We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for overnight stay”
Review of Castle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Lodge
Ranked #12 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This is a little late as we stayed overnight in September with early flight from Gatwick. We had stayed the previous year so we knew what to expect. Good room, clean with tea and coffee facilities. Excellent help yourself breakfast, able to sit near window to watch for our taxi. Taxi as arranged, bang on time. Made the beginning of holiday a pleasure. We checked in our bags at gatwick before we checked in at castle lodge and then relaxed. We took a short walk into Horley which had plenty of places to eat and shop. We rang the number provided when we arrived back at gatwick and by the time we had walked the short distance to the pick up point, our taxi had arrived. Picked up our car from their car park and headed home. Great service. Excellent value, polite and efficient staff, Have booked again for this year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank articmarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for Castle Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

YES the castle lodge in our opinion is easily the best accomodation horley has to offer.As a couple we have stayed in various guest houses and hotels in the Horley and Crawley location some nice some not so nice as we frequently use Gatwick airport, therefore we are in a good position to give an honest opinion,firstly the castle lodge is spotless in cleansiness which is obviously important,then theres your hosts who are incredibly welcoming,freindly,and helpfull,and we stress they meet all your needs A-Z,anything you want or advise they will provide within their means with pleasure, truly wonderfull hosts,the location of the castle lodge is i beleive to be the nearest to the town so perfect in that respect,then you have in the price the included transfers to and from the airport,now then,many establishments offer thid facility but its within a time scale,so, as we have in the past, you actually pay for a taxi because its after or before a timescale,but not at the castle lodge as they provide a 24 hour transfer free in the booking price, so if you return late be assured with the castle lodge theres no hidden agenda and you get safely to your destination(casle lodge)with no extra costing,the breakfast is healthy and lovely with everything so well laid out and very fresh and a fab variety,the rooms are lovely,warm, clean ,,and spacious.So in conclusion having stayed in many establishments in the area we would put the castle lodge top of the league without hesitation. We as a couple are traveling from gatwick next in june so CASTLE LODGE ere we come again, simply because its the BEST without doubt.GARY AND CAROL.

Room Tip: ALL rooms lovely
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillybeanWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We are two couples who stayed the night before our flight from Gatwick in January. We foumd Castle Lodge to be exceptionally efficient and clean. The morning self-service breakfast was left for us in the dining room which was exactly what we needed before Paul took us to the airport at 7 am as pre-arranged. Our collection from the airport at 7 am on our return was again very efficient and satisfactory when we were returned to Castle Lodge where our car was waiting for us,. It was great to be hassle free for our parking and staying at Gatwick. We will return again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Just what you need for a stop over before flying off to the sun. Clean ,comfortable and with a great continental breakfast.The service to and from the airport was effiient and our car was well looked after.This is the best place we have stayed in Horley when using Gatwick airport.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

My husband and i sayed here for 2 nights. We were very disappointed..It's clean but old fashioned. There was no heating in the bathroom ,we stayed in Jan..The breakfast consisted of stale croissants packets of cereals cheap yoghurts all of which you had to serve yourself.. It wasn't cheap so I expected a much higher standard..I have travelled and stayed in many places all over the world but this did not meet expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HilsSantaPola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodgeSurrey, Owner at Castle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

We are very disappointed to read your comments, for the duration of your stay you certainly did not give us any indication that you were dissatisfied in any way . We would point out that we have central heating in all of our rooms which can be regulated by guests and in addition we have free standing heaters in all the guest rooms which are perfectly safe to warm either the bedrooms or bathrooms. We cannot understand your criticism of the quality of continental breakfast, we provide a selection of various individual cereals, the croissants are freshly replenished each day and we certainly have not had any complaints about the yogurts. We are the only guest house in the Gatwick area that provides 24 hour unrestricted transfers to and from the airport and that is the reason why we provide a self service continental breakfast so that guests who are leaving early in the morning are able to have something to eat and drink at any time prior to leaving.
Paul & Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This is a guest house that caters for travellers using Gatwick Airport. We had tea/coffee-making facilities and a TV and there was a nice en suite with a basin, toilet and shower. Beware the water is very hot (there is a warning notice). The room was nice and warm, it could perhaps do with a little retouching the paintwork, but everything worked. There may have been a laundry machine or similar on downstairs as we could hear a rumbling noise late at night.

There was a self-serve continental breakfast included. Nice choice of cereals and spreads including honey, etc. The bread needs upgrading though as it was own-brand.

The owners looked after our car and gave us a complimentary lift to and from the airport, arriving quickly when called.

The overall price was similar to other b&b’s in the area. We enjoyed our stay and would book again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayForUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Paul and Judy run an efficient no nonsense guest house geared to travellers passing through Gatwick. Thet know exactly what such travellers require and are able to provide it with courtesy and efficiency even if it involves unsocial hours as so often when flying. In addition, having the facility to leave your car on the premises and Paul to drive you to your Terminal and collect you on your return makes Castle Lodge the perfect choice. All the better for being competively price. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmWelshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Horley hotels
0.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
0.1 mi away
Villa Verde
Villa Verde
#9 of 30 in Horley
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vulcan Lodge Guest House
0.3 mi away
Cumberland House Gatwick
0.2 mi away
Springwood Guest House Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Lodge

Address: St. John Ambulance Hall 28 Massetts Road, Horley RH6 7DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range: £28 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Lodge Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing