We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than a pricey hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cumberland House Gatwick
Ranked #2 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brufut Manjago, Western, The Gambia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than a pricey hotel!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I had an amazing night here! After traveling to play football all I wanted is quite and a comfy bed!.. What an amazing place to be, if I come back he will were "ones will lay there heads" totally breath taking.. Thankyou

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel f, Owner at Cumberland House Gatwick, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Liam R,

Thank you for your feedback. It was lovely to have you stay. Thank You for choosing Cumberland House.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards
Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    763
    70
    14
    8
    9
See reviews for
151
492
85
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed at Cumberland House for 8 nights whilst attending a business conference. Carmel impressed me even before I arrived with prompt replies to my emails and attention to all my requests. The rooms are spotless and newly renovated which makes them more modern than most B&B's. This is awesome value for money with a full English breakfast included, cooked to your specific preference, airport transfers and wi-fi. Clive's dry sense of humour creates a chuckle ever so often and Carmel is just a delight. She takes care of your every need, checks in with you and makes you feel totally at home.

I was thrilled to have found Cumberland House and compared to my colleagues who were at airport hotels, I definitely hit a luck on all counts.

Thank you Carmel & Clive for making my stay so welcoming.

Warm regards
Carmen Wilde

Room Tip: The room called 'The Kitchen' is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carms73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel f, Owner at Cumberland House Gatwick, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Carms73,

Thank you for your feedback. It was a real pleasure having you stay. I hope you enjoyed the course that you studied locally and that you are able to put all the information into practice in your job.

If you are back in the Horley/Gatwick area on another occasion we would love to see you.
Good Luck with your career!

Warm regards
Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here in June for one night before our holiday, Again a great stay, Check in was smooth, The room was great, lovely and clean with a good bathroom. We had a full English breakfast which was delicious. Transfer only takes a few minutes, and car parking is great. Will return. Thanks for another good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigShadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel f, Owner at Cumberland House Gatwick, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear CraigShadd,

Thank you for your feedback. It is always lovely to have guests return time after time and we are delighted that you like the renovations we have made to our rooms since your previous stay.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are flying from Gatwick.

Warm regards
Carmel & Clive
01293 825800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed on 26th June 2014 prior to Gatwick flight. Great welcome with tea and muffins, rooms clean en suite and comfortable. Evening meal at nearby pub "ye old 6 bells" will review separately. Clive and Carmel friendly and cooked breakfast was great followed by 7 am lift to Gatwick.
Collected without fuss on Friday 11th July, further tea and cakes followed plus a jump start for my tired old Honda!

A great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gamava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel f, Owner at Cumberland House Gatwick, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear gamava,

Thank you for your feedback. It is always lovely to have you and your friends stay at Cumberland House. People say that things happen for a reason.....while you and Clive were doing the jump start on the car, the rest of the group were enjoying hot muffins straight from the oven.

We look forward to seeing you all again for even more muffins!!

Warm Regards
Carmel & Clive.
01293 825800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Cumberland House in July 2014. We wanted a child free weekend so booked to stay here for two nights. And we're so glad we did! We were welcomed in so warmly by Carmel. Our room was spotless and had everything we needed. We loved the hospitality tray and the complimentary toiletries...all the little touches that make such a difference. We visited the little pub up the road for a couple of drinks and on return to Cumberland House we were invited into the dining room for afternoon tea and homemade cakes! Lovely! What I thought was a testament to how lovely Carmel and Clive were was the fact there was another couple in the dining room drinking tea with them and it was obvious from the conversation we had with them that they were returning guests who obviously had got to know Carmel and Clive well and were completely satisfied with the service they provided. Breakfast was amazing and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms have been completely refurbished and looked amazing. We are looking forward to seeing the hall when it's been decorated. Carmels enthusiasm towards the business was so refreshing and she obviously loves what she does. Clive's dry sense of humour had us in fits! We will, without doubt, definitely be returning! We loved everything about Cumberland House and feel we've found a friend in Carmel & Clive. Thanks so much guys!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gunners0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel f, Owner at Cumberland House Gatwick, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Gunners0,

Thank you for your feedback. It was really lovely to have you both stay at Cumberland House.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Adult Only experience.
In January 2014 we changed our child policy and now Cater Exclusively for Adults which is being met with a very positive attitude from guests who prefer a child free environment.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you manage a weekend away!

Warm Regards
Carmel & Clive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We decided to stay at a guest house the night before we flew out on our holiday and we could not have chosen a better place. When we arrived both Clive and Carmel made us feel so welcome and on arrival the banana and chocolate muffins and tea went down a treat. On our return our flight was delayed and instead of arriving at 22:00 as expected we were delayed and called Carmel at 2:45 the following morning. I felt awful to call her so late but she turned up at the airport with a smile on her face even though we had obviously got her out of bed she assured us that it was fine and we should not worry, she is as better person than I am because I would not have been so accommodating. Thank you Carmel for being an angel in disguise and thank you Clive for your dry sense of humor. You both made the beginning and the end of our holiday a treat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel f, Owner at Cumberland House Gatwick, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear mags003,

Thank you for your feedback. It was lovely having you stay at Cumberland House. Glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations and collecting you from Gatwick Airport in the wee small hours was not a problem at all.

We look forward to welcoming you back for more tea and muffins when you next travel through Gatwick.

Warm Regards
Carmel & Clive
stay@cumberlandhousegatwick.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here for one night on the 22nd June as we was flying out of Gatwick very early the next day, we also booked our car in at the hotel for them to look after for us for 10 days.

We was met on arrival by the owner, she was fantastic at giving us all the information and kindly advised that we could have tea/coffee etc and toast in the morning, even though we was leaving at 3.45am.

The room was beautifully decorated, bathroom gleaming and also provided some toiletries, the bed was to die for and I wished I had longer to sleep in it.

The service that they provide at his hotel is exceptional and I would very highly recommend it for a nights stay and to leave your car which was ready and waiting for us, you get dropped of and picked up by the owners, great service and I will be telling everyone about this little gem. Plus only 5 mins from Gatwick, just everything about this place is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spider22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland House Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland House Gatwick

Property: Cumberland House Gatwick
Address: Cumberland House 39 Brighton Road, Horley RH6 7HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland House Gatwick 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of "The UK's Best B&B Breakfast 2015" and Catering Exclusively for Adults. Cumberland House runs a FREE 24 hour Airport Transfer Service and is recognised for Excellent levels of Service and Attention to Detail. You can be sure of a peaceful stay in this premium Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cumberland House Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland House Gatwick Hotel Horley
Cumberland House Gatwick Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing