We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great start and finish to our holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cumberland House Gatwick
Ranked #2 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2010

great place to stay! carmel and clive were lovely nothing was too much trouble. we stayed the night before we flew from gatwick and the day and night on our return. we parked our car here and were taken and collected from the airport.(how relaxing). Rooms were great we stayed in a family room which was ideal. breakfast was also lovely. would use this guest house again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,037)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

923 - 929 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2010

The warmest, friendliest, and most hospitable environment I have ever experienced in my travels. The proprietors go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome and at home in their house. They are warm and compassionate people whose primary objective is the welfare and comfort of their guests. The facility is very clean and the food is of the highest quality. I would go out of my way to stay at the Cumberland House and highly recommend it to anyone seeking the most comfortable, warmest, and friendliest environment in England.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

My partner and I left our car at the hotel for two weeks and on our return in the early hours of the morning after Clive picked us up without any delay Carmel gave us an early breakfast and a room so that we could catch up on lost sleep! They are both marvellous hosts and couldn't be more helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyceIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

My wife and I had a 6:30am flight and wanted somewhere to leave the car. This small B&B was just right for a brief sleep, we were in the small attic room, and powerful and refreshing shower before leaving for Gatwick. The breakfast room is setup with plenty of food the night before so even the earliest risers can have a breakfast, even if this is not a hot one, as this is not available a little later. Carmel took us to the airport at 4:15am and picked us up on our return. The car was well looked after and ready on the drive for the off as soon as we got back. Great friendly service from conscientious owner.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

we recently stayed here for the first time for one night before travelling abroad . it was very good and i cant fault this. i was sent the travel directions on how to get there which were accurate. you are met by the owners clive and carmel who are most charming. the room was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. there is a lovely pub just 2 mins away that does great food . we left our car there for the holiday and then were met by clive at the airport for our journey back to the guest house , he had even put my car ready for our return journey home ... bless him. breakfast was yummy . would definately stay here again .... well done both of you .... you are doing a great job.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowyengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Myself & wife stayed at the cumberland for the 5th time now,and cannot recommed this hotel enough. Clive & Carmel are super hosts and make you feel really welcome.The location is spot on,and there is a nice pub around the corner.Well done you two.

Geoff & Petra

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hengist6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

It truly was an enjoyable stay with hosts that go beyond expectations. It was our first visit to London as a family of 5 with 3 teenagers. The location was perfect for us, as it was close to the airport, train stations and in a great neighborhood where you could easily find a good place to eat nearby. Our hosts, Carmel and Clive cook up an amazing english breakfast (including gluten free products), and the muffins were a big hit as well. Room was immaculately clean, with comfortable bedding and it was spacious enough for 5 people. They graciously offered rides to train/airport, assisted with getting gluten free products, arranged sight seeing, and really just gave us the most wonderful memories of London. We stayed for approx 5 nights and will book this place again on our next trip to London.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kal_Sidhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.4 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
2.6 mi away
Trumbles Guest Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Springwood Guest House Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland House Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland House Gatwick

Address: Cumberland House 39 Brighton Road, Horley RH6 7HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range: £73 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland House Gatwick 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of "The UK's Best B&B Breakfast 2015" and Catering Exclusively for Adults. Cumberland House runs a FREE 24 hour Airport Transfer Service and is recognised for Excellent levels of Service and Attention to Detail. You can be sure of a peaceful stay in this premium Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Cumberland House Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland House Gatwick Hotel Horley
Cumberland House Gatwick Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing