We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we needed”
Review of Castle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Lodge
Ranked #10 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exactly what we needed”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a relatively early flight out of Gatwick after a vacation in the UK, and booked a night at Castle Lodge hoping it would make things easier. Having had a disastrous stay at a B & B in the Cotswolds the previous night, we felt rather nervous, but everything went off without a hitch, and we were so impressed with the professionalism and impeccable service offered. Had we known, we would have stayed 2 nights and avoided the previous night's debacle!

We had a car to return to the airport as we arrived, so once we had done so we rang Castle Lodge. We were given clear directions as to where to wait for pick-up, and they arrived within a few minutes. It is only about 10 minutes' drive from the airport to the guesthouse, and we were quickly installed in a family room. The decor is not up-to-date, but who cares, when you have great service and everything you need to hand - two comfortable beds, tv, wifi, a clean bathroom with supplies for each guest and good water pressure, and a handbook to the town which detailed some interesting walks and listed local restaurants and pubs. They even loaned us a luggage scale to assist with our packing.

We passed a pleasant afternoon poking around the shops in Horley and had an excellent dinner at one of the recommended nearby restaurants, Il Sorriso. In the morning, a good self-serve breakfast was available across the hall, and a staff member was waiting to drive us to the airport in plenty of time for our flight. We would definitely stay again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGfromT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    82
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
81
118
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I missed my flight, and had to get to Gatwick for an early flight the next morning. The owners are lovely, and both picked me up and dropped me off at the airport for no extra charge. My room was lovely and clean, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, and a sachet of shampoo and soap. Everything I needed for a last minute one night stay. Really near the airport but is really quiet and Horley is lovely small town. Lovely Garden.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked in to Castle Lodge for one night as we had an early flight from Gatwick. Although we arrived late the arrangement for getting in worked really well and the room was excellent. Breakfast being available at 5am was great and the re-arranged taxi for 5.15am was waiting for us when we were ready to leave. On returning from our holiday we were collected from the airport and returned to the B&B to collect our car, all taking less than 10 minutes.
This B&B was a real find for a holiday from Gatwick at great value and including looking after the car whilst away on holiday. Would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris-H-P-59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is our second visit to Castle Lodge Guest House and as always its a first class stay. We are a family of 4, two adults and two young children and we all love to start our family holiday here. Rooms are spacious and very accommodating and breakfast is just as good. The location is also very good with some very nice restaurants to choose from.

Paul and Judy just can't do enough! Will definitely be coming here for many more years to come.

Donna and Steve Nurse

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscarsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Comfortable stay. Took the stress out of traveling to Gatwick early in the morning with a 3 year old. 40 min train ride from Victoria and free pickup from the station. Reliable early morning ride to Gatwick. Pleasant rooms nice little patio area. Close to Waitrose, Morrisons and a Weatherspoons! Highly recommended for individuals traveling to Gatwick.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarxien, Malta
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Although on entering the premises and actual room booked one may think the place to be a bit quaint, they would be mistaken . The room facilities are excellent , the bathroom facilities spacious , the overlooking terrace magnificent , breakfast very acceptable and always forthcoming.
Wi-Fi excellent , hygenic conditions excellent.

I visited for 4 days with my wife and 5 year old son .

Room Tip: Read the reviews of Trip Advisor and you will be OK !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maltalighthouse2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yunhe County, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Castle Lodge Guest House, Horley, Gatwick is a simple, clean place to stay overnight. We had a good night' s sleep in a very good bed, quiet surroundings. Simple bathroom, but clean and effecient. We missed the possibility to make our morning coffee ;-( Breakfast was ok, good coffee, to many sweet things. Staff brought us to the airfield as promised.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichTheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Horley hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Gatwick Turret Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Lawn Guest House
The Lawn Guest House
#19 of 30 in Horley
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Springwood Guest House Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Lodge

Property: Castle Lodge
Address: St. John Ambulance Hall 28 Massetts Road, Horley RH6 7DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Lodge Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing