises & is included in the remarkably valued B& B rate of 75 €.
Can we find an excuse for another visit this year?
Clive was his usual entertaining self &, somehow, malt whisky always seems to feature in the conversation!

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room facing the Brighton Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh Wickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Cumberland House Gatwick was recommended to us by a colleague for an overnight stop before we flew off to Canada and certainly came up trumps! From the time Carmel met us at the door of the B&B with a friendly face until the time we arrived back in Gatwick airport we were very well cared for.

On arrival the cup of tea and delicious muffins were especially welcoming and the restaurant recommendation and table booking much appreciated. The bedroom was immaculately clean with a lovely comfortable bed, a newly refurbished bathroom with powerful shower and all modern facilities.

We were luck enough to be leaving for the airport at a reasonable hour, so able to experience a traditional Cumberland House breakfast, big enough even for my partner who has a very healthy appetite! It was also nice to see local produce on the breakfast table.

As promised the complimentary drop-offs to and from the airport were both quick and efficient giving us peace of mind that we would be in plenty of time for our flight as I understand the traffic can be especially bad around the M25.

Overall a great experience so thank you Carmel and Clive for giving us a great start to our holiday, next time we will be looking out for flights from Gatwick just so we can visit you again!

Room Tip: Ours was great so I'm sure they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieLiz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here the night before early morning flight. Hotel is lovely and clean, comfortable beds (and pillows) and nice bedding. Owners are lovely and made sure everything was ok. Free transfer to and from the airport was added bonus. I did not have breakfast as I left so early but was told that I could help myself to anything in the dining room before I left if I wanted to, which I though was going that extra bit, most places its tough if your leaving early! Another bonus is that your car is left in their own car park and not moved to some lock up else where, Best recommendation is I'm flying again in October and will be booking my overnight stay and car parking here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Levadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
1.3 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland House Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland House Gatwick

Property: Cumberland House Gatwick
Address: Cumberland House 39 Brighton Road, Horley RH6 7HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland House Gatwick 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of "The UK's Best B&B Breakfast 2015" and Catering Exclusively for Adults. Cumberland House runs a FREE 24 hour Airport Transfer Service and is recognised for Excellent levels of Service and Attention to Detail. You can be sure of a peaceful stay in this premium Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cumberland House Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland House Gatwick Hotel Horley
Cumberland House Gatwick Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing