We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Maidstone, Kent, UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A very good service”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

One night stay with 8 days parking very good value. Room was comfortable although it was a little on the cool side. Meal for 2 with wine is about £50 we ate in the bar area as the restaurant seemed busy.
Can't comment on breakfast as we had an early flight. The bus transfers were £3 per person each way so less than a cab.
On arriving back at the hotel to collect our car it was parked up outside close to the main entrance.
Overall a good experience would use this again and recommend it.
Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatNolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    793
    442
    117
    82
See reviews for
400
886
131
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

OK for a stopover.

Used this hotel as much for convenience and price. Did the job, no more, no less.

Somewhat old fashioned/ a bit tired.

note that like the majority of hotels at Gatwick you will need to either taxi or use the bus to get here. The buses do run frequently and cost £3 ish each way.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W5WPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I have used this hotel several times to stay the night before a flight. Car parking included in their park and fly rate. The bus to the airport every 15 mins. No problems here. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USA4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savona, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
473 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

old and dirty, long line at reception, restaurant is good just if you have no other option...
floor of the corridors is horribly dirty, and walls are note that different.
the room I got (1 mile away from the lift) was not that bad, at least looked clean and in good order.
got to the restaurant for a quick dinner... broccoli soup was ok, half roast chicken was pink (!) and french fries ... my suggestion is don't go if you have any other option (including McD)
price is competitive vs other hotels at the airport (but you pay 10 £ for 1 night car parking...), I'd rather spend a bit more and stay in a more decent place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vecchio59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Vecchio59,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I stayed here for business and have to say I've had better stays. The hotel itself is looking shabby from the outside, and the interior clearly hasn't been updated since the 1990's (either that or whoever picked the decor is still living in the 90's!). A refurbishment is long overdue.
The room was pleasant and functional. The decor, again, was a bit dated, but the room was clean and had everything I needed. Annoyingly, there was no light in the shower, so when you shut the curtain it all went a bit dark! The hairdryer may as well have been a feather duster for all the good it was, I gave up after 20mins of trying to try my hair. But other than that everything was fine.
The restaurant has no natural light, which makes it a bit oppressive, but the food was fine. No complaints about any of the 3 meals I ate there.
I'd stay again, but only for business, it wouldn't be my hotel of choice if I was footing the bill myself.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SairyFairy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear SairyFairy81,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what feel below your expectations. I'm deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, Please do not hesitate to let us know.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O'Groats, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Sorry. Not the best hotel experience I've ever had. Check-in was difficult - nothing was offered, we had to ask for everything; room was 'ok'; food in the bar was 'ok'; service was 'ok'.

Hotel itself is somewhat rundown, staff is jaded.

But it is at Gatwick airport.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canoepunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
ebookpunkie,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
489 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

...with a warm welcome, super-fast check-in, loyalty recognition and reward, swift and subtle bar service, clean and well-maintained rooms and great supervisory / management presence, this hotel tops my list of airport hotels.

Room Tip: Hotel has large elevators so don't worry about high floors even if you have luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FridaysChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
0.1 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Povey Cross Road, Horley RH6 0BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport combines an excellent range of facilities and services for both the business and leisure travellers, including High Speed Internet Access, Conference and Banqueting facilities (for up to 120 delegates). Why not book Park, Stay and Go next time you fly from Gatwick. Click here.The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport offers Exclusive Airport Parking / Long term parking packages with accommodation known as Park, Stay and Go packages. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is ideally located at Jct 9a of the M23 and with easy links to the M25, A23 and A217, as well as being only half a mile from Gatwick Airport (with a shuttle bus running 24 hours everyday) and close to Manor Royal Industrial Estate. London is easily accessible from the Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport via the Gatwick Express to London Victoria leaving every 30 minutes. The Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport is an ideal choice if you are looking to stay in an Airport Hotel or looking for a hotel in one of the surrounding areas, for example, in Brighton, Surrey or even a London.Kids Eat & Stay Free**Terms and Conditions apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gatwick Airport Hotel Horley
Gatwick Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Horley
Horley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing