We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gatwick Belmont Hotel & Restaurant(Horley)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central(Horley)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,222)
Filter reviews
1,223 results
Traveller rating
1,090
98
17
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,090
98
17
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarmel clivehome made cakestea and cakeon arrivalguest housegreat hostssix bellshome from homelovely couplefull english breakfastexcellent breakfastexcellent staywouldn't stay anywhere elseb and bcomfortable roomsfriendly ownerscooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
804 - 809 of 1,223 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Really can't fault this establishment. Very easy to find and close to both terminals. We arrived albeit early but no problem for Clive as we were whisked to the airport and were there in less than ten minutes.There was virtually no wait to be collected on our return either particularly as the weather was shocking. So well looked after on arrival and departure. Rooms are newly refurbished and ours which was a triple had a balcony and was furnished beautifully with plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits. Wasn't disturbed by any plane noise either. Just the job. Would recommend wholeheartedly and will definitely re book when we fly via London Gatwick.
Thank you again Clive and Carmel for a stress less experience. See you again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank locoman20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel f, Owner at Cumberland House Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Locoman20,

Thank you for very much for your feedback. It was lovely to have you stay at Cumberland House. We do pride ourselves on our Free 24 Hour Airport Shuttle and as you say our guests love being whisked off to Gatwick Airport without any problems. We look forward to having you stay again 'next time' you are in the Horley area.

Warm Regards
Carmel & Clive
stay@cumberlandhousegatwick.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

What a wonderful find!! Stayed here the night before a very early flight. From the moment we booked we felt looked after. Good communication beforehand and we were met at the door with a smile. The room was refurbished and roomy and even though we left at 4.15am the host Carmel was up and providing a breakfast fruit basket, cereals, toast and coffee. She then took us to the airport for our 6.30am flight. Our car was kept safe and on our return we were met promptly by Clive and taken back to get the car. If we have an early flight again we would most definitely stay here and would recommend to anyone looking for a place to park and fly!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel f, Owner at Cumberland House Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear vjsue,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Cumberland House. We completed the refurbishment of the bedrooms in March 2014 and as you say the Rooms are 'roomy'. Our park, sleep and fly package is very popular with our guests and not having the worry of a taxi is a real bonus too.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are jetting off from Gatwick!

Warm Regards
Carmel & Clive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent hosts, comfortable rooms, great breakfast. Not the most luxurious but all else compensates. Prompt, efficient and free commute to and from hotel. Stayed in quite a few B&bs for this UK vacation and this was the best overall.

Room Tip: Best hosts ever, provides commute to and from hotel
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel f, Owner at Cumberland House Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi Pat B,

Thank you for your feedback. It was lovely to have you stay at Cumberland House. Our Summer is just coming to an end here and I bet you are still enjoying the sunshine in Trinidad.

If you are back this way we would love to have you stay again!

Warm regards
Carmel & Clive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have stayed at Carmel and Clive's B & B before, but since my last visit the rooms have been refurbished and it has become an adult only establishment. Rooms are very clean, spacious and airy, the place is non-smoking, and the guests very respectful of others since people are leaving and coming at odd hours. Clive and Carmel, regardless, will pick you up for free, from the airport (or drop you off). It is not a large facility - 8 rooms, with one on the ground floor that would suit someone with mobility challenges. Be aware that this place is often booked up at peak holiday times, and is very popular with repeat guests who appreciate the facilities and hospitality. Check the website, and book through it.
You can get just about anything for breakfast, but the owners appreciate a heads-up the night before, along with your desired time of eating. Car parking is available onsite, and for a fee you can leave your vehicle for the duration of your stay.
Clive and Carmel make for excellent hosts, and they now have a folder with local information and even suggested attractions, and an expanded website, and ideas for weekend getaways (Clive is an avid golfer so if that is of interest he can no doubt help). Tho they do not serve other meals, there are plenty of places in walking and driving distance to eat - The 6 Bells down the road hails from the 14th century and serves really great food and ambiance alongside a small stream.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good. I have stayed in most over the past 4 years.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank orped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel f, Owner at Cumberland House Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear orped,

Thank you for your regular feedback. It is always lovely to see you and have you stay at Cumberland House. We are delighted that you like our newly renovated rooms. The rooms are proving very popular this year particularly for those who like accommodation catering specifically for adults. Being on the borders of Surrey, Sussex and Kent and half way between London and Brighton our special offers page has helped our guests save a few pounds along the way too.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are home.

Warm regards
Carmel & Clive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

we have stayed with carmel and clive at cumberland many,many times in last few years and it never fails impress us.they are very weicoming.when we arrive we get tea and cakes.we had the downstairs room,which has a wet room,it was very comfortable.even though we had a 07.00 flight,carmel was there at 04.45 to run us to the airport.we highly recommed the cumberland to anyone who wishes to stay there for the night with parking,or if you want to stay longer.if the cumberland did not have vacancies we would not stay anywhere else.also ifyou want a decent dinner,the six bells,100 yards down the road.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 51barry62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel f, Owner at Cumberland House Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear 51barry62,

Thank you for your feedback and also thank you for continually recommending Cumberland House for our rooms and parking. It is always lovely to see you both...glad you like the tea and cakes.

Warm Regards
Carmel & Clive
01293 825800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews