We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Castle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Lodge
Ranked #11 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Efficient delivery of what was promised. Clean comfortable room, parking and transport to Gatwick airport. Continental breakfast could be taken at any time. Host very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janandjohn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

I were there with my sons for one night before our taking off from Gatwick airport. The owner Paul picked us up from the train station to the hotel and then to the airport the day after free of charge. He was vey kind and efficient. The hotel is a nice and very British one. Room was large and well furnished. The bathroom was huge! Breackfast was essential but good.The town of Horney is small but we had a typical English dinner in a pub nearby the hotel.. I found the price of the hotel vary reasonable for the service.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLB59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

A pleasant hotel in English-style short distance from the airport. Clean and very friendly staff, breakfast included. We used the hotel for stopover to the Caribbean. The hotel arranged for we were picked up when we arrived and was transported back in good time at departure, this was included. We had some time for sightseeing singles in London, it was a short walk to Horley train station where the train went to Victoria Station. There was also a short walk to the town center where there were shops, pubs etc.
We recommend this hotel, good service and nice prices.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vajon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

The perfect place to stay when you arrive to UK at midnight. We spent one night there, before going to London. We were warmly wellcomed by the owners, who also provide transportation service from and to the Gatwick airport or the Horley train station.
The room was perfectly decorated and very comfortable, tea service included, and a huge bathroom.
I also recommend walking around the town, wich is very beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_silvina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Only stayed one night before our early morning flight out of Gatwick.
We checked in early afternoon before returning our rental car to Gatwick. Paul came out and drove us back to Horley.
Castle Lodge is located right in town so pubs, restaurants and shops are all within walking distance.
Even though we left at 5am (cab arranged by Paul at no charge) we had a good breakfast of cereal, fruit and toast as well as coffee.
Would certainly stay here again if flying in/out of Gatwick.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brumfanabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed at the Castle Lodge before our early morning flight from Gatwick & it was great. We were welcomed by Judy who confirmed our free transfer to the airport in the morning at whatever time suited us (about 15 mins before check in opened), showed us the breakfast area & then to our room, which was clean and comfortable (although beds were a little hard for my boyfriends liking). The hotel is about 5 mins walk, if that, from local pubs & restaurants & we were able to borrow an umbrella when we went out for dinner as it was pouring with rain & its not really something you bring for a holiday in Greece. Breakfast was a standard continental with cereals, toast, croissants & fruit with tea, coffee & juice to drink, but at that time in the morning we didn't want much more.
Finally Judy's husband (sorry can't remember his name) helped with our suitcases into the car which he then drove start to the terminal & we were there just as check in opened. Overall a great convenient place to stay with good service and an excellent transfer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty24_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This was our first trip to England as a family of 6, we had never stayed in a family oriented B & B before and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
We found Castle Lodge to be perfect for what we were looking for! It was a 5 minute walk from the train station which we found very helpful and 5 minutes to the airport.
The rooms were really nice and we were pleased with the selection on the Continental breakfast. Paul and Judy were very friendly and helpful, especially when it took 2 trips to get to the airport. We will definitely stay here again on on next trip!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimknapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Horley hotels
0.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Verde Gatwick
Villa Verde Gatwick
#9 of 30 in Horley
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gatwick Turret Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Lodge

Address: St. John Ambulance Hall 28 Massetts Road, Horley RH6 7DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range: £43 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Lodge Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing