We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B & lovely hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cumberland House Gatwick
Ranked #2 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B & lovely hosts”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed with Carmel & Clive for 3 nights over the August bank holiday weekend as my daughter lives in Surrey and was getting married at the Church nearby. I booked this months previously & Carmel let me choose the room I wished to stay in, showing me round the property one day when I was in Surrey. The room was lovely with a TV and plenty of space for clothes etc. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the bathroom with power shower was superb. It was peaceful and Carmel & Clive were friendly hosts. The cooked English breakfast was the best I'd tasted. My family also enjoyed staying there and in all we took over 5 rooms of the B&B. I would not hesitate to stay there again, especially if I needed to fly from Gatwick airport as they offer a transport service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsLKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel f, Owner at Cumberland House Gatwick, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Lesley KR R,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your wee break, it was lovely to have you stay. Thank you also for recommending Cumberland House to the other members of your family. It was lovely to see everyone all dressed up for the wedding. You were so lucky with the weather too. Hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards
Carmel & Clive
01293 825800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    822
    76
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
161
531
96
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed two nights and were very happy with our choice
We went to wings and wheels on the Sunday and flew out of gatwick on Monday morning
On the Sunday afternoon dropped off our car and Carmel came to get us from the airport 5 mins after we called her on free phone and took us to airport next morning
She whips up muffins and tea in the afternoon also
Breakfast is very good with plenty of everything
Our room was no 4 at the front and we had no problem with noise as we slept with windows shut but there is a great fan in the room (very rare in UK and much appreciated as it provided air flow)
The rooms are newly decorated and bed is very comfy all linen and towels good quality
Lots of tea and coffee etc. couldn't wish for more
Room rate is very good especially compared with what we paid on our one month trip in UK
Lovely pub a 2 minute walk away for great evening meals
But the thing that sets this place apart are the wonderful hosts Nothing is too much trouble and Clive and Carmel deserve your patronage So when you are looking for somewhere to stay don't hesitate book here it's great

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonna54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel f, Owner at Cumberland House Gatwick, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Nonna54,

Thank You for your feedback. It was our pleasure to have you both stay at Cumberland House and we are happy that you were happy with your choice. We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday and have a safe journey back to Australia. Hopefully you will make it back to the UK again next year.

Warm regards
Carmel & Clive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darkest suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Really can't fault this establishment. Very easy to find and close to both terminals. We arrived albeit early but no problem for Clive as we were whisked to the airport and were there in less than ten minutes.There was virtually no wait to be collected on our return either particularly as the weather was shocking. So well looked after on arrival and departure. Rooms are newly refurbished and ours which was a triple had a balcony and was furnished beautifully with plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits. Wasn't disturbed by any plane noise either. Just the job. Would recommend wholeheartedly and will definitely re book when we fly via London Gatwick.
Thank you again Clive and Carmel for a stress less experience. See you again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank locoman20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel f, Owner at Cumberland House Gatwick, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Locoman20,

Thank you for very much for your feedback. It was lovely to have you stay at Cumberland House. We do pride ourselves on our Free 24 Hour Airport Shuttle and as you say our guests love being whisked off to Gatwick Airport without any problems. We look forward to having you stay again 'next time' you are in the Horley area.

Warm Regards
Carmel & Clive
stay@cumberlandhousegatwick.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

What a wonderful find!! Stayed here the night before a very early flight. From the moment we booked we felt looked after. Good communication beforehand and we were met at the door with a smile. The room was refurbished and roomy and even though we left at 4.15am the host Carmel was up and providing a breakfast fruit basket, cereals, toast and coffee. She then took us to the airport for our 6.30am flight. Our car was kept safe and on our return we were met promptly by Clive and taken back to get the car. If we have an early flight again we would most definitely stay here and would recommend to anyone looking for a place to park and fly!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vjsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel f, Owner at Cumberland House Gatwick, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear vjsue,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Cumberland House. We completed the refurbishment of the bedrooms in March 2014 and as you say the Rooms are 'roomy'. Our park, sleep and fly package is very popular with our guests and not having the worry of a taxi is a real bonus too.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are jetting off from Gatwick!

Warm Regards
Carmel & Clive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent hosts, comfortable rooms, great breakfast. Not the most luxurious but all else compensates. Prompt, efficient and free commute to and from hotel. Stayed in quite a few B&bs for this UK vacation and this was the best overall.

Room Tip: Best hosts ever, provides commute to and from hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel f, Owner at Cumberland House Gatwick, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi Pat B,

Thank you for your feedback. It was lovely to have you stay at Cumberland House. Our Summer is just coming to an end here and I bet you are still enjoying the sunshine in Trinidad.

If you are back this way we would love to have you stay again!

Warm regards
Carmel & Clive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have stayed at Carmel and Clive's B & B before, but since my last visit the rooms have been refurbished and it has become an adult only establishment. Rooms are very clean, spacious and airy, the place is non-smoking, and the guests very respectful of others since people are leaving and coming at odd hours. Clive and Carmel, regardless, will pick you up for free, from the airport (or drop you off). It is not a large facility - 8 rooms, with one on the ground floor that would suit someone with mobility challenges. Be aware that this place is often booked up at peak holiday times, and is very popular with repeat guests who appreciate the facilities and hospitality. Check the website, and book through it.
You can get just about anything for breakfast, but the owners appreciate a heads-up the night before, along with your desired time of eating. Car parking is available onsite, and for a fee you can leave your vehicle for the duration of your stay.
Clive and Carmel make for excellent hosts, and they now have a folder with local information and even suggested attractions, and an expanded website, and ideas for weekend getaways (Clive is an avid golfer so if that is of interest he can no doubt help). Tho they do not serve other meals, there are plenty of places in walking and driving distance to eat - The 6 Bells down the road hails from the 14th century and serves really great food and ambiance alongside a small stream.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good. I have stayed in most over the past 4 years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel f, Owner at Cumberland House Gatwick, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear orped,

Thank you for your regular feedback. It is always lovely to see you and have you stay at Cumberland House. We are delighted that you like our newly renovated rooms. The rooms are proving very popular this year particularly for those who like accommodation catering specifically for adults. Being on the borders of Surrey, Sussex and Kent and half way between London and Brighton our special offers page has helped our guests save a few pounds along the way too.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are home.

Warm regards
Carmel & Clive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

we have stayed with carmel and clive at cumberland many,many times in last few years and it never fails impress us.they are very weicoming.when we arrive we get tea and cakes.we had the downstairs room,which has a wet room,it was very comfortable.even though we had a 07.00 flight,carmel was there at 04.45 to run us to the airport.we highly recommed the cumberland to anyone who wishes to stay there for the night with parking,or if you want to stay longer.if the cumberland did not have vacancies we would not stay anywhere else.also ifyou want a decent dinner,the six bells,100 yards down the road.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 51barry62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel f, Owner at Cumberland House Gatwick, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear 51barry62,

Thank you for your feedback and also thank you for continually recommending Cumberland House for our rooms and parking. It is always lovely to see you both...glad you like the tea and cakes.

Warm Regards
Carmel & Clive
01293 825800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.3 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland House Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland House Gatwick

Property: Cumberland House Gatwick
Address: Cumberland House 39 Brighton Road, Horley RH6 7HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland House Gatwick 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of "The UK's Best B&B Breakfast 2015" and Catering Exclusively for Adults. Cumberland House runs a FREE 24 hour Airport Transfer Service and is recognised for Excellent levels of Service and Attention to Detail. You can be sure of a peaceful stay in this premium Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Cumberland House Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland House Gatwick Hotel Horley
Cumberland House Gatwick Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing