We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cumberland House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cumberland House Gatwick
Ranked #2 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2009

At Cumberland House it's proprietors Carmel & Clive give you a warm welcome on arriving, with tea or coffee.
The standards of the rooms & facilities are top class with various added touches not found at other establishments, the on site car parking is great as the car is ready and waiting on your return.
Drop of and Pickup at the airport is also a great bonus and very efficient. Would have no problem in recommending the Cumberland house, as we use it 2 to 3 times a year.
Because of its popularity we always book a year in advance to avoid disappointment.


Yours truly,

Susan Hewlett

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwindonPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

982 - 988 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2009

This place was fantastic. I stayed here with my boyfriend because we got into Gatwick Airport late and wouldn't be able to get a train to London. We got a pick up from the airport which was great. The room was huge with a double bed and bunk beds. There was also a flat screen tv with a digital set top box. The bathroom was very clean and even had shower gel and shampoo! The breakfast cooked up by Carmel was delicious and it felt more like staying at her home than an bed and breakfast. I would definitely stay here again as I didn't want to leave. They also have wifi!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becsta26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

we stayed in the Cumberland Hose for a night, waiting for a connection flight in the morning. The staff is very very nice. The house is small, friendly and has all the things you could need for a night.
There is a free & fast 24 hours transfer service to and from the House 24.
the rooms are clean. You have free wirless internet, free pc, free beverage from the kitchen.
I srong reccomend to everybody this simple, warm and very complete B&B if you need to stay 1 or 2 nights..
for the price paid it's perfect, I cannot immagine anything more!

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank rosellinarossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

When you stay with Carmel and Clive at Cumberland House (as we have on several occasions prior to holidaying abroad) you can expect a smile to welcome you, spotlessly clean, well-appointed and comfortable en-suite rooms, an excellent breakfast, free transfers to either terminal at Gatwick and most importantly you are made to feel like good friends - all this at an extremely affordable cost. I cannot recommend Cumberland House too highly. In fact we have already made our reservations for our 2010 holidays and that says it all!

Kath and Peter, Plymouth

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guletcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

We stayed here for a night before catching our flight, as most people probably are. The owners are fantastic, and the free pickup and dropoff at the airport is really nice. Breakfast was nice, and there is a good pub within walking distance. Rooms were comfortable, ours had a nice balcony.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanandamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

We decided to stay at Cumberland House as we searched the internet and this one was close to Gatwick airport and had transfers and parking at a very reasonable price which was all we needed so thought that even if it wasn't very good it was only one night. We booked a triple room and a cot as travelling with a 6 year old and 22 month old.
When we arrived Carmel met us in the car park and was really lovely and accomodating. She offered to let us have the family room at no extra cost so that we could put the kids to bed at their usual bedtime and said we could buy a bottle of wine to have in the breakfast room next door to our room so that we didn't all have to go to bed at 7pm with the kids which was fantastic! The room was lovely and clean and had everything we required and a lovely full english breakfast was on the table at 7am so that we could eat and leave for the airport at 7.30am. Transfers went perfect both ways and Carmel and Clive were the perfect hosts, very friendly and hard working and excellent with the children.
Cumberland House surpassed all my expectations and I would definately recommend and will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisy77Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Spending holiday this year in Cornwall, we arrived from Denmark at Gatwick Airport in the evening of the 3rd July, and could not proceed until the following day.
So we had booked for the overnight stay, and - upon arrival - we were met at the airport by Carmel, who drove us to Cumberland House.
She - and her husband Clive - are very pleasent people providing an exellent service throughout.
As we were hungry, Carmel called the nearby "Ye olde Six Bells" to be sure they had a vacant table. Otherwise, she said, she would drive us to another good pub.
That is a kind of service one would not expect - especially as we only stayed for one night.
Even close to the airport, the area is quiet, and peacefull, so we slept very well.

In addition, the breakfast was ample and very well cooked (am a retired catering manager myself), and when it was time to go back to the airport, Carmel helped us with our luggage, and Clive drove us.

We will certainly recommend Cumberland House to everyone going to stay in the Gatwick area.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeeteeNorthJutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Springwood Guest House Gatwick
2.6 mi away
Trumbles Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland House Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland House Gatwick

Address: Cumberland House 39 Brighton Road, Horley RH6 7HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range: £72 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland House Gatwick 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of "The UK's Best B&B Breakfast 2015" and Catering Exclusively for Adults. Cumberland House runs a FREE 24 hour Airport Transfer Service and is recognised for Excellent levels of Service and Attention to Detail. You can be sure of a peaceful stay in this premium Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cumberland House Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland House Gatwick Hotel Horley
Cumberland House Gatwick Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing